Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Texture filtering - Quality...
Old
  (#1)
deviationer
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default Texture filtering - Quality... - 04-04-2008, 00:20 | posts: 9

What you do run?

For the longest time I have ran High Quality, but is the Quality setting which has the optimization worth it?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Richard_Noggin
Maha Guru
 
Richard_Noggin's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 GT 512MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Mainboard: Abit IP35 Pro
Memory: Super Talent 4GB 4-4-3-5
Soundcard: X-Meridian-Moon HDAM
PSU: PC Power & Cooling
Default 04-04-2008, 00:22 | posts: 1,364 | Location: U.S.

nope
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
deathvirus
Ancient Guru
 
deathvirus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce 870M 6GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 4710HQ
Mainboard: MSI MS1772
Memory: 2*8 GB 1600 MHz LPDDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892, Bose IE2
PSU: MSI 150W Adapter
Default 04-04-2008, 10:21 | posts: 4,498 | Location: Houston, TX

I use Performance with all optimizations turned off ... works best for me ..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Raikku
Master Guru
 
Raikku's Avatar
 
Videocard: POV GTX 280
Processor: Q6600@3.4Ghz+Noctua NH
Mainboard: Abit IP35 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR2 8000Pi 4Gb
Soundcard: Integral Realtek HD
PSU: Cooltek 600w
Default 04-04-2008, 12:45 | posts: 244 | Location: Finland

"Those who know" say that "Quality" is right setting for 3D quality, because High Quality affects more to 2D-image processing, its recommended for graphical work etc.


Thats just what i think(or what i've read).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
And0r
Member Guru
 
And0r's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850
Processor: intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte x68
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Creative X-fi Gamer
PSU: XFX 650W
Default 04-04-2008, 12:51 | posts: 75 | Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Is there any real difference in quality/performance between these two modes quality/high quality?

Andy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Vichello
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-04-2008, 12:58 | posts: n/a

I have High Quality, don't notice any diff when i put it on Quality .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
bug77
Banned
 
Videocard: Palit 8800GT
Processor: Intel E8400 w/ Freezer 7 Pro
Mainboard: Asus P5B-E Plus
Memory: 2x2GB Mushkin DDR2-800
Soundcard: onboard ADI1988A
PSU: Chieftec 620W ATX2.2
Default 04-04-2008, 13:08 | posts: 3,470

In some cases, disabling optimizations will cause a rather big hit on filtering performance. And in some cases, the textures won't look so sharp with optimizations enabled.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
And0r
Member Guru
 
And0r's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850
Processor: intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte x68
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Creative X-fi Gamer
PSU: XFX 650W
Default 04-04-2008, 13:11 | posts: 75 | Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

So the best overal setting for maintaining quality/performance ... would that be the "Quality" setting?

So you only get optimisations with the quality setting not high quality?

Andy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 04-04-2008, 13:31 | posts: 9,282 | Location: UK

I used to run High Quality, then i switched it to Quality and turned the Texture Filtering Anisotropic Samp. On, and also turned On the Texture Filtering Trilinear Optimization, didn't notice any differences at all in the quality, i just got more fps, Fear went up by 7fps for example.

Quote:
Originally Posted by And0r View Post
So the best overal setting for maintaining quality/performance ... would that be the "Quality" setting?

So you only get optimisations with the quality setting not high quality?

Andy
Yes, when set to High Quality, the optimizations are greyed out and set to off, so you cant turn them on.

Last edited by Rich_Guy; 04-04-2008 at 13:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
And0r
Member Guru
 
And0r's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850
Processor: intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte x68
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Creative X-fi Gamer
PSU: XFX 650W
Default 04-04-2008, 13:42 | posts: 75 | Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Sounds good dude. I think I might just do the same thing
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Zer0K3wL
Banned
 
Videocard: gtx 480 850/1700/2000 h2o
Processor: i7 920 c0 @ 3,8 ghz h2o
Mainboard: P6X58D Premium
Memory: 3x 2gb ddr3 1603 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: tx-nr609+S606 HCS3+sub
PSU: Antec TPQ-850
Default 04-04-2008, 15:16 | posts: 3,088

if just got it on default.
high quality does't really make a diference varies on game really.
not like would notice anyway unless you really looked hard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Pelzimus
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GF560Ti OC
Processor: Intel C2Q9540@3,4GHz
Mainboard: ASrock P45XE
Memory: 4GB DDR2-1066MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair 500W
Default 04-04-2008, 16:13 | posts: 74 | Location: Finland

Still many ppl claim to be able to notice difference in IQ when changing drivers from officials to tweaked... LOL
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.