Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum
Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum This forum is intended for generic questions and discussion of the RivaTuner Utility. In this section the users help each other out with answers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-02-2008, 18:19 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ribbell View Post
Well, then rivatuner is able to read from the bus. but something on my system in preventing it from write to the bus.
Wrong. There are no writes to the bus during ticking "Enable low-level fan control". As I said before, there are series of _reads_ (all 256 registers of I2C device are dumped and stored as defaults) and something breaks it.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
andries
Member Guru
 
andries's Avatar
 
Videocard: Club3d GTX 470
Processor: I7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Ud5
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 09-02-2008, 18:47 | posts: 75 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Yes, power user tab gives you an ability of overriding default font. LCDFont entry allows redefining default font name. Default font is "font4x6", other available fonts are: "font5x6", "font6x6" and "font6x8". If you're not satistied with this ones, you can put your own bitmap containing your desired raster font into .\Graphics\LCD folder then just specify custom font name.

Thank you, the 6x8 was the one I was looking for, it's perfect.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
ati666
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 470
Processor: e8500
Mainboard: abit aw9d-max (i975x)
Memory: 8 GB ram 800mhz(2gbx4)
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 09-02-2008, 20:53 | posts: 463

thanks unwinder for a very wounderful software.
i would like to ask if NVstrap driver is back?

thanx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
Bullu$
Master Guru
 
Bullu$'s Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950cfx@1100/1500
Processor: H2o i7 2600K@4.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG maximus IV
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: CM M1000
Default 09-03-2008, 01:06 | posts: 392

Ok, i had troubles like Ribbell, fan didn't work at all , but it monitors everything ok.
Also the guide from Riddell doesn't work for me either.
This is with vista 64bit ultimate.

I have a dualboot with xp and guess what; it just work ,fixed fan and even autofan works!

How comes it work in xp?

*i'll try to boot with driver signed off in vista
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
darkamikaze
Newbie
 
Videocard: VisionTek ATI HD4850
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 04:24 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullu$ View Post
Ok, i had troubles like Ribbell, fan didn't work at all , but it monitors everything ok.
Also the guide from Riddell doesn't work for me either.
This is with vista 64bit ultimate.

I have a dualboot with xp and guess what; it just work ,fixed fan and even autofan works!

How comes it work in xp?

*i'll try to boot with driver signed off in vista
yeah.. doesn't work for me either..
i have vista home 64bit.. with a 4850..

maybe i didn't install the driver reg thing that came with the rivatuner installer properly? i run RivaTuner210Drv.rtu after install right? or somethin..

anyone know D: ..?

Last edited by darkamikaze; 09-03-2008 at 04:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 06:47 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullu$ View Post
Ok, i had troubles like Ribbell, fan didn't work at all , but it monitors everything ok.
Also the guide from Riddell doesn't work for me either.
This is with vista 64bit ultimate.

I have a dualboot with xp and guess what; it just work ,fixed fan and even autofan works!

How comes it work in xp?

*i'll try to boot with driver signed off in vista
Tricks with signed driver won't help. Fan control implementation from RT's side doesn't depend on the OS, driver or anything else, it is direct low-level access to the controller. For me it looks like the issue of some background software (probably CCC or even ATI driver itself) and capturing the bus.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 06:49 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkamikaze View Post
yeah.. doesn't work for me either..
i have vista home 64bit.. with a 4850..
Define "doesn't work for me either". There are issues with 4870 X2 external fan controller support (which is not declared to be supported at all), your 4850 is a completely different story so you hardly can have the same problems.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 09-03-2008 at 07:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 06:50 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ati666 View Post
thanks unwinder for a very wounderful software.
i would like to ask if NVstrap driver is back?

thanx

No. NVStrap doesn't support G9x and newer chips.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
ribbell
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 4870X2
Processor: Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5W-DH
Memory: 2*2GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Creative Extreme Music
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 09-03-2008, 07:48 | posts: 55 | Location: Italy/Naples

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullu$ View Post
...
Also the guide from Riddell doesn't work for me either.
...
Have you enabled hardware background monitoring?
Lemme see the tasks you created and how you set the parameters for one of them. It is better if you report in the thread where i posted the guide.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 08:59 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ribbell View Post
Well, then rivatuner is able to read from the bus. but something on my system in preventing it from write to the bus. Oh well, i'm already satisfied with the discrete fan control i was able to make with the rivatuner scheduler, thank you.
By the way, if you wish we can try special logged build v2.10 to ensure that the problem is in bus capture from some third party software side.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#86)
ribbell
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 4870X2
Processor: Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5W-DH
Memory: 2*2GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Creative Extreme Music
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 09-03-2008, 09:16 | posts: 55 | Location: Italy/Naples

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
By the way, if you wish we can try special logged build v2.10 to ensure that the problem is in bus capture from some third party software side.
Yes, i'm ok wih this attempt.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 10:15 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ribbell View Post
Yes, i'm ok wih this attempt.
Then give me your email address via PM and I'll send you logged build.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
Bullu$
Master Guru
 
Bullu$'s Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950cfx@1100/1500
Processor: H2o i7 2600K@4.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG maximus IV
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: CM M1000
Default 09-03-2008, 11:08 | posts: 392

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Tricks with signed driver won't help. Fan control implementation from RT's side doesn't depend on the OS, driver or anything else, it is direct low-level access to the controller. For me it looks like the issue of some background software (probably CCC or even ATI driver itself) and capturing the bus.
I use the driver/cat. from my cd (8.52.6) in xp, after it works i installed the same driver/cat. for vista 64 but still no go. As you already said tricks with signed driver didn't helped.

That explained rt is freezing,because something capturing the bus?
That happended when i click on detect now(for the fan).It happend in xp and in vista.

Also uninstalled some software (xpresstool/att/everest) but still no go.

Last edited by Bullu$; 09-03-2008 at 11:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
Bullu$
Master Guru
 
Bullu$'s Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950cfx@1100/1500
Processor: H2o i7 2600K@4.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG maximus IV
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: CM M1000
Default 09-03-2008, 11:21 | posts: 392

Quote:
Originally Posted by ribbell View Post
Have you enabled hardware background monitoring?
Lemme see the tasks you created and how you set the parameters for one of them. It is better if you report in the thread where i posted the guide.
Ok,will do that after work...(midnight)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 11:22 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullu$ View Post
That explained rt is freezing,because something capturing the bus?
Nope, delay is supposed to be there, during this delay fan controller's detault state is dumped to the registry.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
Bullu$
Master Guru
 
Bullu$'s Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950cfx@1100/1500
Processor: H2o i7 2600K@4.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG maximus IV
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: CM M1000
Default 09-03-2008, 11:29 | posts: 392

Hope the log build will help us all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
ribbell
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 4870X2
Processor: Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5W-DH
Memory: 2*2GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Creative Extreme Music
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 09-03-2008, 11:30 | posts: 55 | Location: Italy/Naples

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Then give me your email address via PM and I'll send you logged build.
Email received, i'll email you the results after work.
Thank you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 11:44 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ribbell View Post
Email received, i'll email you the results after work.
Thank you.
Thanks. Check PM please.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
Bullu$
Master Guru
 
Bullu$'s Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950cfx@1100/1500
Processor: H2o i7 2600K@4.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG maximus IV
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: CM M1000
Default 09-03-2008, 12:51 | posts: 392

I see some difference in xp/vista at the driver settings.

In vista the file ati2evxx.dll (external event utility)isn't found.
In xp it is ok, it uses version 4177.

Don't know what that exactly means, but could it be?
(just wondering)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 13:06 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

XP and Vista drivers include absolutely different components due to OS architecture differences, that is normal.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
darkamikaze
Newbie
 
Videocard: VisionTek ATI HD4850
Processor: Core 2 Duo E8400
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 20:45 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Define "doesn't work for me either". There are issues with 4870 X2 external fan controller support (which is not declared to be supported at all), your 4850 is a completely different story so you hardly can have the same problems.
well when i Enable Low-Level Fan Control to Auto and run at startup..
i notice my temperatures don't go down at all.
Lookup entry 0 says at 60c the fan would be at 31% (unless i'm reading it wrong) and my temperatures go above 70 and then the fan doesn't seem to be spinning at 42%.
only thing i have are CCC, drivers and RT.

Last edited by darkamikaze; 09-03-2008 at 20:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-03-2008, 20:49 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Sorry, but that's not RT's fault that you're misunderstanding on-die controller settings. Study to configure it:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...5&postcount=12


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-04-2008, 08:30 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

ribbel

Well, I've finished analysing RT activity log captured on your system, thanks. That's not an I2C access trouble for sure, according to log ADT7473 always responds via I2C bus properly. The issue some X2 owners are having actually looks like RT's fan control architecture problem, X2 has 2 chips with 2 different fan controllers active on each of them (external one connected to the first chip and on-die controller intagrated in the second one) and fan defaults detection routine just simply overwrites external fan defaults with internal fan defaults data when enumerating all fan controllers available in the system.
Don't want to give X2 owners false hopes because it is rather troublesome to bypass and debug such things distantly, but anyway I'll try to implement a workaroung (something like fan controller priority system with external controllers having the highest priority). Will send you test build when new algorithm is ready.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
ribbell
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 4870X2
Processor: Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5W-DH
Memory: 2*2GB DDR 2
Soundcard: Creative Extreme Music
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 09-04-2008, 09:55 | posts: 55 | Location: Italy/Naples

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
ribbel

Well, I've finished analysing RT activity log captured on your system, thanks. That's not an I2C access trouble for sure, according to log ADT7473 always responds via I2C bus properly. The issue some X2 owners are having actually looks like RT's fan control architecture problem, X2 has 2 chips with 2 different fan controllers active on each of them (external one connected to the first chip and on-die controller intagrated in the second one) and fan defaults detection routine just simply overwrites external fan defaults with internal fan defaults data when enumerating all fan controllers available in the system.
Don't want to give X2 owners false hopes because it is rather troublesome to bypass and debug such things distantly, but anyway I'll try to implement a workaroung (something like fan controller priority system with external controllers having the highest priority). Will send you test build when new algorithm is ready.
Thank you.
Just out of curiosity, i seen myself the .log generated and if i rembember correctly rivatuner first interrogates display 1 and get controller a controller type, then interrogates display 2 and get another controller type, finally it interrogates for the second time the display 1 and the output of the procedure is true: so it takes as the default controller the controller of display 1 (that is the integrated one, not the external one) and for this reason the check box of low fan settings remains unchecked: it works in this way?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-04-2008, 10:00 | posts: 11,399 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Yep, almost. And the differences seen under XP and Vista are caused by the specifics of logical display adapters (GPUs) enumeration by different OSes. In simplier words, last polled controller wins. Let's think what can I do to bypass it.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 09-04-2008 at 10:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.