Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !
Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D ! Please join the Folding@Home Research Program, join team Guru3D. Let's rank the charts high and fight disease !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
happy
Maha Guru
 
happy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia 9400GT
Processor: i5 750 @ Stock
Mainboard: GA-P55-UD4
Memory: 4GB @ 8-8-8-24 @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Rubbish
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 08-14-2009, 15:37 | posts: 929 | Location: UK

thats only on the linux smp client as far as im aware
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 08-25-2009, 06:14 | posts: 1,227 | Location: Iowa

If I were to sli my 260 would I be able to expect my gpu ppd to double? I really just can't live with you guys producing more than double my ppd!

Last edited by must_kill_ati; 08-25-2009 at 06:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 08-25-2009, 07:49 | posts: 13,590 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

You don't really SLI them for folding, they'd be individual cores.

You may not double them but it wouldn't be far off.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
yoyo69
Master Guru
 
yoyo69's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 Sli
Processor: i7 970 Do @3.2ghz
Mainboard: MSI X58A-GD65
Memory: 12gig G.Skill Ripjaw
Soundcard: SB Recon3D/TRITON AX PRO
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 08-25-2009, 15:18 | posts: 317 | Location: Aylesbury

Sli/Crossfire has to be disabled for folding on two GPU's, if they are enabled then only one instance of F@H can be run.
If your OS is XP then you will double your PPD with two 260's if you are running Vista then the primary GPU will produce a few hundred less PPD (Aero uses some GPU resources).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 08-26-2009, 22:48 | posts: 17,984 | Location: Coldwells,UK

Uhmm i'v got sli on and both cards are running

anyways this what fahmon saying

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
yoyo69
Master Guru
 
yoyo69's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 Sli
Processor: i7 970 Do @3.2ghz
Mainboard: MSI X58A-GD65
Memory: 12gig G.Skill Ripjaw
Soundcard: SB Recon3D/TRITON AX PRO
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 08-27-2009, 16:59 | posts: 317 | Location: Aylesbury

They must of changed some thing some where because every forum/guide says to disable SLI/Crossfire.
Nice ppd what OC are you running on the GT's?

Last edited by yoyo69; 08-27-2009 at 17:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
DSK
Banned
 
Videocard: HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
Processor: E6300 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte - GA-EP43T-UD3L
Memory: Sector Five @ 1333CAS7
Soundcard: Realtek 81xx
PSU: Silverstone 500w
Default 08-27-2009, 21:30 | posts: 17,984 | Location: Coldwells,UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo69 View Post
They must of changed some thing some where because every forum/guide says to disable SLI/Crossfire.
Nice ppd what OC are you running on the GT's?
Just 650/1700

but i put sli off and it lowers ppd to 8.9k hmm....somethings up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
yoyo69
Master Guru
 
yoyo69's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 Sli
Processor: i7 970 Do @3.2ghz
Mainboard: MSI X58A-GD65
Memory: 12gig G.Skill Ripjaw
Soundcard: SB Recon3D/TRITON AX PRO
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 08-28-2009, 11:52 | posts: 317 | Location: Aylesbury

I think my single core cpu is holding mine back a little.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 09-12-2009, 07:09 | posts: 1,227 | Location: Iowa

My ppd have dropped from 8k ish to 6600 after moving to Windows 7 rc x64 from Vista Home Premium x64. Any clues? (strictly dealing with gpu client)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
yoyo69
Master Guru
 
yoyo69's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 Sli
Processor: i7 970 Do @3.2ghz
Mainboard: MSI X58A-GD65
Memory: 12gig G.Skill Ripjaw
Soundcard: SB Recon3D/TRITON AX PRO
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 09-12-2009, 16:29 | posts: 317 | Location: Aylesbury

I've not used Win 7 so am not sure if it would make a difference.
Are you sure it is not just different WU's that have caused the change?

Last edited by yoyo69; 09-12-2009 at 17:48.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#61)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 09-12-2009, 17:45 | posts: 1,227 | Location: Iowa

That's a valid question. I'm not sure. I'll have to give the build some more time and see how it averages.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
apintojr
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI TwinFroz 560ti 2gb
Processor: Intel i7 930@3.8Ghz H100i
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A UD3R
Memory: 6GB OCZ 1448MHZ
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: TT Toughpower 850
Default 09-18-2009, 01:34 | posts: 1,161 | Location: NJ-USA

new to folding. started using my spare rig do fold.

its a E8400 @ stock settings, 1G ram and 256 onboard GPU. usuing cpu client. finished 2 WU and have 1391pts. is this anygood or should i look into throwing a GPU in there and using the GPU client?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
yoyo69
Master Guru
 
yoyo69's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 Sli
Processor: i7 970 Do @3.2ghz
Mainboard: MSI X58A-GD65
Memory: 12gig G.Skill Ripjaw
Soundcard: SB Recon3D/TRITON AX PRO
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 09-18-2009, 13:03 | posts: 317 | Location: Aylesbury

If you have a spare GPU then that would make quite a difference to your ppd.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 11-02-2009, 00:43 | posts: 1,227 | Location: Iowa

*removed after the crack wore off*

Last edited by must_kill_ati; 11-02-2009 at 00:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 11-02-2009, 15:13 | posts: 1,227 | Location: Iowa

Quote:
Originally Posted by must_kill_ati View Post
My ppd have dropped from 8k ish to 6600 after moving to Windows 7 rc x64 from Vista Home Premium x64. Any clues? (strictly dealing with gpu client)
There's no doubt that *my* experience with Win 7 and folding is not up to par with Vista and folding. It's been a few weeks now, and there's a distinct difference. Now, I don't want to blame this on Win 7 just yet...it could be that I don't have it tweaked out as well as I did Vista. Using the same programs in the same manner...Vista gave me about 1500-2000 more PPD than my RC Win7 is.

Sad thing is, even if poor performance with folding stays as it is, I will never go back to Vista after using 7.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
happy
Maha Guru
 
happy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia 9400GT
Processor: i5 750 @ Stock
Mainboard: GA-P55-UD4
Memory: 4GB @ 8-8-8-24 @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Rubbish
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 11-02-2009, 15:15 | posts: 929 | Location: UK

go RTM it fixed my problems with ppd, what it is, aero uses few more resources than what vista did and so it doesn't fully utilise the card, but goin to RTM fixed quite alot of issues for me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Athlonite
Maha Guru
 
Athlonite's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 HD7850 1GHz/1300MHz
Processor: FX8320 / 3700MHz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: DDR3 Corsair Vengence LP
Soundcard: SB XFi Audio PCIe
PSU: SilverStone ST75F-P 750W
Default 11-16-2009, 03:25 | posts: 831 | Location: Hawkes Bay

when it supports ati cross fire out of the box i'll start using it untill then i can't be botherd with all of the messing around i'd have to do just to get it working on windows 7 x64 with 2 ati HD2600XT cards
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 660 Ti | X270OC
Processor: I7 3770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1866
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 11-16-2009, 16:23 | posts: 4,171 | Location: Oakland, CA, US

uhh, what do i do if i want to stop folding on one PC? do i just shut off the client, or is there anything i need to upload or do?

i'm still folding on my PC at home, its just that folding on my workstation is getting abit annoying since it shuts off every time i use remote desktop.




EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by must_kill_ati View Post
My ppd have dropped from 8k ish to 6600 after moving to Windows 7 rc x64 from Vista Home Premium x64. Any clues? (strictly dealing with gpu client)
do you by chance have windows aero on? this uses the GPU, but if you also had it on in vista than i have no idea. you might want to turn it off just for a little extra performance, though.

Last edited by MM10X; 11-16-2009 at 16:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 11-16-2009, 17:03 | posts: 1,227 | Location: Iowa

@ MM10X

Without getting too detailed I'll tell ya', it's really weird. Keep in mind, I'm still on the beta of Win 7.

If I set all visual effects to thier lowest (or off), I consistantly get about 500 less ppd than if they were on. If I do that in conjunction with aero turned off, I lose 700ish ppd. Yes, I lose ppd by turning off graphics options... who'da thunk it?

I will only fall to around 5k- 5.5k PPD avg. if I were to play Civilization 4 nonstop with it running in the background.

Now for the kicker. If I leave my machine on overnight with nothing else happening except folding, I'll hit 6000-6500ish. If I do the same thing, but leave my tv tuner card going... ppd rises to nearly 7k.

I can't say with any certainty, but I do believe that it is simply that the beta version is lacking something. My gut tells me that if I were to go retail my PPD would rise to normal.

Last edited by must_kill_ati; 11-16-2009 at 17:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 660 Ti | X270OC
Processor: I7 3770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1866
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 11-16-2009, 17:15 | posts: 4,171 | Location: Oakland, CA, US

Quote:
Originally Posted by must_kill_ati View Post
@ MM10X

Without getting too detailed I'll tell ya', it's really weird. Keep in mind, I'm still on the beta of Win 7.

If I set all visual effects to thier lowest (or off), I consistantly get about 500 less ppd than if they were on. If I do that in conjunction with aero turned off, I lose 700ish ppd. Yes, I lose ppd by turning off graphics options... who'da thunk it?

I will only fall to around 5k- 5.5k PPD avg. if I were to play Civilization 4 nonstop with it running in the background.

Now for the kicker. If I leave my machine on overnight with nothing else happening except folding, I'll hit 6000-6500ish. If I do the same thing, but leave my tv tuner card going... ppd rises to nearly 7k.

I can't say with any certainty, but I do believe that it is simply that the beta version is lacking something. My gut tells me that if I were to go retail my PPD would rise to normal.
yeah, i think the beta version is just too unstable and erratic in performance.

but still, strange issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
Roostitup
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 275 SLI 713/1584/1242
Processor: Intel Quad Q9450 @ 3.2ghz
Mainboard: EVGA 790i Ultra
Memory: Viper DDR3 1600 4GB
Soundcard: Creative X-FI w/ 5.1
PSU: 1000w Antec Quattro
Default 11-16-2009, 19:31 | posts: 88

Quote:
Originally Posted by must_kill_ati View Post
@ MM10X

Without getting too detailed I'll tell ya', it's really weird. Keep in mind, I'm still on the beta of Win 7.

If I set all visual effects to thier lowest (or off), I consistantly get about 500 less ppd than if they were on. If I do that in conjunction with aero turned off, I lose 700ish ppd. Yes, I lose ppd by turning off graphics options... who'da thunk it?

I will only fall to around 5k- 5.5k PPD avg. if I were to play Civilization 4 nonstop with it running in the background.

Now for the kicker. If I leave my machine on overnight with nothing else happening except folding, I'll hit 6000-6500ish. If I do the same thing, but leave my tv tuner card going... ppd rises to nearly 7k.

I can't say with any certainty, but I do believe that it is simply that the beta version is lacking something. My gut tells me that if I were to go retail my PPD would rise to normal.
That's a really interesting issue. I switched over from Vista 64 to win 7 64 also, but never noticed a difference. I'm going to monitor my PPD a little better and see if I notice an obvious lack of PPD, too. I know forsure that my CPU PPD is right on par with Vista, but the GPU clients may actually be lower like you are experiencing. My GPU PPD jumps around a lot more than my CPU with both Vista and 7 so it may be hard to monitor and compare. With Vista I got on average about 5,500-6,000 PPD per GPU core. I'll let you know as soon as I figure something out, if it turns out that I may be losing PPD also than it may not be just the RC.

*edit*
After playing around and monitoring I can safely say that I do not have a decrease in PPD in Win 7 retail, but it seems as though the GPU clients may use more of the CPU in Win 7 than Vista. In Win 7 I noticed more influence on on GPU clients when running 1 or 2 SMP clients which is why I was noticing more fluctuating in my GPU PPD.

I fixed this by setting the priority higher for all my GPU clients while keeping both SMP clients on idle. My GPU cores now stay consistent, but my CPU folding may be very slightly slowed. Figured I could sacrifice a little CPU PPD

I don't get any PPD changes when going from Basic to Aero and vice versa.

Have you tried setting your priority higher on the GPU clients? Maybe something is interfering with the folding?

Last edited by Roostitup; 11-17-2009 at 03:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 11-30-2009, 19:31 | posts: 1,227 | Location: Iowa

Is there any way to control what type of project the Gpu client downloads? I notice a big difference in points depending on the type and would love to figure that out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 11-30-2009, 20:56 | posts: 13,590 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

Simply put, no as that'd be cheating the points system
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 11-30-2009, 21:36 | posts: 1,227 | Location: Iowa

Quote:
Originally Posted by aircool View Post
Simply put, no as that'd be cheating the points system
Oops!

Please excuse the question to naievity rather than maliciousness. I was hoping to hear someone tell me of some iPhone app that quadruples my output or something...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 11-30-2009, 22:00 | posts: 13,590 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

Quote:
Originally Posted by must_kill_ati View Post
Oops!

Please excuse the question to naievity rather than maliciousness. I was hoping to hear someone tell me of some iPhone app that quadruples my output or something...
Meh, not sure if its still applicable but you could try selecting yes for experimental or advanced WU's (forgotten the term) but this used to give the odd SSE2 WU back in the old days with a P4, made a hell of a difference then.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
faq, folding, guide, guru3d, information

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.