Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > General Software and Applications
General Software and Applications Trouble with software/DirectX or other programs like Detonator Destroyer.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Youtube or similar lacking on P3 500 Mhz
Old
  (#1)
M1ckY
Master Guru
 
M1ckY's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX260 Sonic 216SP
Processor: Intel E2160 @ 3Ghz
Mainboard: Abit IP35-E
Memory: 2x1GB OCZ PC6400 @ 416Mhz
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: LC Power Green Power 550W
Default Youtube or similar lacking on P3 500 Mhz - 12-29-2007, 02:04 | posts: 541 | Location: Germany

Hello,

I have an old notebook that I use for writing or browsing the internet. Now I wanted to watch some youtube video and got a slideshow with 4-5 fps. Is this Pentium 3 500 Mhz too slow? But live streams (from eurosport.de for example) work great.

Here are the specs of the notebook:

Model: IBM Thinkpad 570e
Proc: Pentium 3 500 Mhz
Chipset: Intel 440BX
RAM: 192 MB
FSB: 100 Mhz
Video: NeoMagic MagicMedia 256AV (AGP, 2.5 MB SGRAM)
OS: Ubuntu 7.10, a bit optimized for performance.

Well, I think that's all that's important.

Ehm, I'm not sure if I hit the right forum section, if not please accept my apology.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Andrés
Ancient Guru
 
Andrés's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 6950 2Gb
Processor: Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4x1Gb Kingston DDR2 667
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: CM Silent Pro M700
Default 12-29-2007, 04:21 | posts: 4,536 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Have you tried reinstalling the Flash plugin?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 12-29-2007, 15:32 | posts: 13,703 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

My l400 (dell) has alomost the same spec, except for 128mb ram and windows xp on it and flash plays fine. Possibly due to linux compatability issues? Im not sure if it is but im not real linux techy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus 5 Formula
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2133
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/PC350SE
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 12-30-2007, 19:11 | posts: 7,274 | Location: Above Earth in a Big Rocket Ship

Quote:
Originally Posted by aircool View Post
My l400 (dell) has alomost the same spec, except for 128mb ram and windows xp on it and flash plays fine. Possibly due to linux compatability issues? Im not sure if it is but im not real linux techy.
Only linux issues with flash are under X64 configs adobe still never released a X64 FLash Plugin.

Micky, when you first installed did you select GNU Flash Plugin, or the Adobe one? I'd try installing the opposite of which you installed. One is Gnash the other you can just get from the Adobe Site.

I personally use opera on my install, I find it much faster under linux then firefox.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
M1ckY
Master Guru
 
M1ckY's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX260 Sonic 216SP
Processor: Intel E2160 @ 3Ghz
Mainboard: Abit IP35-E
Memory: 2x1GB OCZ PC6400 @ 416Mhz
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: LC Power Green Power 550W
Default 01-01-2008, 21:43 | posts: 541 | Location: Germany

Sorry for not answering some time. I was away a few days.

I now reinstalled flash player but it doesn't work. And I once tried the gnash flash player but it had some major issues on diverse sites. I'll try it once more but I have few hope.

I just had the idea to search for the adobe flash system requirements and found out that on windows it needs 450 Mhz and 128 MB of RAM but on Linux it needs 800 Mhz and 512 MB of RAM. If you ask me they give a **** for linux users and make something that plays flash but is unoptimized and slow. Very sad, maybe gnash works after all.

Anyway thank you all very much!

Edit: So I now installed gnash and it's better. Not really smooth but very watchable. But I allready found some problems with the plugin as newer flash code (parts of flash 8 and flash 9) is not working properly. But I'll use gnash now, it's still better than this slideshow I had.

Thanks again, especially for the idea with gnash.

Last edited by M1ckY; 01-01-2008 at 22:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.