Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Vista: "Display Driver nvlddmkm stopped responding, has successfully recovered"
Old
  (#1)
NeoElNino
Maha Guru
 
NeoElNino's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX460 Temporary
Processor: Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.SKILL DDR3@1600
Soundcard: Logitech 5.1 | 400W | THX
PSU: Ultra X3 850W|Modular|64A
Default Vista: "Display Driver nvlddmkm stopped responding, has successfully recovered" - 06-30-2007, 04:23 | posts: 970 | Location: Canada

hey guys, I was running fine with the 158.24 till recently when i decided to install the 162.15 for Windows Vista.

I used Driver Cleaner Professional Edition and Driver Cleaner from GURU to clean all files before the installation of the new driver (as usual).

After installing the new driver, upon each startup of Windows Vista i get the following error:

" Display Driver nvlddmkm stopped responding, has successfully recovered "

Thinking it was the drivers, I uninstalled again using the usual way (cleaning) then reinstalling the 158.24 but now it seem the error does not go..

anyway of fixing this problem? is it related to the drivers?



Edit**********************

SOLUTION:

ok guys Microsoft finally admits that this error is due to crapy Vista. You will need to download the following KB released just couple of days ago to hotfix this issue:

RELEASE DATE: May 21, 2008

DOWNLOAD:

Update for Windows Vista 32bits >>>

Update for Windows Vista 64bits >>>

LINK: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/938194

According to Microsoft, KB938194 will resolve the following problems:
"The screen may go blank when you try to upgrade the video driver.
The computer stops responding, and you receive a "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered" error message.
The computer stops responding or restarts unexpectedly when you play video games or perform desktop operations.

The Diagnostic Policy Service (DPS) stops responding when the computer is under heavy load or when very little memory is available. This problem prevents diagnostics from working.
The screen goes blank after an external display device that is connected to the computer is turned off.
There are stability issues with some graphics processing units (GPUs). These issues could cause GPUs to stop responding (hang).
Visual appearance issues occur when you play graphics-intensive games.
You experience poor playback quality when you play HD DVD disks or Blu-ray disks on a large monitor.
Applications that load the Netcfgx.dll component exit unexpectedly.
Windows Calendar exits unexpectedly after you create a new appointment, create a new task, and then restart the computer.
Internet Connection Sharing stops responding after you upgrade a computer that is running Microsoft Windows XP to Windows Vista and then restart the computer.
The Printer Spooler service stops unexpectedly.
You receive a "Stop 0x0000009F" error when you put the computer to sleep while a Point-to-Point Protocol (PPP) connection is active."


Last edited by NeoElNino; 05-23-2008 at 02:57.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
TheVirus
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3R Rev2
Memory: 2GB G.Skill DD2-800
Soundcard: Onboard / Logitech Z680
PSU: Antec TruePower Trio
Default 07-01-2007, 07:00 | posts: 25 | Location: USA

I got the same error with Lost Planet, running 158.24. Not sure what to do about that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
dabrooks
Master Guru
 
dabrooks's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX-560 TI
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000w Corsair HX
Default 07-01-2007, 17:55 | posts: 303 | Location: St Louis, MO

Try a system restore to immediately before the 162.15 install. I've always found system restore to much more reliable when backing off from a problematic software install.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Vinnie
Ancient Guru
 
Vinnie's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x AMD R9 290X
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1020W
Default 07-01-2007, 18:13 | posts: 7,471 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheVirus View Post
I got the same error with Lost Planet, running 158.24. Not sure what to do about that.
Is the computer in your sig your current computer?

If so, use the drivers that are made for your computer. Link.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
TheVirus
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3R Rev2
Memory: 2GB G.Skill DD2-800
Soundcard: Onboard / Logitech Z680
PSU: Antec TruePower Trio
Default 07-01-2007, 18:40 | posts: 25 | Location: USA

No, I need to fix that. The sig is incorrect.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
drumthrasher109
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 4850 512MB
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3700+
Mainboard: FIC KTBC51G
Memory: 2048MB (512MBx4) DDR400 P
Soundcard: Onboard (Realtek ALC880)
PSU: Maddog 480watt
Default 07-01-2007, 23:14 | posts: 68

Same thing for me, but right when I start a race in NASCAR Sim Racing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Breathless
Master Guru
 
Breathless's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTX280 XXX 756C/2700M
Processor: Intel QX9650 @ 4GHZ 1.38V
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4X2GB G.Skill DDR2 1000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX2
PSU: Antec Signature 850W
Default 07-02-2007, 17:00 | posts: 199 | Location: Long Island NY

I had this problem for a while and quite repititiously. I do not have it anymore.

In my opinion, it is one of two things based on my experience.

Either:

1) You are overclocking and your Core or Memory clocks are too high

Or

2) Your game files are corrupt and need to be reinstalled. I was getting this error constantly in CS Source and my game kept ending.

OR a distant third, your graphics drivers or one of your other Nvidia drivers are corrupt.

I keep my games on a seperate partition (hopefully you do too), so All I did was format my games drive, then restored my games from a previous acronis backup. Chkdsk, PerfectDisk Defrag, problem solved. I am currently using the 160.04 drivers for Vista X64 and experience no problems whatsoever now, except for the occasional slowdown with my MSI 8800GTS during FEAR, which I have also helped drastically by doing some system tweaking (IE: disabling a bunch of system services and tweaking my HD settings with TweakVI). Now it takes much longer for the slowdown to occur.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
NeoElNino
Maha Guru
 
NeoElNino's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX460 Temporary
Processor: Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.SKILL DDR3@1600
Soundcard: Logitech 5.1 | 400W | THX
PSU: Ultra X3 850W|Modular|64A
Default 07-02-2007, 23:43 | posts: 970 | Location: Canada

actually, the error start occurring after I just installed ANY new driver and rebooted the machine (there is nothing corrupted). I get " Display Driver nvlddmkm stopped responding, has successfully recovered " not even within games but after the Vista "Welcome" screen fades away and the sidebar loads..

I think its a problem with the Forceware driver... i also got this error in Colin Mcrae DiRT.

Right now I donno what happened or did (perhaps after i ran the DirectX 9 June Update) -> I am not getting anymore this error (been 2-3 days)

I am back to 158.25 (Vista) and Oblivion(medium quality) runs fine
Also BF2 (max details) and BF2142 (max details) run great with no hickups or FPS drop.

I think the 158.25 has the closest performance i got to WIndows XP 160.3 driver..

Last edited by NeoElNino; 07-02-2007 at 23:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Breathless
Master Guru
 
Breathless's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTX280 XXX 756C/2700M
Processor: Intel QX9650 @ 4GHZ 1.38V
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4X2GB G.Skill DDR2 1000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX2
PSU: Antec Signature 850W
Default 07-03-2007, 00:36 | posts: 199 | Location: Long Island NY

I am glad you seemed to have solved your issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
lambi42
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 8800 gts 512 @ 740/1860/997
Processor: E4300@3.3ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35 DS3R
Memory: ddr2 1go x 2
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-04-2007, 15:28 | posts: 100

omg a got the same promblem since I tried 162.15...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Lopern
Member Guru
 
Lopern's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS 8800GTS 512 @680/mem at stock
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 @3,2
Mainboard: ABIT AB9 QuadGT, P965, Socket-775
Memory: 4GIG of Dominator TWIN2X2048 @1066
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Fortron Source Blue Storm II 500W
Talking 07-05-2007, 12:49 | posts: 50 | Location: Norway

hello
i hope that this can help you i had the same problem as you guys descrive it...
the thing was that my memory was a litle too mutch overcloked.
everytime i try too overclok my graphic-card the driver stoped too respond and reinstalled it self
the thing that i did was too sett down the mem speed a littlebit and "uala" the problem was gone
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
lambi42
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 8800 gts 512 @ 740/1860/997
Processor: E4300@3.3ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35 DS3R
Memory: ddr2 1go x 2
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-05-2007, 13:16 | posts: 100

the problem is that this error came with 162.15 and stayed after driver roll back...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
eddievader
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GTX 756mb SLI
Processor: AMD 64 FX 74
Mainboard: L1N64-SLI WS ASUS
Memory: 4 GB SLI
Soundcard: CREATIVE XFI FATALITY AND 5.1 THX
PSU: SILVERSTONE 850w
Default 07-06-2007, 11:40 | posts: 6 | Location: UK/SCOTLAND

I found the anwser to this problem,, Believe it or not but as soon as you do this it will never show up again irelevent what driver you use so here we go...
All you have to do is go to your users account and go to user account control and turn it OFF,, yes that is the problem because this seems to conflict with the drivers at the moment dont know why but it does, so now you should be able to play with no problems

Enjoy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
NeoElNino
Maha Guru
 
NeoElNino's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX460 Temporary
Processor: Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.SKILL DDR3@1600
Soundcard: Logitech 5.1 | 400W | THX
PSU: Ultra X3 850W|Modular|64A
Default 07-06-2007, 13:24 | posts: 970 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddievader View Post
I found the anwser to this problem,, Believe it or not but as soon as you do this it will never show up again irelevent what driver you use so here we go...
All you have to do is go to your users account and go to user account control and turn it OFF,, yes that is the problem because this seems to conflict with the drivers at the moment dont know why but it does, so now you should be able to play with no problems

Enjoy
I have been running with UAC OFF from the first day I have installed Vista on this machine and still have this error. So no its not the issue, its a Nvidia driver issue with Vista... its not stable yet and can crash easily on games like DiRT etc.. or for me on on Vista startup when it loads the Sidebar mostly...

issue not fixed yet.. perhaps in the next drivers i hope
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Waylander
Master Guru
 
Waylander's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 770 ACX SC 2Gb
Processor: Intel core i7-2600
Mainboard: Asus Sabretooth P67
Memory: 16Gb G-Skill RipjawSx
Soundcard: Audigy X-Fi Platinum
PSU: Hiper 730W
Default 07-06-2007, 14:45 | posts: 694 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

I was getting it just sitting at the desktop, turned aero off and it stopped, right up until I started ANY game and it came back. UAC has been off since day 1. I've actually dropped back to XP for now until they sort the drivers out properly...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
justifireb2b
Master Guru
 
justifireb2b's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x Asus GTX280 TRI-SLI
Processor: i7 920 @ 4500mhz
Mainboard: EVGA Classified
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator1866
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 15
Default 07-07-2007, 16:45 | posts: 189 | Location: Netherlands

Got exactly the same problem
After i tried 162.15 this error pops up with aprox 15 mins between them.
Rolled back to good old 158.54 and the error remains
Seems like theres something installed with the driver that DC wont remove.
Hope we see 162.18 for Vista soon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
dabrooks
Master Guru
 
dabrooks's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX-560 TI
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengence
Soundcard:
PSU: 1000w Corsair HX
Default 07-07-2007, 23:26 | posts: 303 | Location: St Louis, MO

Quote:
Originally Posted by justifireb2b View Post
Got exactly the same problem
After i tried 162.15 this error pops up with aprox 15 mins between them.
Rolled back to good old 158.54 and the error remains
Seems like theres something installed with the driver that DC wont remove.
Hope we see 162.18 for Vista soon.
Folks, seriously, the best way to back off from a problematic driver is to use Windows' System Restore. That assumes you haven't made alot of other changes/installs to your PC since the last driver upgrade, otherwise you loose those as well. Go into a new driver install with that plan, delaying additional software installs etc until you're happy with the new driver, backing off is clean, no residue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Ricaspecada
Member Guru
 
Ricaspecada's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 5870
Processor: Q9550 E0/4080MHz
Mainboard: ASUS P5Q Deluxe
Memory: 2x2GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS/T7900
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Default 07-08-2007, 16:39 | posts: 97 | Location: Portugal

I was getting this error too only in GRAW 2 and Lost Planet then I reduce my 8800GTX core from 630mhz to 615mhz. Problem solved!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Breathless
Master Guru
 
Breathless's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTX280 XXX 756C/2700M
Processor: Intel QX9650 @ 4GHZ 1.38V
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4X2GB G.Skill DDR2 1000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX2
PSU: Antec Signature 850W
Default 07-08-2007, 20:52 | posts: 199 | Location: Long Island NY

why, that must be a weak GTX core. My GTS goes up to 675 easy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Ricaspecada
Member Guru
 
Ricaspecada's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 5870
Processor: Q9550 E0/4080MHz
Mainboard: ASUS P5Q Deluxe
Memory: 2x2GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS/T7900
PSU: Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Default 07-08-2007, 22:51 | posts: 97 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breathless View Post
why, that must be a weak GTX core. My GTS goes up to 675 easy
For GTX's it is pretty normal.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Breathless
Master Guru
 
Breathless's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTX280 XXX 756C/2700M
Processor: Intel QX9650 @ 4GHZ 1.38V
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula
Memory: 4X2GB G.Skill DDR2 1000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX2
PSU: Antec Signature 850W
Default 07-08-2007, 23:42 | posts: 199 | Location: Long Island NY

wow man your totally right. I just looked at some reviews. I wonder why that is that the GTS's can get so much higher?

By the way, I don't know if I already mentioned this but the "Display Driver nvlddmkm stopped responding, has successfully recovered" message also happened to me when overclocking my card and/or system too high. Putting the clocks back fixed the problem
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
michael06096
Member Guru
 
michael06096's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800GTX
Processor: Intel C2D E6600 2.4Ghz @ 3Ghz 1.3v
Mainboard: ASUS P5WDH Deluxe 9x/333 (1333)
Memory: 4GB DDR2 1066 @ 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Soundcard: Xfi
PSU: 750W
Default 07-09-2007, 02:34 | posts: 126

those errors went away when I started using 165.01 driver.

Windows XP 165.01 only: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=62SSG7NR
Windows Vista 32 165.01 only: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=KFE5BZP8
Windows Vista 64 165.01 only: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=1ST1ON40
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Sevens
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GTS 112SP
Processor: C2D E6400
Mainboard: Asus P5B
Memory: DDR2-800
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-09-2007, 06:16 | posts: 23

Most of these are the result of core oc, somehow with the new drivers there is a limit to how much you can oc the core, even though it is stable these drivers will cause core slowdown. Its like how coolbits with the new drivers in xp were limting core oc, forced my gto to go from 700mhz with 91.47 drivers to 680mhz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Kriechbaum
Member Guru
 
Kriechbaum's Avatar
 
Videocard: GForce 8800 GTX SLI (Leadtek)
Processor: QX6700@2.93Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLi
Memory: 2Giga Corsair XMS2
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12-700W
Default 07-09-2007, 16:17 | posts: 92 | Location: France

My windows vista is 100% clean and OK, and i have that message too :

" Display Driver nvlddmkm stopped responding, has successfully recovered "


that message appears only with forcewares 32 bits vista 162.15.

I am back to 158.24 drivers, and no problem anymore.

The 162.15 drivers have serious issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
KC Smiff
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce 8800 GTX 768Mb
Processor: AM2 Athlon 64 X2 5200+
Mainboard: Asus M2N32 SLI Deluxe
Memory: 4x 1Gb 800MHz (Dual Channel)
Soundcard: SoundMAX Digital HD Audio
PSU: 580W Hiper Type R Modular
Default 07-20-2007, 02:55 | posts: 2 | Location: England

I got this a lot too with all drivers, until recently.

I took out my old PCI GeForce 5500FX, which I used for a secondary monitor (Which was disabled when I upgraded from XP to Vista 64 Ultimate).

Everything works fine now.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.