Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Vsync option in Witcher
Old
  (#1)
Rodman
Maha Guru
 
Rodman's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX285 SLI@756-1580-2750
Processor: I7 920@4.0GHZ
Mainboard: EVGA X58 Classified 760
Memory: 6GB Corsair @1650mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000WT
Default Vsync option in Witcher - 03-21-2008, 08:30 | posts: 1,721 | Location: USA

Anyone know how to get Vsync working in this game? No option in game and no luck forcing it in control panel. Pretty cool game, but the tearing sucks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Rodman
Maha Guru
 
Rodman's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX285 SLI@756-1580-2750
Processor: I7 920@4.0GHZ
Mainboard: EVGA X58 Classified 760
Memory: 6GB Corsair @1650mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000WT
Default 03-22-2008, 04:51 | posts: 1,721 | Location: USA

Hello, anyone ever play The Witcher, lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
JC[UK]
Master Guru
 
JC[UK]'s Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GT 540m
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM
Mainboard: Dell XPS 15
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: JBL
PSU: Dell XPS 15
Default 03-22-2008, 11:10 | posts: 154

Hey, i was able to force vsync in the nVidia control panel when i played it but i can't remember what driver set i used cos there's been that many released lately. It might also be a good idea to wait for the witcher enhanced patch to be released before you get too far into the game as it looks like its going to make the game a million times more fun to play than it is now. Info here http://www.thewitcher.com/resources/...ct%20sheet.pdf

Last edited by JC[UK]; 03-22-2008 at 11:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Rodman
Maha Guru
 
Rodman's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX285 SLI@756-1580-2750
Processor: I7 920@4.0GHZ
Mainboard: EVGA X58 Classified 760
Memory: 6GB Corsair @1650mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000WT
Default 03-23-2008, 03:22 | posts: 1,721 | Location: USA

Yea, I believe the 7 series drivers for the Geforce 9 cards support Vsync in Witcher but I'm not messing with them till they support the 8 series cards. Plus I will wait for the patch. I just played the Demo so I will get the full game when the patch and Vsync support become available.

It really tics me off when a dev does not include Vsync in their game. It makes the game look so much better without all the tearing.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
JC[UK]
Master Guru
 
JC[UK]'s Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GT 540m
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM
Mainboard: Dell XPS 15
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: JBL
PSU: Dell XPS 15
Default 03-23-2008, 10:29 | posts: 154

I've just tried the witcher demo and was able to force vsync fine using the new 174.70 drivers in vista x64.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Rodman
Maha Guru
 
Rodman's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX285 SLI@756-1580-2750
Processor: I7 920@4.0GHZ
Mainboard: EVGA X58 Classified 760
Memory: 6GB Corsair @1650mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000WT
Default 03-25-2008, 03:14 | posts: 1,721 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC[UK] View Post
I've just tried the witcher demo and was able to force vsync fine using the new 174.70 drivers in vista x64.
yes I know the 7 series drivers work but will not install them on my 8 series as some people have assorted problems. I will wait till they give us something new for the 8 series cards that are at least made to work with them. Plus the patch sounds like it's worth the wait. When is that patch actually out?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
JC[UK]
Master Guru
 
JC[UK]'s Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GT 540m
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM
Mainboard: Dell XPS 15
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1333 MHz
Soundcard: JBL
PSU: Dell XPS 15
Default 03-25-2008, 09:41 | posts: 154

Patch isn't out until may 16th, so there's a bit of a wait.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 FTW
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 08-16-2009, 04:49 | posts: 7,439 | Location: Canada, Quebec

I know it's a very old thread but anyone experiencing microsutters with forced Vsync? As soon as I lock it at 60 fps with Vsync (tripple buffer or not), it starts to frame skip even if it stays at 60 fps.

Anyone know a possible fix? Unfortunately google got me here lol
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.