Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum
RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum This forum is intended for advanced comments, ideas and general discussion of the RivaTuner Utility which is hosted here at the Guru of 3D. This forum is visited by programmer himself - you can only post in this area with a minimum of 10 posts and 7 days forum membership.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
RivaTuner v2.10 is on the way!
Old
  (#1)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default RivaTuner v2.10 is on the way! - 08-20-2008, 14:08 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Dear forum visitors,

I've returned after vacation with new version, which is entering closed beta testing stage tomorrow and is expected to be released within 1-2 weeks. Changes list includes:


Minor bugfixes:

* Fixed core clock gating detection code for G8x and newer display adapters. RivaTuner no longer erroneously detects core clock generator switching to PCI-E bus clock and no longer monitors wrong 100MHz core / shader clock under certain conditions (e.g. wrong shader clock on GeForce GTX 260 / 280 series in idle mode).

What's new:

* Added ForceWare 177.xx drivers family support.
* Updated databases for Detonator and ForceWare drivers. Added databases for ForceWare 177.26, 177.35, 177.39, 177.41, 177.66, 177.70, 177.72, 177.73, 177.79, 177.83 and 177.89.
* Added Catalyst 8.5, 8.6, 8.7 and 8.8 drivers detection.
* Updated Catalyst 8.5, 8.6, 8.7 and 8.8 certified SoftR9x00 patch script (for Windows 2000/XP drivers only).
* Improved NVIDIA GT200 graphics processors family support. Thanks to Jacob Freeman @ EVGA for providing NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260 display adapter sample for testing.
* Added AMD RV770 graphics processors family support. Now almost all RivaTuner's features including overclocking, low-level fan control and hardware monitoring are fully available on AMD RADEON HD 48x0 series display adapters. Thanks to Hilbert Hagedoorn @ The Guru of 3D for providing AMD RADEON HD 4850 display adapter sample for testing. Please take a note that currently RivaTuner doesn't support direct access to RV770 I2C bus and flashrom, so VRM monitoring and VGA BIOS image dumping features are currently not available on AMD RADEON HD 48x0 series.
* Improved set of technologies aimed to improve RivaTuner startup and usage safety in conjunction with other hardware monitoring and diagnostics related tools:
o Previously used low-level I2C synchronization protocol is now also applied to driver-level fan control calls to prevent possible conflicts between low-level I2C transactions and internal driver-level I2C transactions. Please take a note that to take full effect the protocol must be supported by other tools used simultaneously with RivaTuner, so please ensure that you're using this version of RivaTuner with the latest versions of other monitoring or diagnostics related software products (e.g. Everest or EVGA Precision).
* Updated bundled RivaTunerStatisticsServer v2.7.0 utility:
o New server uses improved hook notification system and more aggressive hooks unload routines aimed to minimize the situations which require system reboot during server uninstallation.
o Updated pseudo-3D applications list.
* Improved hardware monitoring module:
o Now hardware monitoring plugin activation wizard module enables ADT7473 plugin by default on GeForce GTX 260 / 280 series display adapters.
o Improved memory clock gating detection for GeForce GTX 260 / 280 series display adapters.
* Updated license agreement. New license agreement explicitly restricts publishing any links to RivaTuner on www.nvnews.net homepage or in www.nvnews.net discussion forums.
* Minor UI changes and improvements.


The most of changes are related to RADEON HD 48x0 family support, so I need a few experienced RivaTuner users with 48x0 hardware users for testing it. If you're interested - contact me via PM or directly via this thread.

EDIT: Guys, I've selected about 20 testers from those who sent beta-program joining requests via PM. Thanks a lot to everyone who wanted to help with testing, beta-team is full now and there are no more additional testers needed. Thanks for your wish to help once again.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 08-25-2008 at 07:58.
   
 
Old
  (#2)
RejZoR
Ancient Guru
 
RejZoR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD4870 Silent
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Gene
Memory: 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 08-20-2008, 14:23 | posts: 4,212 | Location: Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana

So if i understand this right, core voltage control won't be available just yet, only pure overclocking.
   
Old
  (#3)
virtualex
Master Guru
 
virtualex's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD4870-800/4400
Processor: Q6600@3Ghz (334x9)
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3 rev2.0
Memory: 4x1g kingston
Soundcard: X-fi Platinum/LM4562 Mod
PSU: Chieftec 620w
Default 08-20-2008, 14:24 | posts: 300 | Location: Bacau, Romania

great news, thank you.

count me in for 48xx series beta testing under vista x64
   
Old
  (#4)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-20-2008, 14:27 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by RejZoR View Post
So if i understand this right, core voltage control won't be available just yet, only pure overclocking.
Not only "just yet". Voltage control was never available in RT GUI and it will be never available there in future.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
 
Old
  (#5)
RejZoR
Ancient Guru
 
RejZoR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD4870 Silent
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II Gene
Memory: 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 08-20-2008, 14:54 | posts: 4,212 | Location: Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana

Well, thats crappy considering it can be done and it does all the difference when OC-ing.
Where OC with CCC ends at 690MHz with artefacting in some games, ATT allows me to clock to 750MHz artefact free in most games. But then this version is totally buggy on all ends beyond usability...
   
Old
  (#6)
philheckler
Master Guru
 
philheckler's Avatar
 
Videocard: gtx470 SLI
Processor: i5 750 @ 3.6ghz
Mainboard: p7p55 pro
Memory: 4GB gskill ripjaws ddr3
Soundcard: asus xonar DX
PSU: Corsair hx850
Default 08-20-2008, 15:15 | posts: 775 | Location: S.WALES UK

I'd only be to happy to try this new version with my 4870....


I've got vista 32 and widows xp on my rig...

Last edited by philheckler; 08-20-2008 at 15:18.
   
Old
  (#7)
mR Yellow
Master Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 Acel XIII
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600MHZ CL8
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 08-20-2008, 15:45 | posts: 750 | Location: South Africa

Thanx Unwinder! Now i can finally use RT with my 4870!
I'm using Vistax64 btw.
   
Old
  (#8)
justifireb2b
Master Guru
 
justifireb2b's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x Asus GTX280 TRI-SLI
Processor: i7 920 @ 4500mhz
Mainboard: EVGA Classified
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator1866
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 15
Default 08-20-2008, 16:32 | posts: 189 | Location: Netherlands

Unwinder, is there a way to get around the core / shader clock on GTX260 / GTX280 ?
Even ulinked you cant go much higher with core without upping the shadercore.
I know this is something hardware, but isn't it possible to get around this ?
Really holds a lot op pepole from going any higher with coreclocks.
   
Old
  (#9)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-20-2008, 17:05 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by justifireb2b View Post
Unwinder, is there a way to get around the core / shader clock on GTX260 / GTX280 ?
Even ulinked you cant go much higher with core without upping the shadercore.
I know this is something hardware, but isn't it possible to get around this ?
Really holds a lot op pepole from going any higher with coreclocks.
No. Due to hardware architecture specifics core clock to shader clock ratio cannot be less than 2. There is no way to bypass it.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Old
  (#10)
justifireb2b
Master Guru
 
justifireb2b's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x Asus GTX280 TRI-SLI
Processor: i7 920 @ 4500mhz
Mainboard: EVGA Classified
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator1866
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 15
Default 08-20-2008, 17:14 | posts: 189 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
No. Due to hardware architecture specifics core clock to shader clock ratio cannot be less than 2. There is no way to bypass it.
That's a shame
Was thinking of trying to flash the bios with higher clock / lower shaderclock, but after reading this, that seems useless.
Thanks for the clear information Unwinder
   
 
Old
  (#11)
Snarl
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2 x XFX HD6970 2GB CF
Processor: Intel i7 930 Quad Core
Mainboard: MSI Big Bang XPower
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 08-20-2008, 17:42 | posts: 114 | Location: Canada Eh

Unwinder, I currently have a Diamond Black Edition HD4870. I'm using ATI Tray tools currently for temperature based fan control only (not overclocking beyond Factory 800/1100) however I'd be pleased to help test Rivatuner, I've used Rivatuner (up to V 2.09) for quite a while (1 Year Plus) with my 8800GTS 640MB so I'm framiliar with the basics on Fan Control profiles.
   
Old
  (#12)
x-speed69
Maha Guru
 
x-speed69's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7970 GHZ edition
Processor: Intel i7-3820@4.4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UD5
Memory: 16gb Patriot@1666
Soundcard: Asus DXG
PSU: CM M2 850w
Default 08-20-2008, 21:53 | posts: 2,203 | Location: Finland

Is my card supported by this new version?
   
Old
  (#13)
r2rX
Member Guru
 
r2rX's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce GTX 480
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad @3.4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3R mobo
Memory: 4GB G.Skill PC-6400 DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek HD @ Creative PC
PSU: Epsilon 800W PSU
Default 08-21-2008, 00:23 | posts: 118

Great news, Unwinder.

Since moving to the ATi HD4870, i've been using/testing ATi Tray Tools. So far, overclocking and fan control have functioned with it.

I do have a question, however.....is there any chance that RivaTuner will support overall tweaking control for ATi cards i.e. OpenGL settings, Direct3D settings, Colour Control settings etc?

Also, is it possible to get Refresh Rate Locking/Control working with ATi cards (specifically the 4800 (or 4870 specifically) series) for DX9 (and pre), OpenGL and DX10? If you know how to get refresh rate locking/control working for DX10, would you mind assisting Ray Adams and informing him how to?

Hope I am not causing any trouble with my requests.

Otherwise, i'd be more than willing to assist in testing RT.
   
Old
  (#14)
Grendel_66
Maha Guru
 
Grendel_66's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N660 TF 2GD5/OC
Processor: Intel i7-3930K
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV Gene
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Seasonic X650
Default 08-21-2008, 00:52 | posts: 850 | Location: OR, US

Welcome back ! Hope you had a great vacation Looking forward to RT 2.10.
   
Old
  (#15)
|TX|-LORD-EX-BU
Newbie
 
Videocard: Visiontek Geforce4 Ti 4200 128 Meg
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 2.4 Ghz 533 FSB
Mainboard: MSI 648L-MAX
Memory: 512 Winbond PC3200 CAS 2 DDR
Soundcard: AC'97 ADDISON TECH Stereo speakers
PSU: Enermax Mod case
Default 08-21-2008, 02:40 | posts: 19 | Location: SoUtH KaLi!

does my nvnews edition eVGA GTX 280 work with this?
   
Old
  (#16)
AnthraxPants
Banned
 
Videocard: XFX 4890HD 1GB
Processor: Intel Q6600@3.2GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R r1
Memory: 2x1GB Corsair PC8500
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Value
PSU: CoolerMaster 650W~
Default 08-21-2008, 05:49 | posts: 1,536 | Location: AUSTRALIA

This version is still beta and only for testing by experienced users. You will have to use the current release until this version is released. RivaTuner-v2.09 works fine for most tasks unless you have a card from the AMD/ATI RADEON HD 48x0 family. http://downloads.guru3d.com/RivaTune...nload-163.html
   
Old
  (#17)
Blahman
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG GTX 260 MAXCORE OC
Processor: C2D E6750 @ 3.6GHz
Mainboard: Shuttle FP35
Memory: 2x2GB Corsair DDR2800 CL4
Soundcard:
PSU: 400W Shuttle PSU
Default 08-21-2008, 06:29 | posts: 35

I would also like to beta test if possible. Long-time advanced RT user; running a new Radeon HD 4870 under Vista x64.
   
Old
  (#18)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-21-2008, 07:18 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by justifireb2b View Post
That's a shame
Was thinking of trying to flash the bios with higher clock / lower shaderclock, but after reading this, that seems useless.
Thanks for the clear information Unwinder
Actually there was a typo in my posting, read "core clock to shader clock ratio cannot be less than 2" as "shader clock to core clock ratio cannot be less than 2". But I think you've got the idea anyway.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Old
  (#19)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-21-2008, 07:22 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by x-speed69 View Post
Is my card supported by this new version?

Partially. The functionality is limited to single GPU only, i.e. you'll be able to monitor single GPU clocks/temperatures/GPU load only as well as o/c will be only applied to single chip in crossfire mode. There are no plans to provide Crossfire support in the nearest future, sorry.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Old
  (#20)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-21-2008, 07:26 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by |TX|-LORD-EX-BU View Post
does my nvnews edition eVGA GTX 280 work with this?
Guest from nvnews? Keep willing death to Ossetian people and propoganding Russia nuking idea outside this forum please. Such things (addressed to any nation, btw) will not be supported here.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Old
  (#21)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-21-2008, 07:34 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by r2rX View Post
I do have a question, however.....is there any chance that RivaTuner will support overall tweaking control for ATi cards i.e. OpenGL settings, Direct3D settings, Colour Control settings etc?
Unlikely, sorry. Honestly, from my POV these things are not the highest priority even for NVIDIA boards because modern ATI and NVIDIA control panels contain profiling features and allow controlling the most frequently used D3D/OGL settings needed by 99% of users. It was way more interesting to examine D3D/OGL settings in the past because back in 2000 both NV/ATI control panels couldn't even control anisotrpoic filtering modes. Now it is all in the past and I focus mainly on the features missing in the control panel (i.e. on advanced hardware monitoring and overclocking techniques).

Quote:
Originally Posted by r2rX View Post
Also, is it possible to get Refresh Rate Locking/Control working with ATi cards (specifically the 4800 (or 4870 specifically) series) for DX9 (and pre), OpenGL and DX10? If you know how to get refresh rate locking/control working for DX10, would you mind assisting Ray Adams and informing him how to?
Haven't used refresh override for a few years already after migrating from CRT to LCD. I have no ideas about DX10 support, sorry.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Old
  (#22)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-21-2008, 07:37 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

snarl, r2rX, Blahman

Please send me your emails via PM.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Old
  (#23)
NightCrawler™
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA GTX460 1 8800GTSSC
Processor: Intel I7 920 @ 3.8Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme II
Memory: OCZ DDR3 Platinum 1600
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 08-21-2008, 08:50 | posts: 124 | Location: Netherlands

Interesting... I've been having mysterious random crashes with Rivatuner 2.09, Everest and Samurize combined...
I'm pretty sure it's somehow related to each other but I've never been able to disclose it.. hopefully this new version fixes it...
   
Old
  (#24)
x-speed69
Maha Guru
 
x-speed69's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7970 GHZ edition
Processor: Intel i7-3820@4.4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UD5
Memory: 16gb Patriot@1666
Soundcard: Asus DXG
PSU: CM M2 850w
Default 08-21-2008, 09:37 | posts: 2,203 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Partially. The functionality is limited to single GPU only, i.e. you'll be able to monitor single GPU clocks/temperatures/GPU load only as well as o/c will be only applied to single chip in crossfire mode. There are no plans to provide Crossfire support in the nearest future, sorry.
ah no worries but is fan control still possible?
   
Old
  (#25)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-21-2008, 10:53 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by x-speed69 View Post
ah no worries but is fan control still possible?
Yup, it should work.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.