Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Fix for Crysis and SLI @ 2560x1600
Old
  (#1)
Napster
Master Guru
 
Napster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x R9 290,3x R9 290x
Processor: BMW I7 3930K@4.7Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 16GB 2400MHZ CL10
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC363D
PSU: Silverstone 1500Watt Stri
Smile Fix for Crysis and SLI @ 2560x1600 - 09-28-2008, 11:33 | posts: 424 | Location: Australia

I know alot of people with SLI and TRI-SLI running Crysis and Warhead/Wars DX10 at 2560x1600 have been getting low fps or bad stuttering and have had no option but to run at a lower resolution.
Iv also been having this issue but managed to play with a few settings and found a way to fix the stuttering/low fps.

Here is how its done,

1) Create a file called (autoexec.cfg) and put it in your Game folder in Crysis root directory. For me it looks like this (C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\Crytek\Crysis\Game)

2)you will need to edit this file with notepad.

3)Now past in these commands

con_restricted=0
r_DynTexMaxSize=130

Now save the file and make sure its still a .cfg file.

Note,
If you change ingame graphics settings it may override the command but thats ok just change your settings and restart your game and you should be fine.

This may also fix stuttering or low fps at lower resolution but its worth a try.

Try this out and let me know how you guys get on

Last edited by Napster; 09-28-2008 at 11:46.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
dune2
Ancient Guru
 
dune2's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 680 GTX Aqua
Processor: i7 3770
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-I DELUXE
Memory: 2x 4GB Dominator CL8
Soundcard: Mobo Sound
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 09-28-2008, 13:42 | posts: 3,381 | Location: Old Europe

Isn't r_DynTexMaxSize=130 basically the same as reducing the Textures tab in the options menu to Mainstream?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Napster
Master Guru
 
Napster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x R9 290,3x R9 290x
Processor: BMW I7 3930K@4.7Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 16GB 2400MHZ CL10
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC363D
PSU: Silverstone 1500Watt Stri
Default 09-28-2008, 14:30 | posts: 424 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by dune2 View Post
Isn't r_DynTexMaxSize=130 basically the same as reducing the Textures tab in the options menu to Mainstream?
No well atleast not for me. I just tested it again and i looks like its set to very high. i did put it on mainstream and it looks like crap. Also without the tweak even if i put my textures on low i still get low fps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Napster
Master Guru
 
Napster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x R9 290,3x R9 290x
Processor: BMW I7 3930K@4.7Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 16GB 2400MHZ CL10
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC363D
PSU: Silverstone 1500Watt Stri
Default 10-01-2008, 04:56 | posts: 424 | Location: Australia

Took some pics to prove, Sorry i didnt bring up fps ingame.

With Tweak


Without Tweak


With Tweak taken with fraps getting 43fps


Without Tweak taken with fraps gettin 13fps


High rez pics
with tweak


without

Last edited by Napster; 10-01-2008 at 14:58.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Paladinchan
Maha Guru
 
Paladinchan's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470
Processor: i5 760 @ 3.5GHz / H50
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3
Memory: 16GB GSkill 1333 Ripjaws
Soundcard: X-Fi / Sony Earbuds
PSU: CoolerMaster RPP 850W
Default 10-01-2008, 05:48 | posts: 1,996 | Location: FL USA

damn impressive.. im going to try it with one card to see what it does
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
subfire91
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ATI Powercolor 4870 1GB
Processor: Intel Q9650@3.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Turbo
Memory: 2x2GB GeiL B.D. 1066 MHz
Soundcard: XFi Extreme Music
PSU: T/T Toughpower 750W
Default 10-01-2008, 05:50 | posts: 233 | Location: Nicosia, Cyprus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paladinchan View Post
damn impressive.. im going to try it with one card to see what it does
post ur results after that
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Paladinchan
Maha Guru
 
Paladinchan's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470
Processor: i5 760 @ 3.5GHz / H50
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3
Memory: 16GB GSkill 1333 Ripjaws
Soundcard: X-Fi / Sony Earbuds
PSU: CoolerMaster RPP 850W
Default 10-01-2008, 06:57 | posts: 1,996 | Location: FL USA

well.. i put it in.. and i played some.. now to get some results..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Paladinchan
Maha Guru
 
Paladinchan's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470
Processor: i5 760 @ 3.5GHz / H50
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P55-USB3
Memory: 16GB GSkill 1333 Ripjaws
Soundcard: X-Fi / Sony Earbuds
PSU: CoolerMaster RPP 850W
Default 10-01-2008, 07:17 | posts: 1,996 | Location: FL USA

well.. after some tests.. same exact performance for me..

someone with SLI probably needs to confirm this.. lol but ill post my config that i ran just to confirm

1680/1050 DX9 VSync High ~ 47FPS

Quote:
con_restricted=0

r_DynTexMaxSize=130

s_cacheSize = 80
s_FormatSampleRate = 192000
s_MaxChannels = 128
s_FormatType = 4
s_Obstruction = 1
s_ObstructionAccuracy = 1
s_ObstructionUpdate = 0.1
s_VariationLimiter = 1
s_PrecacheData = 1
s_PriorityThreshold = 1
s_ReverbInstances = 1
s_ReverbType = 2
s_SoundEnable = 1
s_SoundInfo = 7
s_SoundMoodsDSP = 1
s_SpeakerConfig = 2
s_MPEGDecoders = 64
s_XMADecoders = 32
r_UseEdgeAA = 2
r_UsePOM = 1
g_useHitSoundFeedback = 0

EDIT:

also i just noticed you are running TWO different resolutions during your tests.. ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Napster
Master Guru
 
Napster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x R9 290,3x R9 290x
Processor: BMW I7 3930K@4.7Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 16GB 2400MHZ CL10
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC363D
PSU: Silverstone 1500Watt Stri
Default 10-01-2008, 14:17 | posts: 424 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paladinchan View Post
well.. after some tests.. same exact performance for me..

someone with SLI probably needs to confirm this.. lol but ill post my config that i ran just to confirm

1680/1050 DX9 VSync High ~ 47FPS




EDIT:

also i just noticed you are running TWO different resolutions during your tests.. ?
Crap i just niticed that 2, i will rerun the test and post em up.

check out the difference now

Last edited by Napster; 10-01-2008 at 14:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Zooze
Master Guru
 
Zooze's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX465 1Gb Dual Fan
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Mainboard: MSI 975X Platinum PowerUp
Memory: 4096Mb 800Mhz DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek High Def Audio
PSU: 750W Thermaltake Toughpwr
Default 10-01-2008, 14:59 | posts: 487 | Location: United Kingdom

Tested this tweak as well, and made little difference. I believe its because the two different resolutions your running thats affecting your performance.

Dohh....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Napster
Master Guru
 
Napster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x R9 290,3x R9 290x
Processor: BMW I7 3930K@4.7Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 16GB 2400MHZ CL10
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC363D
PSU: Silverstone 1500Watt Stri
Default 10-01-2008, 15:04 | posts: 424 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zooze View Post
Tested this tweak as well, and made little difference. I believe its because the two different resolutions your running thats affecting your performance.

Dohh....
Iv fixed that now .

Just so you know its only SLI and TRI-SLI with a rez of 2560x1600 that really performs bad in crysis. any rez from 1920x1200 and below run perfect with SLI and TRI-SLI. But using the tweak managed to kill tha bad stuttering which is awsome now i can play crysis and wars at 2560x1600
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Zooze
Master Guru
 
Zooze's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX465 1Gb Dual Fan
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Mainboard: MSI 975X Platinum PowerUp
Memory: 4096Mb 800Mhz DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek High Def Audio
PSU: 750W Thermaltake Toughpwr
Default 10-01-2008, 15:18 | posts: 487 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Napster View Post
Iv fixed that now .

Just so you know its only SLI and TRI-SLI with a rez of 2560x1600 that really performs bad in crysis. any rez from 1920x1200 and below run perfect with SLI and TRI-SLI. But using the tweak managed to kill tha bad stuttering which is awsome now i can play crysis and wars at 2560x1600
Okay I have an SLI rig here with GTX260's in and also my rig with an 8800GTS 640Mb in, however I can only game at a max of 1920x1200 so probably not seeing the problem.

Zoozer
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Napster
Master Guru
 
Napster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x R9 290,3x R9 290x
Processor: BMW I7 3930K@4.7Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 16GB 2400MHZ CL10
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC363D
PSU: Silverstone 1500Watt Stri
Default 10-01-2008, 21:41 | posts: 424 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zooze View Post
Okay I have an SLI rig here with GTX260's in and also my rig with an 8800GTS 640Mb in, however I can only game at a max of 1920x1200 so probably not seeing the problem.

Zoozer
Oh right i see
Yea 1920x1200 should run really smooth for you, its only noticeable at 2560x1600. Hopefully Nvidia can fix this without having to tweak game settings but i am ok with this tweak as i cant see any change in gfx quality.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.