Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
help! Computer wont turn on sometimes
Old
  (#1)
Dancinpuck
Member Guru
 
Dancinpuck's Avatar
 
Videocard: evga 7800GTX/P2-N527-AX/256mb
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 3800+ Oc'ed @2.25Ghz
Mainboard: DFI Lan Party NF4Ultra-D
Memory: OCZ DDR400 2x1Gb 3-4-3-8
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec Trupower Trio 550 watt
Default help! Computer wont turn on sometimes - 07-11-2007, 14:35 | posts: 76 | Location: Rocket City, AL

I've been recently having this problem with a computer I built over a year ago now. The computer specs are listed in my profile.

SO what happens is when i power the computer down and come back to turn it on after a while, say at least a couple hours later and I press the power button and the power "flashes on" for about a second then turns off. Not even enough time to post, literally a second.

If I then flip the toggle switch on the PSU "off" for about 10 seconds then flip it back on, wait ten more seconds, then press power again it does the same thing again. I've tried unplugging it all together then plugging it back in and the same the result.

The only way to get it to turn on is to keep repeating the steps with the toggle switch over and over until it EVENTUALLY starts. (After anywhere between 3 to 15 tries)

Any insight into what might be the problem piece would be nice. I'm thinking maybe either a wiring problem with the case or the PSU

thanks guys

forgot this wasnt listed:
Case is an: Antec P160WF

Last edited by Dancinpuck; 07-11-2007 at 14:37.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
morfeus02
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD4870 1GB GDDR5
Processor: Intel Q8200@3Ghz- H2O -
Mainboard: Asus P5N-D
Memory: 8GB DDR2 800@900mhz
Soundcard: Audigy SE@X-fi softmod
PSU: TT ToughPower 600w 48A
Default 07-11-2007, 14:50 | posts: 1,460 | Location: Italy

had your same problem with the same dfi board

RMA'd it and got this one+ some ram
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
smnoamls
Maha Guru
 
smnoamls's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6950 2gb Dirt3 @6970 bios
Processor: i5 2500k@4.3
Mainboard: Gigabyte z68x ud3
Memory: 8GB gskill
Soundcard: x-fi xtremeGamer
PSU: 620 thermalte PSU
Default 07-11-2007, 14:56 | posts: 1,427 | Location: israel

had the same problem twice ,but not with that board.
with me it was bad wiring from the psu ( first time ) and second time it was overheating.

Try to reconnect the mobo to the psu firmly, and also try to make sure its well ventilated. If nothing works, as the man said, rma the mobo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Chock
Maha Guru
 
Chock's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x670GTX @40"+26" Samsung
Processor: i7-2600K / i7 950
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 EVO
Memory: 16GB 1600 CL9
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality
PSU: Enermax Rev 1050W
Default 07-11-2007, 15:13 | posts: 1,516 | Location: Berlin, Germany

- check on temps
- swap psu with an old one? or with a friend and find out what part it is
- cool the pc better
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Dancinpuck
Member Guru
 
Dancinpuck's Avatar
 
Videocard: evga 7800GTX/P2-N527-AX/256mb
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 3800+ Oc'ed @2.25Ghz
Mainboard: DFI Lan Party NF4Ultra-D
Memory: OCZ DDR400 2x1Gb 3-4-3-8
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec Trupower Trio 550 watt
Default 07-11-2007, 16:50 | posts: 76 | Location: Rocket City, AL

thanks for your help guys, im gonna try a old PSU first to make sure thats not it. because I really dont want to have to RMA the mobo if i dont need to. Thats a lot of work id like to avoid if i can....hopefully
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
TiberiusJonez
Newbie
 
TiberiusJonez's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800GTS 640MB OCed 625/925(1850)
Processor: C2D E6600 2.4 @ 3.3 1.392 vcore
Mainboard: ASUS P5N-E SLI 650i
Memory: 2X1024 OCZ Plat Rev2@440 mhz
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2
PSU: Antec TruePower Trio 550W v2.2
Default 07-12-2007, 06:44 | posts: 21 | Location: Bloomington, MN

90% chance its your PSU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
BaDmOfO
Maha Guru
 
BaDmOfO's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x Evga sc GTX 780
Processor: i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe gen 3
Memory: 16g corsair vengeance
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 07-12-2007, 07:04 | posts: 1,401 | Location: Peoria,IL

Crazy thing is.. my antec 550 trupower2.0 did the same thing. It got to where I would have to flip the switch in the back after I powered down, let it sit for a good ten - fifteen minutes. It would then power up everytime. That worked for a month or two.... I'm sad to tell you, but your psu is dying.. it may live for a couple months more, or it may die tomorrow. I would strongly suggest replacing it asap.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Dancinpuck
Member Guru
 
Dancinpuck's Avatar
 
Videocard: evga 7800GTX/P2-N527-AX/256mb
Processor: AMD Athlon X2 3800+ Oc'ed @2.25Ghz
Mainboard: DFI Lan Party NF4Ultra-D
Memory: OCZ DDR400 2x1Gb 3-4-3-8
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec Trupower Trio 550 watt
Default 07-12-2007, 23:04 | posts: 76 | Location: Rocket City, AL

thanks guys
ive put in an RMA request for Antec and DFI so ill be shipping 'em out tomorrow

thanks again for the help
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.