Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post your broadband speed
Old
  (#1)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default Post your broadband speed - 04-19-2008, 01:32 | posts: 9,622 | Location: Ireland

This doesnt seem to be the right area, but where is?
Anyway, this is my mega connection, 3Mb connection, 66euro per month
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Little
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: SLI Gigabyte 670 WF 3 OC
Processor: i5 3570K 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: 16GB G Skill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750
Default 04-19-2008, 01:48 | posts: 824 | Location: PA

15mb down 768 up
$50 usd/month


Last edited by Little; 04-19-2008 at 01:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Kon$olE
Ancient Guru
 
Kon$olE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 8800GT 512Mb Sonic
Processor: C2D E6700 and Tuniq Tower
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Memory: 2x1Gb Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: Z-5500 on X-Fi XM
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 04-19-2008, 02:02 | posts: 3,903 | Location: Canada, eh?

Ah, speedtest.net. Overestimating the speed of my internet since... 2008!


Way, way wrong.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
llerenaprincipe
Ancient Guru
 
llerenaprincipe's Avatar
 
Videocard: DIAMOND X1950XTX 512MB, 650/2000Mhz
Processor: Opteron 165 @ 2.8
Mainboard: DFI LanParty NF4 ULTRA-D
Memory: PC4000 2gig G.SKILL 3-4-4-8 528mhz
Soundcard: AUDIGY 2 ZS (SWEE-TUH)
PSU: 550
Default 04-19-2008, 02:05 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Carrollton,Ky

divide that by 8 and u got it
and mine is 10000kbps download and 1200kpbs upload
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 04-19-2008, 02:34 | posts: 10,173 | Location: Dundee, Scotland



Virgin Media 10mb connection, 17 per month.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i5-3570K 4.0/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 16GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 04-19-2008, 02:35 | posts: 9,449 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha



This is mine. (have 2 computers Downloading right now so it could be a little higher) $49 per month.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Quixz
Maha Guru
 
Quixz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti
Processor: Intel i7 860
Mainboard: GA-P55 UD3R
Memory: HyperX 8GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Thermaltake TP 875W
Default 04-19-2008, 02:46 | posts: 1,275 | Location: England : Birmingham

Virgin Media 4mb soon to be 10mb. 25

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 04-19-2008, 02:52 | posts: 9,622 | Location: Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatman839 View Post


Virgin Media 10mb connection, 17 per month.
lucky ba$tard lol, nice speeds for the price
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Quixz
Maha Guru
 
Quixz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti
Processor: Intel i7 860
Mainboard: GA-P55 UD3R
Memory: HyperX 8GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Thermaltake TP 875W
Default 04-19-2008, 02:59 | posts: 1,275 | Location: England : Birmingham

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmimmfn View Post
lucky ba$tard lol, nice speeds for the price
His price will go up to 25 in a few months once his introduction period expires.

Last edited by Quixz; 04-19-2008 at 03:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 04-19-2008, 03:01 | posts: 9,622 | Location: Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quixz View Post
His price will go up to 25 in a few months.
how come? regardless im paying 50 for a crippled service, only solution->move house
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Quixz
Maha Guru
 
Quixz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti
Processor: Intel i7 860
Mainboard: GA-P55 UD3R
Memory: HyperX 8GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Thermaltake TP 875W
Default 04-19-2008, 03:02 | posts: 1,275 | Location: England : Birmingham

I cant wait
http://allyours.virginmedia.com/html.../schedule.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Psytek
Ancient Guru
 
Psytek's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 260 GTX 216 SLI
Processor: Core 2 E5200 @3.36GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5N-T deluxe
Memory: PC2-6400 4GB
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC-166
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 04-19-2008, 06:42 | posts: 3,370 | Location: UK



4mb virgin, 25, but we get some knocked off the total price 'cos we get the TV and phone too.

Most days those speeds are quartered at peak times. With 4 people in the house, its hard not to breach the "fair" usage policy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
RSXHiTMAN
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS ATI EAH4830
Processor: AMD 64 4000+ @ 3.0
Mainboard: A8N-SLI Deluxe (premium b
Memory: 2gb G.Skill HZ
Soundcard:
PSU: gameXstream 600w
Default 04-19-2008, 07:23 | posts: 28 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kon$olE View Post
Ah, speedtest.net. Overestimating the speed of my internet since... 2008!


Way, way wrong.
what do you mean "overestimating" ? its not estimating anything
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
roguesn1per
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX580
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 4ghz
Mainboard: GB X58 UD5
Memory: Corsair--24Gig
Soundcard: Z5500s
PSU: CoolMaster 600W
Default 04-19-2008, 07:41 | posts: 9,514 | Location: Aussie Perth WA

18500 Dl
2300 Ul
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 04-19-2008, 07:58 | posts: 23,434 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands



a bit slow for 20mbit/1mbit but perhaps thats capped for the phone

Last edited by WhiteLightning; 04-19-2008 at 08:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 04-19-2008, 10:11 | posts: 13,651 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

8Mbit down, 832kbit up - 25 a month.




Interleaving off, 14ms lowest

Roll on either ADSL2 via ipstream or llu, going to take a while
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
roguesn1per
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX580
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 4ghz
Mainboard: GB X58 UD5
Memory: Corsair--24Gig
Soundcard: Z5500s
PSU: CoolMaster 600W
Default 04-19-2008, 11:34 | posts: 9,514 | Location: Aussie Perth WA

With my adsl 2 to "gamer"

With Interleaving "tweaked" i get 5000 DL 2300 UL

With around a ping of 3-4 to WA servers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 04-19-2008, 12:12 | posts: 13,651 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

3-4ms on adsl2 riiight, I find that very hard to belive. Maybe 8ms being the lowest but 3-4...

Must have a line attenuation of less than 8 for that.

EDIT: 6 apppears to be the lowest on adsl2+

Last edited by aircool; 04-19-2008 at 12:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
[Spitfire]
Master Guru
 
[Spitfire]'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ATi HD2600
Processor: C2D T7100
Mainboard: Intel PM965
Memory: 2GB DDR667
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: -
Default 04-19-2008, 13:32 | posts: 489 | Location: Australia

512k down and 128k up
just the casual e-mail, browsing and IM
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 04-19-2008, 13:39 | posts: 10,173 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quixz View Post
His price will go up to 25 in a few months once his introduction period expires.
Well it's been 17 a month for about, 6 months now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Luvabud
Maha Guru
 
Luvabud's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800GTX
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: GA EX58 UD3R F11
Memory: Corsair 6GB 1448MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer SB0770
PSU: Corsair 620
Default 04-19-2008, 13:48 | posts: 919 | Location: Uk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quixz View Post
Virgin Media 4mb soon to be 10mb. 25

Man, I got that email like fracking ages ago, my good mate who works for them say's it should be soon, not soon enough, getting stressed now, want my 10MB connection.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
John
Don Salieri
 
John's Avatar
 
Videocard: 4870X2 H0 & Eizo SX2761W
Processor: Xeon W3520 @ 4,4GHz H0
Mainboard: DFI LanParty UT X58-T3eH8
Memory: 12GB Corsair GT/Patriot
Soundcard: Yulong D100 & AKG K601
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200W
Default 04-19-2008, 14:13 | posts: 16,752 | Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Norway

Blergh, no point in me posting a speedtest thingy as my room mate is constantly running bittorrent (so am I, but I could cap it....) anyway, I have a 20Mbit/1.2Mbit ADSL2+ connection. Real-time speeds are around 16Mbit/1.2Mbit, probably due to sh*t copper quality within the house. No caps, download/upload limits, P2P filtering or FUP's, of course. It's fast enough down, but I'd like some more up speed. I saw they've started rolling out synchronous VDSL2 connections down south, so hopefully that will come here soon, as I doubt fibre will reach the area I live in still a while
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 04-19-2008, 14:17 | posts: 13,651 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

Damn, poor deprived john lol

Could be noise surrounding the wire, or the modem?

Could try removing the ring wires if they have that kinda phone line setup in norway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 04-19-2008, 14:18 | posts: 13,425 | Location: √╥

here is my crappy connection
1mbit/256kbs


lol at first i had 1/1, lol they didn't know that for like 6-7months, ah those where the times
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Psytek
Ancient Guru
 
Psytek's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x 260 GTX 216 SLI
Processor: Core 2 E5200 @3.36GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5N-T deluxe
Memory: PC2-6400 4GB
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC-166
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 04-19-2008, 14:20 | posts: 3,370 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luvabud View Post
Man, I got that email like fracking ages ago, my good mate who works for them say's it should be soon, not soon enough, getting stressed now, want my 10MB connection.
http://allyours.virginmedia.com/html.../schedule.html
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.