Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
9800 GX2 Quad SLI initial impressions
Old
  (#1)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 9800 GX2 Quad SLI initial impressions - 04-06-2008, 03:51 | posts: 24 | Location: London

Hi Guys

Just though id share a few thoughts and a couple of benchmark runs for you. Well - for a start these cards are huge - they look even longer in the flesh and I only just got them in, another 5mm and it wouldve been impossible. Have only had these a few days, this is my first eve SLI setup so I thought id go for broke!
Quad SLI was extremely easy to get going and install was a breeze, the cards do seem to be blowing some serious warm air out of the sides, though temps are about 55-60 idle and about 70-75 under load - quite a bit cooler than my old 3870X2.
This setup definately seems to be CPU bottlenecked though - since I changed to an E8400 @ 4 Ghz from a Q6600 @ 3.6 Ghz, my framerates have gone up around 10-15 FPS average after trying 3DMark and few other games.
Here are a couple of Crysis runs @ 1680 x 1050 for you information - this is extremely playable now at this res with everything very high, aside from a few stutters that ruin the average scores - hopefully drivers will improve these. I havent done anything to the optimize my driver settings yet so I will play around and see if I can improve these.

1st run everything 'very high' DX10, 2nd run everything 'High' DX10.

06/04/2008 03:16:18 - Vista
Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX10 1680x1050, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=3, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: VeryHigh
================================================== ============
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 50.70s, Average FPS: 39.45
Min FPS: 21.94 at frame 158, Max FPS: 62.99 at frame 840
Average Tri/Sec: -14664590, Tri/Frame: -371730
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -2.47
!TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
Play Time: 37.47s, Average FPS: 53.38
Min FPS: 21.94 at frame 158, Max FPS: 67.61 at frame 909
Average Tri/Sec: -19325998, Tri/Frame: -362079
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -2.53
!TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
Play Time: 36.98s, Average FPS: 54.09
Min FPS: 21.94 at frame 158, Max FPS: 70.13 at frame 99
Average Tri/Sec: -19511396, Tri/Frame: -360720
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -2.54
TimeDemo Play Ended, (3 Runs Performed)
================================================== ============

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

06/04/2008 03:16:18 - Vista

Run #1- DX10 1680x1050 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: VeryHigh ~~ Overall Average FPS: 53.735




06/04/2008 03:20:27 - Vista
Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
DX10 1680x1050, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 32 bit test, FullScreen
Demo Loops=3, Time Of Day= 9
Global Game Quality: High
================================================== ============
TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 41.47s, Average FPS: 48.23
Min FPS: 11.87 at frame 146, Max FPS: 85.64 at frame 1642
Average Tri/Sec: -33928276, Tri/Frame: -703487
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.30
!TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
Play Time: 29.63s, Average FPS: 67.51
Min FPS: 11.87 at frame 146, Max FPS: 94.43 at frame 119
Average Tri/Sec: -47455860, Tri/Frame: -702979
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.30
!TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
Play Time: 28.39s, Average FPS: 70.44
Min FPS: 11.87 at frame 146, Max FPS: 103.30 at frame 102
Average Tri/Sec: -49471388, Tri/Frame: -702320
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.31
TimeDemo Play Ended, (3 Runs Performed)
================================================== ============

Completed All Tests

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

06/04/2008 03:20:27 - Vista

Run #1- DX10 1680x1050 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: High ~~ Overall Average FPS: 68.975



Hope this is informative for you guys - if anyone wants me to try anything out just ask away!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
NN1T1NN
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 280 (700/1200)
Processor: Q6600 @ 3.4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Memory: 4gb G.Skill @ 1020mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Sound C
PSU: ThermalTake PurePower 600
Default 04-06-2008, 04:01 | posts: 660 | Location: Virginia, US

well i would love to see some pics, maybe a 3dmark06 score.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 04-06-2008, 04:07 | posts: 24 | Location: London

cool no probs - am pretty new to this board - whats the easiest way of posting pics on this forum?? My 3Dmark was about 18900 which I ran just now - it was 1900 with my Q6600 @ 3.6 but there were visably less FPS. The opening scene used to top out at 110 FPS but now its like 124-5 FPS! My old 3870X2 + 3870 used to get well over 20k but gameplay was nowhere near as fluid!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
NN1T1NN
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 280 (700/1200)
Processor: Q6600 @ 3.4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Memory: 4gb G.Skill @ 1020mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Sound C
PSU: ThermalTake PurePower 600
Default 04-06-2008, 04:16 | posts: 660 | Location: Virginia, US

the best way of posting pics that i have found is to go make a photobucket account or similar type webpage, then just copy the img link from that into a post here. It is pretty easy. Great 3dmark score man.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 04-06-2008, 04:26 | posts: 24 | Location: London

cheers mate, taking a couple on the phone now - will upload in a minute.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 04-06-2008, 04:42 | posts: 24 | Location: London

well here are the beasts in all their glory - sorry pics are a bit dark will try a couple more

http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/5...2008194vs0.jpg


http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/4...2008196ip3.jpg
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 04-06-2008, 04:43 | posts: 24 | Location: London

woah im sorry these are way too big - apologies!!! EDIT - have just posted the links instead - will resize to a more web friendly resolution in future!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 04-06-2008, 05:06 | posts: 24 | Location: London

here are my current overclock settings, though i hope to go higher! :

http://img362.imageshack.us/img362/6181/desktopnx4.jpg
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
JoPiss
Master Guru
 
JoPiss's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI
Processor: AMDURP
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: THE BEST KIND
Default 04-06-2008, 06:11 | posts: 234

great, spend an extra 600 bucks to get what? 10-15 frames more? WHERE THE HELL DO I GIVE UP MY SOUL!?! It's stupid to sli these things, their already monsters, like you need anymore frames.
If you want, dig deep into your pockets and throw your money at nvidia, but I'd much rather stay sane and go with a 9800gtx or a 3870x2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 04-06-2008, 06:53 | posts: 24 | Location: London

I dont by any means think its worth the money, I definately wouldnt persuade anyone to shell out the extra cash for another if they already had one GX2 (a great card) - but for this build money was no object - if in time and with driver updates I dont think its worth keeping both, I can always sell it! Wish we had the step up program here in the UK though!!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Slam
Ancient Guru
 
Slam's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Processor: i7 4930K 4.6ghz
Mainboard: ASRock X79 Extreme6
Memory: 16g G.SKILL TridentX 2400
Soundcard: Bose Companion 5
PSU: Hiper 880W
Default 04-06-2008, 07:03 | posts: 3,105 | Location: Dallas, TX.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WJLurve View Post
I dont by any means think its worth the money, I definately wouldnt persuade anyone to shell out the extra cash for another if they already had one GX2 (a great card) - but for this build money was no object - if in time and with driver updates I dont think its worth keeping both, I can always sell it! Wish we had the step up program here in the UK though!!
Hey man...don't worry about what "some" people say. If you have the money to spend, and want it, buy it! I think it's great man. Enjoy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
flippin360
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG 9800 GX2 @ 700Mhz
Processor: E8400 @ 4.2Ghz / TR Ultra-120E
Mainboard: Asus P5K Premium
Memory: 4GB OCZ Platinum
Soundcard: Integrated, Bose Companion 2
PSU: OCZ GamerXStream 850W
Default 04-06-2008, 07:48 | posts: 13 | Location: Toronto, Canada

I also noticed a big improvement going from 3.5Ghz Q6600 to 4-4.2Ghz E8400. I'd personally work on getting that cpu higher to maybe 4.2Ghz even if temperature going in mid 60's its alright. From the picture it looks like you're using thermalright ultra extreme heatsink I'd put another fan on it which pushes air out helped me out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 04-06-2008, 19:25 | posts: 24 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slam View Post
Hey man...don't worry about what "some" people say. If you have the money to spend, and want it, buy it! I think it's great man. Enjoy.
Cheers mate - seems to be allot of people on boards in general making slightly aggressive anti GX2 and Quad GX2 posts.......was the reaction the same when a load of people bought 2 ultras when they were released for even more than the GX2??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
dune2
Ancient Guru
 
dune2's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 680 GTX Aqua
Processor: i7 3770
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-I DELUXE
Memory: 2x 4GB Dominator CL8
Soundcard: Mobo Sound
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 04-06-2008, 19:32 | posts: 3,381 | Location: Old Europe

Yeah, the reactions back then were pretty similar. And I think from a commercial perspective th GX2 makes more sense than the Ultra did at any time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 04-06-2008, 19:59 | posts: 24 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by flippin360 View Post
I also noticed a big improvement going from 3.5Ghz Q6600 to 4-4.2Ghz E8400. I'd personally work on getting that cpu higher to maybe 4.2Ghz even if temperature going in mid 60's its alright. From the picture it looks like you're using thermalright ultra extreme heatsink I'd put another fan on it which pushes air out helped me out.

Thanks mate - have tried the 'push pull' combo with the Ultra extreme and didnt notice any difference in temps at all!??

Am having trouble getting stable over 4.1 ghz with this chip - what voltages are you using?? Dont wanna pump too much into it!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
clintonius
Master Guru
 
clintonius's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 8800 GT 512
Processor: Q6600 @2.7 gHz
Mainboard: nForce 680i LT SLI
Memory: DDR2 667 2GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Ultra XVS 600W
Default 04-06-2008, 21:54 | posts: 441

Quote:
Originally Posted by WJLurve View Post
Cheers mate - seems to be allot of people on boards in general making slightly aggressive anti GX2 and Quad GX2 posts.......was the reaction the same when a load of people bought 2 ultras when they were released for even more than the GX2??
I've noticed all kinds of people talking trash about the gx2 and people who buy them. I also noticed a whole lot of the same people eating up the specs that were posted by the first person to set up a thread detailing the numbers his new gx2 pumped out. If they were really so adamantly against the gx2, I doubt they'd waste their time bashing the card and the people who purchase it. People just want to be heard, and it doesn't matter what they're heard saying.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
THEBIG360
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Phantom 670's SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500K@ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Z68XP-UDP3
Memory: 2x4gb HyperX ddr3
Soundcard: X-Fi Blaster fatality pro
PSU: 1000w Coolermaster modu
Default 04-06-2008, 22:16 | posts: 1,216 | Location: Bradford/England

Hi m8 sweet setup
Just wondering do you have a blue led on the end of your card if so is it for the audio becuase i only have one green light.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 04-06-2008, 22:20 | posts: 24 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEBIG360 View Post
Hi m8 sweet setup
Just wondering do you have a blue led on the end of your card if so is it for the audio becuase i only have one green light.
yeah the blue LED comes on when quad SLI is installed - it indicates the primary card in the setup as far as I know....I havent hooked up the audio cable as yet!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Kirkyl
Maha Guru
 
Kirkyl's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTX 260 OC (Core 216)
Processor: Intel Core 2 Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI
Memory: 4GB (4X1GB) OCZ DDR2 6400
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser PC350
PSU: Tagan 800w
Default 04-06-2008, 22:23 | posts: 1,056 | Location: Manchester,UK

Yeah sweet setup mate,nothing like the smell of new toys.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
THEBIG360
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Phantom 670's SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500K@ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Z68XP-UDP3
Memory: 2x4gb HyperX ddr3
Soundcard: X-Fi Blaster fatality pro
PSU: 1000w Coolermaster modu
Default 04-06-2008, 22:25 | posts: 1,216 | Location: Bradford/England

Cheers for that m8. As for the audio my boards spdif connection has 3 prongs and the cable bfg supply has 2 any ideas cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
flippin360
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG 9800 GX2 @ 700Mhz
Processor: E8400 @ 4.2Ghz / TR Ultra-120E
Mainboard: Asus P5K Premium
Memory: 4GB OCZ Platinum
Soundcard: Integrated, Bose Companion 2
PSU: OCZ GamerXStream 850W
Default 04-07-2008, 02:40 | posts: 13 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by WJLurve View Post
Thanks mate - have tried the 'push pull' combo with the Ultra extreme and didnt notice any difference in temps at all!??

Am having trouble getting stable over 4.1 ghz with this chip - what voltages are you using?? Dont wanna pump too much into it!!
This is how much voltage my cpu needs, In bios its higher than what it shows in CPU-Z, the voltages I am telling u are from CPU-Z so in Bios they would be higher.... oh yeah and don't forget to turn on the Vdroop thing so that when cpu is 100% load voltages don't drop.

4.0Ghz 1.36v
4.1Ghz 1.40v
4.2Ghz 1.44v
4.4Ghz 1.52v

At 4.4Ghz I could run 3dmark 2006 and even play crysis for half an hour but it was too hot & high volts so I lowered it to 4.2 for everyday use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEBIG360 View Post
Cheers for that m8. As for the audio my boards spdif connection has 3 prongs and the cable bfg supply has 2 any ideas cheers.
the 2pin goes in the motherboard even tho mobo is 3 pin.... put it in the 2 pins that are together worked for me just make sure you set the spdif to "use as default" in control panel in vista.

Last edited by flippin360; 04-07-2008 at 02:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
THEBIG360
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Phantom 670's SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500K@ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Z68XP-UDP3
Memory: 2x4gb HyperX ddr3
Soundcard: X-Fi Blaster fatality pro
PSU: 1000w Coolermaster modu
Default 04-07-2008, 18:03 | posts: 1,216 | Location: Bradford/England

the 2pin goes in the motherboard even tho mobo is 3 pin.... put it in the 2 pins that are together worked for me just make sure you set the spdif to "use as default" in control panel in vista.[/QUOTE]

Hi m8 thanks for that i connected as you said but im using xp and don't know how to get sound through it is just making a noise like it is tuned wrong lol, Best way i could describe it cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
flippin360
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG 9800 GX2 @ 700Mhz
Processor: E8400 @ 4.2Ghz / TR Ultra-120E
Mainboard: Asus P5K Premium
Memory: 4GB OCZ Platinum
Soundcard: Integrated, Bose Companion 2
PSU: OCZ GamerXStream 850W
Default 04-07-2008, 21:12 | posts: 13 | Location: Toronto, Canada

I put the wire in so that the tiny silver metal thing that is exposed is facing up. I'm not sure how to enable it in XP it might be automatic just check the wire again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
THEBIG360
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Phantom 670's SLI
Processor: Core i5 2500K@ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Z68XP-UDP3
Memory: 2x4gb HyperX ddr3
Soundcard: X-Fi Blaster fatality pro
PSU: 1000w Coolermaster modu
Default 04-07-2008, 21:14 | posts: 1,216 | Location: Bradford/England

Quote:
Originally Posted by flippin360 View Post
I put the wire in so that the tiny silver metal thing that is exposed is facing up. I'm not sure how to enable it in XP it might be automatic just check the wire again.
Lol cheers m8 that did it what a noob i am lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
WJLurve
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 X BFG 9800 GX2 SLI
Processor: E8400 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Striker II Extreme 790i
Memory: 4 Gig Corsair CMX DDR3
Soundcard: Fatal1ty Champion Series
PSU: Tagan 900W Piperock Modular
Default 04-08-2008, 02:00 | posts: 24 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by flippin360 View Post
This is how much voltage my cpu needs, In bios its higher than what it shows in CPU-Z, the voltages I am telling u are from CPU-Z so in Bios they would be higher.... oh yeah and don't forget to turn on the Vdroop thing so that when cpu is 100% load voltages don't drop.

4.0Ghz 1.36v
4.1Ghz 1.40v
4.2Ghz 1.44v
4.4Ghz 1.52v

At 4.4Ghz I could run 3dmark 2006 and even play crysis for half an hour but it was too hot & high volts so I lowered it to 4.2 for everyday use.



the 2pin goes in the motherboard even tho mobo is 3 pin.... put it in the 2 pins that are together worked for me just make sure you set the spdif to "use as default" in control panel in vista.
Am stable at 4027 Mhz 447 FSB after hours of prime, a strange thing though - (CPU-Z) Shows 1.344V - Sandra Shows 1.34V - Everest shows 1.424 even though I had to set it to 1.38 in the bios!
Another thing - my temps are always the same no matter what overclock - about 43 idle and 59 under load - have been reading about some temp reading issues with this new chip and certain motherboards - experienced anything similar?? Not sure which program is giving me reliable readings as the bios shows different voltages to all these programs in voltage monitor...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.