Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
High mouse DPI, what's it for?
Old
  (#1)
Xendance
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce 570
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Soundcard: X-FI Platinum+7.1 system
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower
Default High mouse DPI, what's it for? - 03-05-2008, 10:40 | posts: 5,455 | Location: Funland aka Happycamp aka Finland

I've been thinking about this thing a lot, and came into that conclusion that it's actually quite awesome. In gaming that is.
A lot of people seem to think that you adjust the DPI on the fly when you want to look around fast, and tone it down for more precise aiming. But wait, there's more also:

I thought that the software mouse sensitivity is some kind of a multiplier for the actual DPI value of the mouse. Let's say that your sens. ingame is 2,4 and you want to pan your view around by 1920 pixels. Now let's assume that your DPI is 800. 2,4 times 800 = 1920, so the mouse moves to that spot you want. But there's a catch, it only moves there by 2.4 pixel increments, making it impossible for you to aim between those spots.

If you want to aim between those spots (everyone wants to be more precise), you have to tone down the software mouse sens., let's say to about 1,2. Now your view pans around by 1.2 pixel increments, but now you'll notice that your view is panning around too slow, and you have to move your mouse like a maniac.

To compensate this, raise your mouse DPI value. If you want to get to the exact same place as with your old 2,4 sensitivity, you're gonna have to set your mouse DPI value to 1600. Tadaa, now your view pans at a comfortable speed with more precision than before.

This is just something I made up in my mind, I have no idea how it works in reality. But it seems quite rational to me.

I experimented with the DPI setting while playing a game based on Unreal Engine 2.5 tech, with mouse sensitivity set to 25 and 0.75 INGAME.
Obviously with the high sens. I had to tone down my mouse DPI. But this resulted in choppy panning of the sreen:

Note: I exaggerated the values to give you a better idea of the situation

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/b...1-46-27-84.jpg

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/b...1-46-29-31.jpg

The distance between those sights was the minimum distance I could pan my view around. I couldn't aim in the middle at all.

So then I tried to set the mouse sens. to 0.75, which provided me the much needed precision in gaming. But then I also had to move my mouse about 1 meter in order to look around. So I figured that I could compensate this by setting my mouse DPI value to the max setting I could.

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/b...1-48-33-42.jpg

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/b...1-48-31-04.jpg

Well check that out, veeeeery precise aiming and I didn't have to move my mouse around like a maniac. Now the aiming felt much, much more fluid than before.

Thoughts? Ideas? Your own findings?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Repo Man
Maha Guru
 
Repo Man's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD4870 512mb
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 6400+ 3.2gh
Mainboard: Asus M2N
Memory: Kingston Hyper-X 6gb DDR2
Soundcard: Creative SB audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Nexus NX-5000 500W
Default 03-05-2008, 10:58 | posts: 1,789 | Location: Oxford UK

yea thats more or less how ive been using mine and how ive understood it works. i have my mouse tracking set to the max dpi value wich i believe is 1800 or something on my mouse and then i just adjust the actual sensitivity from the ingame settings to my liking.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Xendance
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce 570
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Soundcard: X-FI Platinum+7.1 system
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower
Default 03-05-2008, 11:00 | posts: 5,455 | Location: Funland aka Happycamp aka Finland

Hehe, well then I'm not the only who sees that.
All people I've talked to about this with other people, and every single one said that "it's there so you can adjust the speed of your mouse while playing".
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
TroM
Maha Guru
 
TroM's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD6850 OC
Processor: E6750 @ 3.640 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Memory: A-DATA DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtream Gamer
PSU: OCZ GameXstream 700W
Default 03-05-2008, 14:35 | posts: 1,942

Uh i use a ball mouse and I still own. Good post though.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
tuco
Ancient Guru
 
tuco's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 460's
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xense
PSU: Corsair
Default 03-05-2008, 15:27 | posts: 3,037 | Location: SoL 3

I personally like a high DPI and low in-game sensitivity, better precision. I use 2000 DPI, it slightly varies from game to game but i use around 2.5-4.0 sensitivity. I never change DPI 'on the fly'.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Lun@ticFringe
Newbie
 
Lun@ticFringe's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX295
Processor: i7 920
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: Corsair DDR3 1600 3x2GB
Soundcard: Creative Extreme Gamer
PSU: KINGWIN 1200W
Default 03-05-2008, 17:24 | posts: 10

Increasing the dpi is only half the solution to increased responsiveness,it will not do any good to increase the dpi if windows is only reporting it at 125 MHz.Here is a link which explains it much better than I can.
http://www.xsreviews.co.uk/glossary/...ice-explained/

Here is an additional link to download a program to increase you're rate.
http://files.filefront.com/usbmrs11e.../fileinfo.html

Oh...not recommended to set it to 1000MHz,tends to overload the processor and nullifies any gains you might achieve.I found that 500MHZ is a very good compromise and works well for me.

Last edited by Lun@ticFringe; 03-05-2008 at 17:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
tuco
Ancient Guru
 
tuco's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 460's
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xense
PSU: Corsair
Default 03-05-2008, 17:45 | posts: 3,037 | Location: SoL 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lun@ticFringe View Post
Oh...not recommended to set it to 1000MHz,tends to overload the processor and nullifies any gains you might achieve.I found that 500MHZ is a very good compromise and works well for me.
Ahh the benefits of dual core. 1000 for me, as tuned by mouse software control panel (copperhead) not USB rate etc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Terrorizor
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX260 SC
Processor: Q9650/GTZ
Mainboard: GIGABYTE EP45-UD3R
Memory: 4gb ReaperX-800/4-4-3
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: PC P&C Silencer 750
Default 03-05-2008, 20:51 | posts: 1,898 | Location: United States

on my mx518/am2 system i use 1600dpi and 3 sens. in setpoint, no "on the fly" changing because thats retarded. consistancy brings more enjoyment.

on my intellimouse explorer 3.0/core2 system i just lower sense -1 notch, its a 400dpi mouse.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.