Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Need help with STALKER mods on Steam.
Old
  (#1)
TroM
Maha Guru
 
TroM's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD6850 OC
Processor: E6750 @ 3.640 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Memory: A-DATA DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtream Gamer
PSU: OCZ GameXstream 700W
Default Need help with STALKER mods on Steam. - 02-07-2008, 01:05 | posts: 1,938

I can't to get any STALKER mods to work (yes I start a new game, and I edited the fsgame.ltx file) version is 1.0005 since Steam updates it automatically....

Just wondering if there is anyone playing Stalker on Steam with any mods installed. If so, then where do you extract any mod files? I noticed that there is a "mod" folder in the "Program Files/Steam/steamapps/common/stalker shadow of chernobyl/mods" directory. However if I extract anything there the game fails to launch and causes an engine error.

I also tried extracting to the "Program Files/Steam/steamapps/common/stalker shadow of chernobyl" directory and it causes the same error?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 02-07-2008, 01:17 | posts: 8,110 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by TroM View Post
I can't to get any STALKER mods to work (yes I start a new game, and I edited the fsgame.ltx file) version is 1.0005 since Steam updates it automatically....

Just wondering if there is anyone playing Stalker on Steam with any mods installed. If so, then where do you extract any mod files? I noticed that there is a "mod" folder in the "Program Files/Steam/steamapps/common/stalker shadow of chernobyl/mods" directory. However if I extract anything there the game fails to launch and causes an engine error.

I also tried extracting to the "Program Files/Steam/steamapps/common/stalker shadow of chernobyl" directory and it causes the same error?
You need to create a folder called 'gamedata' in the main directory, then you need to download a programme caled stalker data unpacker and unpack all the compressed .dbx files to this folder before you adjust the fsgame.ltx file, make sure you update first.

You can then copy all the mods to the gamedata folder, just make sure you make a copy of the original gamedata folder straight after extracting the compressed game files so if anything goes wrong you dont need to reextract all the file again as it takes quite a while.

you can find all the rest of the information from the stalker thread, also make sure you install the ' Float32_1.7088b_rev_a ' version of float and not the later version as it doesn't work as well.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
TroM
Maha Guru
 
TroM's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD6850 OC
Processor: E6750 @ 3.640 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Memory: A-DATA DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtream Gamer
PSU: OCZ GameXstream 700W
Default 02-07-2008, 02:41 | posts: 1,938

Thanks for posting, but I don't get what these .dbx files are...

Most of the mods come in a .zip and sometimes all they are (like the trader mod) is just a .ltx script file. Should I just extract the .zip mod file into the gamedata folder I am supposed to make?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 02-07-2008, 02:51 | posts: 8,110 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by TroM View Post
Thanks for posting, but I don't get what these .dbx files are...

Most of the mods come in a .zip and sometimes all they are (like the trader mod) is just a .ltx script file. Should I just extract the .zip mod file into the gamedata folder I am supposed to make?
OK i'll try to explain how it works. When you create a gamedate folder and tell the fsgame.ltx file to look in the gamedata folder by changing the 'false' to 'true' it no longer looks in the stalker game directory for essential files that run the game but instead it starts to look in the gamedata folder which obviously does not contain the essential game files.

The gamefiles are stored in the main directory and are compressed and have the extention .db'x' the 'x' can be a number or a letter such as gamedata.db1 for e.g.

You need to use the 'stalker data unpacker' utility easily found by using google to extract the compressed files to the new folder called gamedata so that after you place mods in that folder and the game runs from the gamedata folder it uses the new modded files along with the original files. If you look at the screenshot I have attached you may understand more clearly.

Most of the texture mods for surfaces, weather etc. need to be placed in this folder and are larger files.

It's all listed in the stalker thread.

Last edited by BlackZero; 02-07-2008 at 02:55.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Erca
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-18-2008, 17:58 | posts: 2

Hey, I have done all of that and I can't play it. I can startup the game but when I go to resume or make a new game, it crashes. I need a little help, please
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 02-18-2008, 19:15 | posts: 8,110 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erca View Post
Hey, I have done all of that and I can't play it. I can startup the game but when I go to resume or make a new game, it crashes. I need a little help, please
After updating and unpacking the datafiles in to the data folder did you make a copy ? If so then rename the original folder something the name the copy gamedata, and then work backwards from there and try to figure out what caused the error, it's quite common to have to redo do it thats why you should always make a copy. I also don't know if that will work with the steam version as I have the normal version.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Erca
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-22-2008, 20:46 | posts: 2

Now I can't get my saves to work. If I load them, they crash the game. Only the auto-saves work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
pkqe33
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 8400
Processor: ADM athlon 64
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: dunno
Default 01-25-2009, 15:50 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
OK i'll try to explain how it works. When you create a gamedate folder and tell the fsgame.ltx file to look in the gamedata folder by changing the 'false' to 'true' it no longer looks in the stalker game directory for essential files that run the game but instead it starts to look in the gamedata folder which obviously does not contain the essential game files.

The gamefiles are stored in the main directory and are compressed and have the extention .db'x' the 'x' can be a number or a letter such as gamedata.db1 for e.g.

You need to use the 'stalker data unpacker' utility easily found by using google to extract the compressed files to the new folder called gamedata so that after you place mods in that folder and the game runs from the gamedata folder it uses the new modded files along with the original files. If you look at the screenshot I have attached you may understand more clearly.

Most of the texture mods for surfaces, weather etc. need to be placed in this folder and are larger files.

It's all listed in the stalker thread.
I maked all this....and it doest work....
i unpacked the data..installed float32 (it slowed my game) i installed 2-3 mods and i start a new game....then i save it and load it...and BUM
Back to directory.... uff..
need some help please


P.D:
   
Reply With Quote
Another thing.
Old
  (#9)
pkqe33
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 8400
Processor: ADM athlon 64
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: dunno
Unhappy Another thing. - 01-26-2009, 22:15 | posts: 3

Hello again.
Today i maked all the things, and now i have a doubt:
I changed the directory when the game have to look for gamefiles, but, i install 1 mod with the smart mod manager, and start a new game, but then it crash!
Then i saw that the gamedata folder where i extracted the parts its...empty...
Only there are some config files, just like when u delete everything.
I tried to do it again, but the same happen...
i dont know what to do....
Please, if some1 can help me...
Tomorrow i will post an images...
Bye.


P.D:
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 01-26-2009, 22:49 | posts: 8,110 | Location: United Kingdom

Trying to use both the mod manager and manually creating the gamedata folder can cause issues, most mod managers keep mod files in a different directory. Also try to use mods released after the most recent stalker update.
   
Reply With Quote
 
another question
Old
  (#11)
pkqe33
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 8400
Processor: ADM athlon 64
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: dunno
Unhappy another question - 01-27-2009, 17:30 | posts: 3

Sorry, but any1 can link me to that " Stalker post" that BlackZero said?

Sorry im new, and i searched for that post, but i only found the Stalker : clear sky thread"
And..the problem continues....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 01-28-2009, 01:11 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Cyberspace

S.T.A.L.K.E.R (released) Part 3
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=235774

S.T.A.L.K.E.R (released) Part 2
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=219684

S.T.A.L.K.E.R (released)
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=218436
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
tehalirigsho
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX460 SC
Processor: E8400 @3+?
Mainboard: GA-965P-DS3 (rev. 3.3)
Memory: 4GB OCZ DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: Silencer 750 Quad
Default 12-25-2009, 00:41 | posts: 267

just got Shadow for $2 on Steam! One issue...

is there any way to make the character movement feel more like Clear Sky??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 12-25-2009, 10:15 | posts: 9,797 | Location: Sweden

Movement?

If so then no, Clear Sky (And probably Call of Pripyat.) uses a technique that makes animations more fluid (FootIK, stepping is more correct, used in Saboteur and Fallout 3 as well to name other examples.)

If it's head bob and camera "lag" then the cam_inert console commands and a mod for head-bobbing might improve things a bit.
(Normally cam_inert is best left at 0 for more responsive camera and mouse movements.)

For other mods I tried Stalker Complete 1.4.3.1 as well a while ago but didn't get far, felt like a reskin of the original game (Using all sorts of FBSBanana resources and mods like Weather Ovehaul, Sk4ce / Float 32 and others like panoramic and so on.) but with minor tweaks and additions, I've probably played out Stalker by now. (Same with Clear Sky, looking forward to Pripyat when it's released in February although I suppose importing the Polish version, as it has English audio, and using a translation mod might be doable as well but that would increase cost and such so I'll wait instead, haha.)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.