Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum > RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum
RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum This forum is intended for advanced comments, ideas and general discussion of the RivaTuner Utility which is hosted here at the Guru of 3D. This forum is visited by programmer himself - you can only post in this area with a minimum of 10 posts and 7 days forum membership.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Nice Work - Keep It coming mate - I am very impressed.
Old
  (#76)
d1fferent
Maha Guru
 
d1fferent's Avatar
 
Videocard: N/A
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Rampage X58 Formula
Memory: N/A
Soundcard: Logitech Z-10
PSU: Corsair 650W PSU
Default Nice Work - Keep It coming mate - I am very impressed. - 10-27-2008, 19:35 | posts: 1,425 | Location: U.K

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
If you only could know how many times I wanted and tried to say "Last post of me here" after such pleasant dialogs with users unhappy with "bad software", "bad documentation", "bad support", "delayed releases" and so on and so on. Anyway, that's your choice and you're free to go your way, as well as I'll continue going mine.
Unwider...

First I would like to say I am so glad that nice genuine people like you excist,

You are a genius , and you have my total respect. +1

What you doing providing free software for people I think is great don't let impatient nobs get ya down mate...Keep up the good work...

I am just wondering 1st time question do you know when it will be out roughly to the general public, I understand you do not know an exact date but maybe a rough guess?

Anyway thanks for your work much appricated have been using rivatuner ever since 1st release...really appriciate all the hard effort you have done for us gamers....I just hope you don't start charging for your work mate...

Anyway...Thankyou very much Alex & good luck with all up coming projects and riva-tuner versions,

By the way last question what is the specifications of your rig mate?

Thanks...and good luck!

Last edited by d1fferent; 10-27-2008 at 19:41.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
Grendel_66
Master Guru
 
Grendel_66's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel i7-3930K
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV Gene
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Seasonic X650
Default 10-27-2008, 19:36 | posts: 787 | Location: OR, US

EVGA Precision 1.3.3 got released
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
VectorRoll
Member Guru
 
VectorRoll's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 @ EVGA/8800GTS/640MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 duo E6600 2.
Mainboard: Asus P5n32-SLI Premium Wi
Memory: OCZ2N800SR4GK
Soundcard: Razer AC-1
PSU: Antec 850 Watt True Power
Default 10-28-2008, 01:14 | posts: 52 | Location: Dark Side of the Moon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
By the way, those who need _only_ driver-level fan control may use EVGA Precision v1.3.3. It is not released yet but it is already in closed beta-testing stage and most likely it will be released earlier than RT v2.20 because Precision's changes list is much shorter and requires less testing workload:

http://www.evga.com/forums/fb.asp?m=605861
Interesting.
By the way. Were you in any way involved in this with EVGA. I thought that I remember reading somewhere that you helped GPU companies with the software for their cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-28-2008, 08:01 | posts: 11,534 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by d1fferent View Post
I am just wondering 1st time question do you know when it will be out roughly to the general public, I understand you do not know an exact date but maybe a rough guess?
There are many factors defining public release date. First, not all beta testers provided testing reports yet and I won't like to release a version with some bugs inside. Second, as I said above 2.20 was supposed to be launched with new 55nm NVIDIA GPUs (GT206) in the end of October. NVIDIA shifted release data and I still don't know new release date for this product. If it was shifted for months then it is ok, but if it is shifted for weeks I'll need to re-release new version of RT right after 2.20 and I definitively won't like to see such situation. Third, new WHQL 180.xx series are shceduled to be launched within two weeks. I'd like to be compatible with them too.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-28-2008, 08:02 | posts: 11,534 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by VectorRoll View Post
Interesting.
By the way. Were you in any way involved in this with EVGA.
Yes. That is RivaTuner technology based product, which I develop for EVGA.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
d1fferent
Maha Guru
 
d1fferent's Avatar
 
Videocard: N/A
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Rampage X58 Formula
Memory: N/A
Soundcard: Logitech Z-10
PSU: Corsair 650W PSU
Default 10-28-2008, 11:24 | posts: 1,425 | Location: U.K

Unwinder is it true mate you were offered jobs from both nvidia and ati and turned them down?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-28-2008, 12:03 | posts: 11,534 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by d1fferent View Post
Unwinder is it true mate you were offered jobs from both nvidia and ati and turned them down?
Yes. Probably it sounds stupid, but I absolutely don't want to move to US/Canada from Russia so I prefer to stay here. NVIDIA also offered job in Moscow NVIDIA office but from my POV the job there is not too interesting (there are no software engineers here, only NVIDIA testlab and game dev.rel.)


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
VectorRoll
Member Guru
 
VectorRoll's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 @ EVGA/8800GTS/640MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 duo E6600 2.
Mainboard: Asus P5n32-SLI Premium Wi
Memory: OCZ2N800SR4GK
Soundcard: Razer AC-1
PSU: Antec 850 Watt True Power
Default 10-28-2008, 14:34 | posts: 52 | Location: Dark Side of the Moon

Nice...At least you are well wanted by people in your field of work; in these hard times.

When it comes to your job. As long as you are happy with what you do; then nothing else really matters.

Also; since you were involved in the EVGA utility; then it is well worth a try for those that want to do so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
IAmGhostDog
Maha Guru
 
IAmGhostDog's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD7950 3GB
Processor: FX8350/Hyper 212 EVO
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Memory: Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: HT|Omega Claro
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 10-28-2008, 16:29 | posts: 1,024 | Location: Milwaukee, Wi USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
There are many factors defining public release date. I don't like to release a version with some bugs inside.
And that is good enough for me.
Take all the time you need.
I really appreciate all of the work you put into Riva Tuner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
tritenan
Newbie
 
tritenan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte/8500GT/256HP
Processor: Duo Core 2180
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP31DS3L
Memory: 1GB bus 800 Kingmax *2
Soundcard: Creative SBLive ! & ATP3
PSU: TOKY 500W fan 12mm
Default 10-29-2008, 05:05 | posts: 20 | Location: VN

release now men !!!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#86)
zomb69
Master Guru
 
zomb69's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 OC/3Dsyncmaster
Processor: i7920/ultra120xtrem
Mainboard: gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory: 6GB DOMINATOR GT DDR3
Soundcard: XtremeGmer/sennheisser
PSU: corsair 850watt
Default 10-29-2008, 08:04 | posts: 792 | Location: cyberspace.brisbane.au

Quote:
Originally Posted by tritenan View Post
release now men !!!
dude woudnt you rather wait for it to be finished.. if ya keep pesterin them youll only annoy someone
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
Paul L
Maha Guru
 
Paul L's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1GB XFX HD 4890 BE
Processor: PhenomII X4 c3 965BE@4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
Memory: 2 x 2GB CMG4GX3M2B1600C7
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Enermax EPR625AWT
Default 10-31-2008, 01:56 | posts: 1,116 | Location: UK

It's a really great program Unwinder thanks keep up the good work

Had a thought earlier about a developing issue, in regards of a post about
PhysX and CoD4. I'm not sure if the PhysX code can be dynamically enabled Or
Disabled (Hopefully it's not stuck in the path for game setup profiles of the driver only
from boot-up type issue) but a switch in the launcher part of that most excellent program
would be very handy... or even in the task bar icon.

p.s - It'd be nice if you get time if we could open the low level button &
System Tweaks button at the same time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
mR Yellow
Maha Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 Acel XIII
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600MHZ CL8
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 11-07-2008, 12:01 | posts: 837 | Location: South Africa

Hi Unwinder

I just got a ATi 4870 1gig and found to my surprise that the RT v2.20 doesn't have overclocking support. Can u confirm this? And, do u plan on adding support?

I can confirm that fan control works.

Thanx
mRYellow
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-07-2008, 12:25 | posts: 11,534 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by mR Yellow View Post
Hi Unwinder

I just got a ATi 4870 1gig and found to my surprise that the RT v2.20 doesn't have overclocking support. Can u confirm this? And, do u plan on adding support?

I can confirm that fan control works.

Thanx
mRYellow
The surprise is called "crappy AMD driver team". Latest 8.10 hotfix traditionally broken more things than it fixed, unlimited overclocking is damaged in any tool including RT and even their own AMDGPUClockTool. I'm not planning to do anything to support it because the reason is the bug inside the Catalyst driver.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=277568


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 11-07-2008 at 12:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
mR Yellow
Maha Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 Acel XIII
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600MHZ CL8
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 11-07-2008, 13:38 | posts: 837 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
The surprise is called "crappy AMD driver team". Latest 8.10 hotfix traditionally broken more things than it fixed, unlimited overclocking is damaged in any tool including RT and even their own AMDGPUClockTool. I'm not planning to do anything to support it because the reason is the bug inside the Catalyst driver.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=277568
Thanx for the swift reply.

The reason why i thought it was RT related was the due to the fact that i could OC (same drivers - latest hotfix) with my 4870 512mb.

Thanx again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
orion24
Maha Guru
 
orion24's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 680
Processor: i7 920 D0@ 3.99 (210x19)
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7 v1.0
Memory: Corsair 12GB@8/8/8/24/1T
Soundcard: Onboard, Logitech Z5500
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1kW
Default 11-10-2008, 20:28 | posts: 825 | Location: Greece

Are there any plans for native 64-bit application support for the statistics server?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
d1fferent
Maha Guru
 
d1fferent's Avatar
 
Videocard: N/A
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Rampage X58 Formula
Memory: N/A
Soundcard: Logitech Z-10
PSU: Corsair 650W PSU
Default 11-10-2008, 20:31 | posts: 1,425 | Location: U.K

Can I have a copy of the beta version please Unwinder to see if works with my hd 4870?

Thanks,
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-11-2008, 07:43 | posts: 11,534 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by orion24 View Post
Are there any plans for native 64-bit application support for the statistics server?
Not in the nearest future, sorry. There are too few native 64-bit games on the marked so additional 64-bit server development and support doesn't worth the efforts.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
RaXelliX
Master Guru
 
RaXelliX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon 7870 Tahiti LE
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS SaberTooth P67
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3 @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 11-11-2008, 18:03 | posts: 166 | Location: Tallinn

2 questions to Unwinder regarding RT 2.20:

*Does it support overclocking both(or one) card when cards run in SLI mode?.Cards in question are 2x8800GTS 320MB.Currently with 2.10(2.11 didnt allow OC sorry) when i activate SLI both cards get dropped to default clocks.Currently using 180.43 drivers(180.44 soon)

*When is the release?.As i understand youre waiting new nvidia cards(55nm GT200?) or GT206/GT216 and then release fully compatible RT?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-11-2008, 18:21 | posts: 11,534 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

1) Both cards. And 2.10 and ALL PREVIOUS versions did the same. And there are no differences between 2.10 and 2.11 overclocking, thereis something wrong in your actions/undersdtanding.
2) When it's done. I'm no longer waiting for new NVIDIA chips because the announce seem to be shifted far away, but I do wait for WHQL ForceWare 180.xx which is scheduled to be released in November.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
RaXelliX
Master Guru
 
RaXelliX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon 7870 Tahiti LE
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS SaberTooth P67
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3 @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 11-11-2008, 20:30 | posts: 166 | Location: Tallinn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
1) Both cards. And 2.10 and ALL PREVIOUS versions did the same. And there are no differences between 2.10 and 2.11 overclocking, thereis something wrong in your actions/undersdtanding.
2) When it's done. I'm no longer waiting for new NVIDIA chips because the announce seem to be shifted far away, but I do wait for WHQL ForceWare 180.xx which is scheduled to be released in November.
1.Problably.It has worked on few occasions but thats it.Problably need to set something from the power user tab? or it depends on driver version(maybe both).Easyer to just flash both cards with higher clocked BIOS-s on not worry about it.

2.I had an impression that it was nearly done?.I mean no more betatesting etc...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-11-2008, 21:06 | posts: 11,534 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

1) You don't need to touch PowerUser if you are not PowerUser. If you fail to get it working, I strongly recommend to move to newbie oriented light version of RT - EVGA Precision.
2) Beta testing is over, I'm just waiting for 180.xx WHQL to add it to database. Don't want to re-release RT tiwce so have a patience.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
Snarl
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2 x XFX HD6970 2GB CF
Processor: Intel i7 930 Quad Core
Mainboard: MSI Big Bang XPower
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 11-12-2008, 01:09 | posts: 114 | Location: Canada Eh

Good things come to he who waits
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-12-2008, 14:47 | posts: 11,534 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Some more info about future version of RivaTunerStatisticsServer (the changes mentioned there will not be included in v2.20 and expected to be launched on New Year holidays):

http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=629179


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
mR Yellow
Maha Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 Acel XIII
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600MHZ CL8
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 11-13-2008, 07:19 | posts: 837 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
The surprise is called "crappy AMD driver team". Latest 8.10 hotfix traditionally broken more things than it fixed, unlimited overclocking is damaged in any tool including RT and even their own AMDGPUClockTool. I'm not planning to do anything to support it because the reason is the bug inside the Catalyst driver.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=277568
Unwinder, what u say is not true. Seems like Overclocking tab on is broke on the 4870 1GB...well with RT at least. I can confirm that overclocking works with ATi Tray Tools.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.