Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
3DMark Vantage Has Gone Gold
Old
  (#1)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 3DMark Vantage Has Gone Gold - 04-26-2008, 01:03 | posts: 2,181 | Location: Canada

http://www.yougamers.com/news/18513_...has_gone_gold/

http://www.futuremark.com/3dmarkvantage/

http://www.futuremark.com/3dmarkvant.../?redirect=%2F

Quote:
3DMark Vantage Has Gone Gold

It's finally done, and the countdown clock is ticking! Futuremark has just announced that 3DMark Vantage is ready, and the countdown indicates that it will launch on Monday, 28th of April 2008. Downloads should be available at 16:00 EET (13:00 GMT, 09:00 EST, 06:00 PST). Futuremark has also released a large set of new screenshots - read on for some shiny images and other details.

The definite DirectX10 benchmark will ship in four editions:

* Trial (free)
* Basic ($6.95)
* Advanced ($19.95)
* Professional ($495)

The Professional version is intended for business and commercial use, while Basic and Advanced are limited to private use. A Free Trial key allows you to test the benchmark with a single run.

Full details on the differences between the available versions will be available at launch, but to give a rough idea, Basic (6.95$) version allows you to benchmark as many times as you like with the "Performance" preset, and you get a score with all the ORB features available. Advanced ($19.95) unlocks all four presets, six additional feature tests and allows you to customize all the settings.
Final System Requirements

The final system requirements to run 3DMark Vantage Trial are:

Minimum

* x86/x64 single core CPU with SSE2 support. Performance similar to Intel Pentium D 3.2GHz or better
* Fully D3D10/SM4.0 compliant graphics card, 256MB
* 1024MB Memory
* 2GB of free disk space
* Windows Vista (Server editions not supported)

Recommended

* Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 or equivalent AMD CPU
* Fully D3D10/SM4.0 compliant graphics card, 512MB
* 2048MB Memory
* 2GB of free disk space
* Windows Vista (Server editions not supported)

Additionally, following requirements must be met to run each of the four available presets with the Advanced and Pro versions:

* Entry - 128MB DX10 Video Card and a monitor capable of displaying 1280x1024 resolution
* Performance - 256MB DX10 Video Card and a monitor capable of displaying 1280x1024 resolution
* High - 512MB DX10 Video Card and a monitor capable of displaying 1680x1050 resolution
* Extreme - 512MB DX10 Video Card and a monitor capable of displaying 1920x1200 resolution

Custom preset can be used to run the benchmark at an user-selectable resolution for individual subscores, but the 3DMark score is displayed and saved to ORB only when using one of the pre-defined presets. In other words, to get a score using the "High" and "Extreme" presets, a widescreen display is required. You probably also need a system that exceeds the recommended setup to get a reliable score at these settings - "Extreme" might be a bit too much for even the fastest systems available today.

For benchmarking older hardware and operating systems 3DMark06 is still around, and remains as the definite DX9 benchmark.
Watcher

Last edited by Watcher; 04-26-2008 at 01:05.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 04-26-2008, 01:13 | posts: 9,580 | Location: Ireland

ohhh single run on Trial........great
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
xg-ei8ht
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 1gb 6870 Sapphire
Processor: I5 2500K@ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 8GB KINGSTON 1600
Soundcard: Onboard 7.1
PSU: Hiper 580watt
Default 04-26-2008, 01:33 | posts: 1,739 | Location: London Baby

dx10 meh
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
evilkiller650
Ancient Guru
 
evilkiller650's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB MSI Radeon HD 7950 OC
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG 5.1
PSU: XFX 750W XXX
Default 04-26-2008, 02:18 | posts: 4,362 | Location: Scotland

What a joke. Seems they are to make purely money and lots of it and try to get people buy Vista.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
John
Don Salieri
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 04-26-2008, 02:27 | posts: 16,747 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

I'm predicting we're gonna get alot of crying from people who haven't changed to Vista yet. Oh dear lord, I can already see how it'll be. Cry, cry, cry.

3Dmark has always been pushing the envelope. It's all about the next gen, and if you agree with it or not is totally irrelevant. Don't have Vista? Boo-hoo, your loss/gain, however you want to see it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
evilkiller650
Ancient Guru
 
evilkiller650's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB MSI Radeon HD 7950 OC
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG 5.1
PSU: XFX 750W XXX
Default 04-26-2008, 02:32 | posts: 4,362 | Location: Scotland

I'll rephrase my post since I was in a hurry when I wrote it:

What a joke. You are basically FORCED to pay if you want to benchmark your system with 3DV. Nobody wants to run it once and not be allowed to run it again....
As someone else said, the screenshots look like ****! And the best thing? You need Vista to even run it!

Heh, I think I'll stick with Crysis to be my benchmark, Crysis also looks better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Crossfire
Maha Guru
 
Crossfire's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS Radeon HD 4670 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 3.2GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 AM3
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1333 4GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Antec High Current 520W
Post 04-26-2008, 02:32 | posts: 1,737 | Location: Kentucky, US

Quote:
Originally Posted by John View Post
I'm predicting we're gonna get alot of crying from people who haven't changed to Vista yet. Oh dear lord, I can already see how it'll be. Cry, cry, cry.

3Dmark has always been pushing the envelope. It's all about the next gen, and if you agree with it or not is totally irrelevant. Don't have Vista? Boo-hoo, your loss/gain, however you want to see it.

+1

Also, why are people whining about it being DX10 ? I figured people would be wanting a DX10 benchmarking program because that's what all the latest video cards are. Some things about people I just don't understand.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Animatrix
Ancient Guru
 
Animatrix's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 8800GT OC2 512
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
Mainboard: ABIT IP35 Pro
Memory: Corsair XMS2 4x1GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Corsair VX550W
Default 04-26-2008, 03:27 | posts: 6,844 | Location: Denmark

Developer Diary 1
http://www.gametrailers.com/player/30291.html

Developer Diary 2
http://www.gametrailers.com/player/30933.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
John
Don Salieri
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 04-26-2008, 12:08 | posts: 16,747 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilkiller650 View Post
I'll rephrase my post since I was in a hurry when I wrote it:

What a joke. You are basically FORCED to pay if you want to benchmark your system with 3DV. Nobody wants to run it once and not be allowed to run it again....
As someone else said, the screenshots look like ****! And the best thing? You need Vista to even run it!

Heh, I think I'll stick with Crysis to be my benchmark, Crysis also looks better.
Oh no, you have to pay the insane price of 7 dollars for a piece of software that took years to develop. What an outrage! Tell me, did your copy of Crysis come for free? Or did it cost more than 7 dollars?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Skiddywinks
Ancient Guru
 
Skiddywinks's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Matrix 285
Processor: i5 750 @ 4GHz 1.32v H0
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth i55
Memory: 4GB OCZ XMP DDR3 1353MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair HX1000W
Default 04-26-2008, 12:25 | posts: 4,628 | Location: North Wales

Quote:
Originally Posted by John View Post
Oh no, you have to pay the insane price of 7 dollars for a piece of software that took years to develop. What an outrage! Tell me, did your copy of Crysis come for free? Or did it cost more than 7 dollars?
And John knocks it out of the park once again
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
sava700
Ancient Guru
 
sava700's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 570GTX SC 337.88's
Processor: IntelQuad Q9300
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-E LGA 775
Memory: OCZ ReaperHPC 8GB PC2-640
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 760W
Default 04-26-2008, 16:31 | posts: 4,854 | Location: In a game world

I wouldn't worry about the prices of it people... I know of places and people right now ready to crack that stuff wide open and offer it for free as with any software its going to happen.

The only thing I hated about 3DMark06 was they required you to log in to see your score and that was stupid... I didn't care to go through all that junk and subject myself to their advertising to see what I placed.


As for this vista argument..well I've got Ultimate but feel like I got screwed from my extra's I was supposed to get that they are just now releasing.. I used it for maybe 2-3months then went back to XP since no games at the time and even now Crysis is the only real good game that uses DX10. I'm not missing much when I'm watching vista use memory like it does which is kinda uncalled for regardless of its purpose.

Will I ever go back to Vista...prob not, Windows 7 is so close and with SP3 just released for Xp I'm happy at this time. But I've used it enough to know it very well since I'm having to work on systems running it all the time now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 04-26-2008, 17:02 | posts: 7,078 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by sava700 View Post
I wouldn't worry about the prices of it people... I know of places and people right now ready to crack that stuff wide open and offer it for free as with any software its going to happen.

The only thing I hated about 3DMark06 was they required you to log in to see your score and that was stupid... I didn't care to go through all that junk and subject myself to their advertising to see what I placed.


As for this vista argument..well I've got Ultimate but feel like I got screwed from my extra's I was supposed to get that they are just now releasing.. I used it for maybe 2-3months then went back to XP since no games at the time and even now Crysis is the only real good game that uses DX10. I'm not missing much when I'm watching vista use memory like it does which is kinda uncalled for regardless of its purpose.

Will I ever go back to Vista...prob not, Windows 7 is so close and with SP3 just released for Xp I'm happy at this time. But I've used it enough to know it very well since I'm having to work on systems running it all the time now.
It's not like it requires skill to get a cracked version. But if people want to know why PC developers are pissed, I guess they can just look at threads like this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
meatfestival92
Maha Guru
 
meatfestival92's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 9800 GTX @ 815/2078/1180
Processor: Opteron 175 @ 2.6GHz
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum EL PC3200
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700w
Default 04-26-2008, 17:30 | posts: 1,767 | Location: UK

You get to run it once on trial? The hell with that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Sampson
Master Guru
 
Sampson's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xeVGA 480gtx SLi
Processor: i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3
Memory: 2x4gb G.Skill DDR1866
Soundcard: X-Meridian 2G - Z5300E
PSU: Enermax Galaxy DXX 1KW
Default 04-26-2008, 17:43 | posts: 343

I actually wouldn't mind buying this 3dmark. I was considering buying 3dmark06 but didn't think it would be around this long. Think about it, spend a measly 7$ and use a great benchmark program for id say at least a year? Sounds good to me!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
sava700
Ancient Guru
 
sava700's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 570GTX SC 337.88's
Processor: IntelQuad Q9300
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-E LGA 775
Memory: OCZ ReaperHPC 8GB PC2-640
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 760W
Default 04-26-2008, 21:59 | posts: 4,854 | Location: In a game world

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denial View Post
It's not like it requires skill to get a cracked version. But if people want to know why PC developers are pissed, I guess they can just look at threads like this.
It happens regardless if you don't want it to or not... nothing anyone can do about it but talking about it means nothing so don't get your panties in a bunch about discussion threads.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 04-26-2008, 22:07 | posts: 7,078 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by sava700 View Post
It happens regardless if you don't want it to or not... nothing anyone can do about it but talking about it means nothing so don't get your panties in a bunch about discussion threads.
I wasn't aware that pointing out the obvious is getting my "panties in a bunch". $7 isn't much.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
meatfestival92
Maha Guru
 
meatfestival92's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 9800 GTX @ 815/2078/1180
Processor: Opteron 175 @ 2.6GHz
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum EL PC3200
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700w
Default 04-27-2008, 19:34 | posts: 1,767 | Location: UK

Limiting it to one run is far too severe. They should let you use it for 14 days or so... or maybe charge a subscription fee to post results to the ORB?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 04-27-2008, 20:19 | posts: 9,993 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

Something tells me they'll hide data as well like milkshape, and that uninstalling and reinstalling won't work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Nato.dbnz
Ancient Guru
 
Nato.dbnz's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5870 Crossfire
Processor: 2500k 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro
Memory: 8Gb Dominator 1600
Soundcard: Xonar STX + HD598
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1000W
Default 04-27-2008, 23:05 | posts: 3,261 | Location: Auckland NZ

Lol, can't believe so many people are crying about $6.95. I think the company deserves the money and far too many people run free/pirated copies of 3dmark06. Seriously, i bet 3dmark06 gets run more times than most games you buy, over the course of its 2 year life span, they deserve to be paid for it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
StreeTunder
Maha Guru
 
StreeTunder's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870 1024Mb
Processor: Q9450 2.66Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte IntelX38-DS4
Memory: Corsair 4GB PC6400 XMS2
Soundcard: Creative XFI Xtreme Gamer
PSU: Coolermaster 650w
Default 04-27-2008, 23:12 | posts: 1,014 | Location: Portugal

Vista only?




Next.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
8800gts320mb
Maha Guru
 
8800gts320mb's Avatar
 
Videocard: msi gtx 460 hawk
Processor: i5 3570k waiting
Mainboard: asus p8z77 mini itx
Memory: 8 gig 1600 mhz corsair
Soundcard: 7.1 soundbar yamaha
PSU: tbc
Default 04-27-2008, 23:24 | posts: 866 | Location: england uk

d/l now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Nato.dbnz
Ancient Guru
 
Nato.dbnz's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5870 Crossfire
Processor: 2500k 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro
Memory: 8Gb Dominator 1600
Soundcard: Xonar STX + HD598
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1000W
Default 04-28-2008, 00:19 | posts: 3,261 | Location: Auckland NZ

Countdown still says 13 hours for me??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Copey
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 460 1GB
Processor: Phenom II 955 Black
Mainboard: Gigabyte 790X-UD3P
Memory: 4GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: Antec QP 850W
Default 04-28-2008, 00:42 | posts: 10,692 | Location: U.K

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8800gts320mb View Post
d/l now
Im guessing thats a toorrent then?? still says 13 hours for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Joey
Ancient Guru
 
Joey's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2600XT + Panasonic S10
Processor: Intel C2D 2.4Ghz Q6600
Mainboard: Foxconn G33M ATX
Memory: 4GB (2x2GB) 800Mhz Corsai
Soundcard: X-fi ExMusic + Logitech Z
PSU: Dell 350Watt.
Default 04-28-2008, 00:45 | posts: 4,156 | Location: Cambridge, England

From the looks of those screen shots, that space looking one is going to be all Battlestar Galactica with crash zooms and so on. Almost a shame it's not a game. Some one should really do a dog fighting Galactica game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
John
Don Salieri
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 04-28-2008, 00:46 | posts: 16,747 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

The graphics looks a bit "meh", to be honest.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.