Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
My Opty 180 arrived...Can you convince me to keep it?
Old
  (#1)
FlawleZ
Ancient Guru
 
FlawleZ's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7950 Boost
Processor: Phenom II 980BE @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD70 790FX
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper DDR3 CL6
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: OCZ 850W Modular
Default My Opty 180 arrived...Can you convince me to keep it? - 09-12-2007, 06:27 | posts: 4,263 | Location: San Antonio

I recieved stepping CCBWE 0550XPMW. The CCBWE are generally not good overclockers with the occasional decent chip that does 3Ghz. Well naturally my luck landed me a trash chip. It does about 2.7Ghz max stable, I'm near the limit right now at 2.760. And that's at 1.475 Volts. With my Zalman 9700, I'm seeing as much as 64C at times under load. That's completely unacceptable. It just hits a wall around 2.7 and it doesn't matter how much voltage you run, it BSOD's and won't load Windows.

So, even being slightly pissed, discouraged, disheartened, etc. I ran some benchies to see just how sucky this CPU is. Well, so far I can only manage a 31.500 in SuperPi. I've pulled 7391 in NuclearMC. Haven't 3DMark06 as I don't have it installed but I'm sure it would be less than satisfactory.

Basically, I'm just trying to prod everyone else's opinions, ideas, comments, concerns, etc. I'm 90% leaning towards sending this turd back. I welcome anyone who can provide enough reasons for me to keep it, but as of now I want it out of my system ASAP.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
FlawleZ
Ancient Guru
 
FlawleZ's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7950 Boost
Processor: Phenom II 980BE @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD70 790FX
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper DDR3 CL6
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: OCZ 850W Modular
Default 09-12-2007, 08:21 | posts: 4,263 | Location: San Antonio

Oh yeah, probably the most important thing I forgot entirely. I noticed 0 improvement in BioShock going from my 4000+ to this Opty. You'd think the dual core would help, but all I saw was BioShock sucking up two cores instead of one. I saw no measureable FPS increase whatsoever which only leads me to believe that most games would scale the same given the same setup. Who knows, I doubt I'll keep this thing long enough to find out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ProfBP
Maha Guru
 
ProfBP's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
Processor: i-7 930 stock
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R
Memory: 6GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Extreme Gamer
PSU: TT ToughPower W0128RU 650
Default 09-14-2007, 02:15 | posts: 1,306 | Location: US

If you won't want it, send it back. I love the Opty in my system. I replaced a 3200+ Venice with it (also another very good chip), and ya know what I too saw ZIP when it came to increases in performance. At clock for clock there was just no big difference. At any one time I'm running 32-34 programs in the background, and that never really impacted the performance of my 3200+ much.

The issue is that I just don't much intensive things that require a dual core CPU, and ALL the games I currently run are single core apps! I'm not belittling how cool the Opty is, just stating that I, like you, never saw much of an increase.

Now where the Opty shines is its abili9ty to be easily clocked. I never took my 3200+ beyond 2.3GHZ, just didn't have the cooling to do it, and I know it sound nuts, but it was true. Now my Opty 170, took it up to 2.5GHZ and have been running it there ever since.

But for you Flaws since you have a decent Sandy chip, and you can't get the clock you want out of the Opty and you don't use multi threaded apps much I'd say go back to your Sandy. For me, and a hugely serious over clocker the Opty runs me just fine, but for you, this 180 you have just doesn't seem to be cutting it.

And not to get on a tangent, but what I like about the opty is that its OC friendly to an extent. I run my Opty 170 at 2.5GHZ, and I recently got a better cooling option in the Thermaltake V1 so I took it up to 2.6GHZ last night just to see the difference. I ran 260X10 with a ram divider of I think 333, or 266, the HT multi of 4X, and the voltage still at 1.3 stock and even at those settings I ran Orthos 10 for 45 minuets and ran heavy games benches with AM3 and IL2 '46, not one issue. It was late and I didn't want to leave my PC on, but in running Orthos the highest temp was 45C. I lowered the HT multi down to 3X after reading to do so after going beyond 250 on the FSB, and I ran about a hours worth of Orthos 10, and AM3 benching, no issues and max temp was 44C.

Now I have mu Opty running back down at 2.5GHZ, It likes to flux between 2500MHZ and 2499MHZ (ooo big diff!), and not to sure why that it there, but at 250X10, a ram divider of either 333 and 266, HT multi of 4X, and voltage at 1.3 my HT is at 1000.0, my Ram runs at 208MHZ and I get a rating of about 8749, or 87.49 FPS in AM3.

If I run my 2.6GHZ the HT freg is either 1024, or 789 and my ram runing either 224MHZ or 217MHZ depending if I'm running a 4X multi or a 3X multi. My AM3 ratings go to 8997, or 89.97 FPS. For just a two and a half frame increase its not worth it for me in the loss or over increase in HT. So I'm back down to 2.5GHZ.

If I tried to raise my Venice to 2.4GHZ, it would fail SP2004 (Orthos for single cores) like crazy unless I added in voltage, and I wasn't going to do that when the temps were already started to make me buggy.


So here is where I like my multi. The dual core option is more for bragging rights right now then actual use as none of the games I run are or will be multi threaded. I do have FSX (a dual core candidate, we hope), but it ran like sludge in large cities on my 3200+ at 2.3GHZ and I doubt that at 2.5GHZ I'll see much of a difference.

SO! To wrap over with winding post, I'd say if you want a 3.0GHZ chip, just use your Sandy, and RMA the Opty. Single core CPUs are still the predominate kind in hardware, and 97-99% of the software in use these days is designed to work with only a single core app. Unless you like running your Antivirus, spyware scanner, and playing a game all at the same time , which to me just sounds silly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Finny
Maha Guru
 
Finny's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX260 core 216 soon
Processor: i7 920 @ 4.16GHz w/1.46v
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Micron
Soundcard: Auzentech XPlosion LM4562
PSU: Antec Quattro 850w
Default 09-14-2007, 03:24 | posts: 1,269 | Location: North Dakota, USA

You can always sell it to me.....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
MoosePower
Maha Guru
 
MoosePower's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 770
Processor: Xeon e3 1230 v2
Mainboard: Gigabyte z77x-ud3h
Memory: 32GB GSKill Sniper 1600
Soundcard: Logitech z5300/Integrated
PSU: PC P&C Silencer MKII 750W
Default 09-14-2007, 03:51 | posts: 882 | Location: Seattle, Wa.

I have the 180 also, but my stepping is JH-E6. The max overclock I can get is around 2700MHz. Although I believe it's my motherboards fault... Does anyone have any experience with this stepping?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
wiskerbizkit
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 5850
Processor: Q9400 @3.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
Memory: 2x1gb Gskill ddr2 800
Soundcard: X-fi extreme gamer
PSU: Thermaltake 850w
Default 09-14-2007, 04:01 | posts: 808 | Location: SC

man i think your problem is the 7800, its prolly choking the 180 even at stock speed. especially in bioshock. 2.6+ on a dual core 939 is nothing to shake a stick at. i think you should keep the processer.

Did you install the amd driver/dual core optimizer?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Psychlone
Ancient Guru
 
Psychlone's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon HD5970 Engineering
Processor: i7 3820
Mainboard: ASRock x79 Extreme6/GB
Memory: F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH
Soundcard: Gigaworks S750 7.1ch 700W
PSU: SPH1200
Default 09-14-2007, 05:48 | posts: 3,716 | Location: Searching for more light...

I personally wouldn't have even opened the package if I read CCBWE on the IHS, but again, that's me.
If you're not happy with it, RMA it and chance another one, perhaps with a better stepping this time (I told you your chances of landing a good stepping the first time are low... )
The LCBQ's and LCB9's are running into the 3GHz+ range very nicely and are being warehoused from NJ to CA...newegg usually, and I mean that with a grain of salt, usually ships out decent steppings.

Good luck in whatever you do.

@ Moosepower: JH-E6 isn't really the stepping, per se. What we're all talking about here is the series/date/lot#, etc. of the chip the silicon actually came off...it's imprinted on the IHS right on the top for you to see. If you cleaned off your thermal paste and took a look, you'd see your stepping in all it's glory.

CCB1E and CCBBE are 2 of the best steppings out, but again, the LCBQE and LCB9E are newer but also hitting high overclocks (~ 3GHz+)

Psychlone
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
FlawleZ
Ancient Guru
 
FlawleZ's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7950 Boost
Processor: Phenom II 980BE @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD70 790FX
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper DDR3 CL6
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: OCZ 850W Modular
Default 09-14-2007, 07:50 | posts: 4,263 | Location: San Antonio

I was bidding on a 185 on Ebay a few days back and apparently I have recieved a second chance offer as the original buyer backed out. So, that means I'm offered a 185 with stepping LCB9E 0630BPMW for $125! Looks like they're hitting 3Ghz no problem, some having to run ~1.475, some a bit less. So, that basically means I'm definitely sending my 180 back to NewEgg for a refund and I'll be picking up the 185 instead. That pretty much made my day.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
FlawleZ
Ancient Guru
 
FlawleZ's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7950 Boost
Processor: Phenom II 980BE @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD70 790FX
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper DDR3 CL6
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: OCZ 850W Modular
Default 09-14-2007, 07:54 | posts: 4,263 | Location: San Antonio

On a side note, I've noticed that this chip really is taking heed to the old CPU burn in that is always thrown around. I wasn't even able to POST at or around 2.8Ghz on this chip and I've booted into Windows now at ~2.9Ghz. It seems as if I spent enough time with this chip, it would actually fare as well so long as it keeps "breaking in" at the current rate. I would assume it would stop but I don't know where or what that would be. While it is starting to clock better, it still scales poorly with volts. I'm having to run 1.55 to get it to boot Windows at 2.9Ghz. Obviously not something I want to run 24/7. So its still a for sure thing that this chip is outta here as soon as my new one arrives.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
FlawleZ
Ancient Guru
 
FlawleZ's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7950 Boost
Processor: Phenom II 980BE @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD70 790FX
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper DDR3 CL6
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: OCZ 850W Modular
Default 09-14-2007, 08:01 | posts: 4,263 | Location: San Antonio

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiskerbizkit View Post
man i think your problem is the 7800, its prolly choking the 180 even at stock speed. especially in bioshock. 2.6+ on a dual core 939 is nothing to shake a stick at. i think you should keep the processer.

Did you install the amd driver/dual core optimizer?
I installed the AMD Dual Core Optimizer and it actually did absolutely nothing for my performance. I was already running both cores under multithreaded applications such as BioShock so I didn't really see how the optimizer would do much more.

And WTF are you talking about my 7800GTX "choking" this 180? Sure, an 8800GTX would give me more FPS, but with my clock speeds my 7800GTX performs right around 7900GTX performance. I'm maxing every game available at atleast 1280X1024, so I don't necessarily see how my card is "choking" the 180. FYI this 180 is just plain slow in FPU and ALU even when compared to my 4000+ @ 3.2Ghz.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
wiskerbizkit
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 5850
Processor: Q9400 @3.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
Memory: 2x1gb Gskill ddr2 800
Soundcard: X-fi extreme gamer
PSU: Thermaltake 850w
Default 09-14-2007, 23:36 | posts: 808 | Location: SC

well dude you never mentioned your 4000 was @3.2ghz dont jump down my ****ing throat. and yeah even at 550/1700 a 7800gtx barely keeps up with a stock 7950gt. sell the opty and go buy a 320m 8800. i'd still rather a dual core@2.5 then a single @3.2.

Last edited by wiskerbizkit; 09-14-2007 at 23:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Reality|Bites
Ancient Guru
 
Reality|Bites's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI Asus/eVGA 8800Ultra/B
Processor: C2D E8600 @ 4.4Ghz 1.42v
Mainboard: eVGA Nforce 680i
Memory: 2 X 1GB OCZ DDR2 6400 Fle
Soundcard: Creative Inspire 5300/M-A
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 750W
Default 09-14-2007, 23:44 | posts: 5,038 | Location: Scotland

So is Bioshock more of a GPU intensive game then?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
wiskerbizkit
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 5850
Processor: Q9400 @3.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
Memory: 2x1gb Gskill ddr2 800
Soundcard: X-fi extreme gamer
PSU: Thermaltake 850w
Default 09-15-2007, 00:00 | posts: 808 | Location: SC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reality|Bites View Post
So is Bioshock more of a GPU intensive game then?
I'm pretty sure it is.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
rl66
Master Guru
 
rl66's Avatar
 
Videocard: Aspeed + Tesla M2090
Processor: Xeon X5680 x2
Mainboard: Asus Z8PE D12
Memory: 48 Go RDIMM
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair AX1200 moded
Default 09-15-2007, 00:49 | posts: 416 | Location: France

as i alway said "stepping is more important than commercial name"...

so now you got it what can you do to get descent OC lol

-Opty doesn't need massive overvolt to get high in fact the heating from overvolt make it slower than it can do... (keep in mind that Opty are more quality manufactured due to more strick norm) ex: i have hit 3.0ghz in lower voltage than my 2.8ghz previous try...

-don't play too much with internal coef (it heat much more)

-try to cool it better (cooler it get better it is)

For bioshock it is normal... this game use more the GPU than the CPU
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
MoosePower
Maha Guru
 
MoosePower's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 770
Processor: Xeon e3 1230 v2
Mainboard: Gigabyte z77x-ud3h
Memory: 32GB GSKill Sniper 1600
Soundcard: Logitech z5300/Integrated
PSU: PC P&C Silencer MKII 750W
Default 09-15-2007, 07:24 | posts: 882 | Location: Seattle, Wa.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psychlone View Post
I personally wouldn't have even opened the package if I read CCBWE on the IHS, but again, that's me.
If you're not happy with it, RMA it and chance another one, perhaps with a better stepping this time (I told you your chances of landing a good stepping the first time are low... )
The LCBQ's and LCB9's are running into the 3GHz+ range very nicely and are being warehoused from NJ to CA...newegg usually, and I mean that with a grain of salt, usually ships out decent steppings.

Good luck in whatever you do.

@ Moosepower: JH-E6 isn't really the stepping, per se. What we're all talking about here is the series/date/lot#, etc. of the chip the silicon actually came off...it's imprinted on the IHS right on the top for you to see. If you cleaned off your thermal paste and took a look, you'd see your stepping in all it's glory.

CCB1E and CCBBE are 2 of the best steppings out, but again, the LCBQE and LCB9E are newer but also hitting high overclocks (~ 3GHz+)

Psychlone
Yah, I didn't really think that was the stepping, but it's what everest told me it was. I just got a new motherboard off ebay, so I'll check it then. It would be a little tedious to take off my geninii and 120mm fans just to check on the stepping.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
FlawleZ
Ancient Guru
 
FlawleZ's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7950 Boost
Processor: Phenom II 980BE @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD70 790FX
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper DDR3 CL6
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: OCZ 850W Modular
Default 09-15-2007, 07:49 | posts: 4,263 | Location: San Antonio

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiskerbizkit View Post
well dude you never mentioned your 4000 was @3.2ghz dont jump down my ****ing throat. and yeah even at 550/1700 a 7800gtx barely keeps up with a stock 7950gt. sell the opty and go buy a 320m 8800. i'd still rather a dual core@2.5 then a single @3.2.
Well its only been in my profile since geez, IDK... since I've had this chip?

The 7800GTX is on average about 5% faster than the 7950GT. Which means its actually the other way around. But, so what? Your card is slower than a 7950GX2 half the time, but does it have anything to do with anything? Of course not.

Point is, I never made any reference to my system not running anything well. You just assumed that I was complaining about it running sluggish when in fact, all I was saying was I didn't see any excess improvement in my FPS going from my single core to a dual core. Basically, I'm still average 30-45 FPS in BioShock everything maxed 1280X1024.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
ArCElM
Banned
 
Videocard: Gigabyte WF 680 x2 SLi
Processor: Intel 3570K @ 4.5 | H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB Crucial Ballistix E
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair AX750W Gold
Default 09-16-2007, 08:50 | posts: 1,434 | Location: The Octagon

This is all interesting to me because I am in the sae boat, I cannot afford a System overhaul, so I am looking at the Opty Dual Cores.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
robotman
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD7970 1150/6400(R9280X)
Processor: Fx8350@4.8ghz Antec 620
Mainboard: Crosshair 5 formula-Z
Memory: 12gb ripjawsX & Avexir
Soundcard: ac 850 realtek and creati
PSU: Seasonic 660 gold
Default 09-16-2007, 11:16 | posts: 894

my chip is also ccbwe and i get 2.8ghz on 1.6 vcore max temp 45c
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Mannerheim
Ancient Guru
 
Mannerheim's Avatar
 
Videocard: VTX3D R9 280x
Processor: AMD FX8150 ~4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A99X Evo
Memory: Kingston 2x4GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: X-fi Xtreme Gamer 5.1
PSU: Chieftec 700W
Default 09-16-2007, 11:58 | posts: 4,561 | Location: Finland / Helsinki

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reality|Bites View Post
So is Bioshock more of a GPU intensive game then?
NO. I didnt see any difference with Pentium D820 and E4400. both stock and difference is huge in many games. But not in BIOSHOCK.


   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.