Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Resident Evil 4 (PC)
Old
  (#1)
ViperXtreme
Ancient Guru
 
ViperXtreme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 7.1 HD
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default Resident Evil 4 (PC) - 02-06-2007, 09:07 | posts: 2,922 | Location: Philippines

another sloppy port from the ones who ported Onimusha3 and Devil May Cry 3 to the PC, also no mouse support >

http://forums.ngemu.com/pc-misc-game...good-game.html

Last edited by ViperXtreme; 02-06-2007 at 09:10.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Armoured
Maha Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-06-2007, 09:20 | posts: 2,068

ahhh damn that sux. i really wanted this game. didn't know it was out yet though.
funny thing is the PC version looks worse than the PS2 version. hah. who would have thought. the question is why?
and no mouse support? what did they forget or something. WTF!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ViperXtreme
Ancient Guru
 
ViperXtreme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 7.1 HD
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 02-06-2007, 09:25 | posts: 2,922 | Location: Philippines

it was first released here in Asia by EA Games Taiwan, the US or European release will be handled by Ubisoft (duno when).

well, at least the PC version doesnt have aliasing hehe, but it still looks rushed DX7 game(as if it wasnt delayed long enough lol), even Silent Hill 3 PC looks better than this.

Last edited by ViperXtreme; 02-06-2007 at 09:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
isidore
Ancient Guru
 
isidore's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX670M
Processor: i7-3610QM @ 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus RoG
Memory: Asus 8Gb
Soundcard: Asus G75VW
PSU: Asus RoG
Default 02-06-2007, 09:57 | posts: 5,680 | Location: Timisoara, Romania

the game is fun...but you need a gamepad to play it... the game looks like ****...the graphycs looks from the year 2001...anyway i had enought of it, i don't now why i bought it..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
meatfestival92
Maha Guru
 
meatfestival92's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 9800 GTX @ 815/2078/1180
Processor: Opteron 175 @ 2.6GHz
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum EL PC3200
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700w
Default 02-06-2007, 12:53 | posts: 1,767 | Location: UK

what a joke. They won't be getting my money any more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Templ
Maha Guru
 
Templ's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GF GTX 970 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 02-06-2007, 13:10 | posts: 1,006 | Location: Slovenia

No mouse support? LMAO!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Mirec
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Ati 4850
Processor: q6600@3.3 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte p31
Memory: 2x2 GB DDR800
Soundcard: Audigy 4
PSU: thermaltake 460W atx2.0
Default 02-06-2007, 13:28 | posts: 327 | Location: Slovakia

thw gfx is old school but the game is superb, its really interesting to see that PC latest PC games are all about GFX and not about gameplay.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Laykun
Ancient Guru
 
Laykun's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x EVGA GTX670 4GB
Processor: i7 980X
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Memory: 18GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Xonar DX / Denon AH-D7000
PSU: 850W CM Silent Pro M850
Default 02-06-2007, 13:48 | posts: 3,221 | Location: New Zealand

Graphics are a gameplay FEATURE, as in that immersion in a virtual environment. A more believable environment can lead to better gameplay, due to a play being immeresed in a world.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-06-2007, 14:18 | posts: 26,734 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Graphics are NOT a gameplay feature, they're a visual feature. That's why I'm playing Might and Magic VI again and guess what? I'm enjoying it 100 times more than playing Oblivion or any other current, graphically advanced RPG.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Mirec
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Ati 4850
Processor: q6600@3.3 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte p31
Memory: 2x2 GB DDR800
Soundcard: Audigy 4
PSU: thermaltake 460W atx2.0
Default 02-06-2007, 14:36 | posts: 327 | Location: Slovakia

well said Eclap, you got the point.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
meatfestival92
Maha Guru
 
meatfestival92's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 9800 GTX @ 815/2078/1180
Processor: Opteron 175 @ 2.6GHz
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum EL PC3200
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700w
Default 02-06-2007, 15:03 | posts: 1,767 | Location: UK

Graphics aren't everything, but considering how long this port has been in the making, it would have been nice if they'd made the effort to do the lighting & shading properly. PC games from 5 years ago look better. It just completely ruins the look & feel of the game.

In the system requirements they specify a 128MB graphics card with shader model 2.0. Who are they trying to kid? There are no shader effects whatsoever. It could probably run on a Geforce 2.

Last edited by meatfestival92; 02-06-2007 at 15:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Rodman
Maha Guru
 
Rodman's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX285 SLI@756-1580-2750
Processor: I7 920@4.0GHZ
Mainboard: EVGA X58 Classified 760
Memory: 6GB Corsair @1650mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000WT
Default 02-06-2007, 15:15 | posts: 1,721 | Location: USA

Game looks sad, no AA, no mouse... Even on the Cube the game looked pretty bad so it's hard to imagine it looking worse on the PC, lol. I played it a LONG, LONG time ago on the GameCube. I played through it but the graphics were fuzzy and grainy, but had to finish since I was a RE fan.

Most would be better off just playing the game on a Cube
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
meatfestival92
Maha Guru
 
meatfestival92's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 9800 GTX @ 815/2078/1180
Processor: Opteron 175 @ 2.6GHz
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum EL PC3200
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700w
Default 02-06-2007, 15:35 | posts: 1,767 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodman View Post
Even on the Cube the game looked pretty bad
I disagree, it was probably one of the best looking games on the GC. Really pushed the hardware.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
MetalFox
Maha Guru
 
MetalFox's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 DCII
Processor: 2500K @ 5Ghz
Mainboard: P8Z68V
Memory: 16Gb
Soundcard: x-fi
PSU: Corsair
Default 02-06-2007, 15:42 | posts: 907 | Location: Finland

And guess what...

If I try to run the games setup when my gamepad is plugged in it crashes !

yay @ coding.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
getsuga12
Ancient Guru
 
getsuga12's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX870M
Processor: Intel i7 4810MQ, 2.8Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GT60 2PC Dominator
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek Audio Card
PSU: MSI GT60 2PC Dominator
Default 02-06-2007, 15:59 | posts: 4,358

oh well, guess i'll stick to the PS2 emulator. It looks better, and the control feels better than this dumb PC version.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 02-06-2007, 16:00 | posts: 10,211 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

Maybe, cause the game isn't released yet.

The release version is supposed to have mouse support.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Insomniac34
Maha Guru
 
Insomniac34's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 460 768mb (800/1900)
Processor: i5-2500k @ 4.0 Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1333
Soundcard: Onboard, Sennheiser HD497
PSU: Corsair HX 520W
Default 02-06-2007, 16:37 | posts: 1,903 | Location: Massachusetts, USA

I was waiting for the game for so long. I still haven't played the PS2 or GameCube version of the game, and when I heard a PC port was coming out, I figured I'd get my chance soon. So not only does the game go through countless delays to finally get here but when it does actually come out, it's a sloppy port that doesn't come close to stacking up to the console version. What a disappointment
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 02-06-2007, 16:42 | posts: 26,734 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Did this just come out for the PC? Because there's RE5 out soon for the consoles. If this is the latest PC version, then there's nothing else to say, then if this is your kind of game, the console owners have just put one over you. This is really bad...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Mirec
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Ati 4850
Processor: q6600@3.3 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte p31
Memory: 2x2 GB DDR800
Soundcard: Audigy 4
PSU: thermaltake 460W atx2.0
Default 02-06-2007, 17:05 | posts: 327 | Location: Slovakia

its the same as with HALO 2 , you wait a long time and the the GFX gets old, but the fun is there so the game is great. ALL the GFX geeks out there just do yourself a favour and pls run some 3d2k6 benches to satisfy your needs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Insomniac34
Maha Guru
 
Insomniac34's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 460 768mb (800/1900)
Processor: i5-2500k @ 4.0 Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1333
Soundcard: Onboard, Sennheiser HD497
PSU: Corsair HX 520W
Default 02-06-2007, 17:07 | posts: 1,903 | Location: Massachusetts, USA

I think it's due out in the U.S. on Feb 23rd. The date keeps getting pushed back but I think this is the absolutely final release date. Ubisoft had so much time to work with the game and we get a lackluster port in return, it just isn't fair at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mirec View Post
its the same as with HALO 2 , you wait a long time and the the GFX gets old, but the fun is there so the game is great. ALL the GFX geeks out there just do yourself a favour and pls run some 3d2k6 benches to satisfy your needs.
If the graphics were the same as either the PS2 or GC version, I'd be more than happy. In the end, I really just want to play the game as it was on either of those two consoles with my gamepad. But when I look at the visuals for the PC version I can't help but think that there are other parts of the game that have suffered from a bad port. Ubisoft had more than enough time to put out a decent product, but from a visual standpoint they failed. I can only wonder how the gameplay is compared to the console versions.

EDIT: From the Gamespot forums - "Once again, due to the lack of any kind of shadows or highlights in PC port, you cant really see the difference between daytime and nightime and being in a dark room with no lights, looks almost the same as being outside in the sun. There is also almost no sence of depth and distance, which makes it sometimes very hard to see a path to follow, or even to see nearby enemies and objects. Since 85% of the game takes places during the night, or in dark and creepy places, absence of highlight and shadows destroys game's athmosphere incredibly... Becouse of it, youll also miss many scary parts, where "things" jump on you out of pitch-black nowhere..."

This picture really tells the story. Downgrade in visuals leads to less of an atmosphere which will in turn make for a less-than-stellar experience:

http://data.hidebehind.com/img/695151F8.jpg

Last edited by Insomniac34; 02-06-2007 at 18:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Mirec
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Ati 4850
Processor: q6600@3.3 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte p31
Memory: 2x2 GB DDR800
Soundcard: Audigy 4
PSU: thermaltake 460W atx2.0
Default 02-06-2007, 17:34 | posts: 327 | Location: Slovakia

how about pluggint the PC onto a TV to enjoy the TV filter aka. diagonal layout of pixels.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
meatfestival92
Maha Guru
 
meatfestival92's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 9800 GTX @ 815/2078/1180
Processor: Opteron 175 @ 2.6GHz
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum EL PC3200
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700w
Default 02-06-2007, 18:41 | posts: 1,767 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by getsuga12 View Post
oh well, guess i'll stick to the PS2 emulator. It looks better, and the control feels better than this dumb PC version.
are there any PS2 emulators that run fast enough yet?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Insomniac34
Maha Guru
 
Insomniac34's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 460 768mb (800/1900)
Processor: i5-2500k @ 4.0 Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1333
Soundcard: Onboard, Sennheiser HD497
PSU: Corsair HX 520W
Default 02-06-2007, 18:44 | posts: 1,903 | Location: Massachusetts, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by meatfestival92 View Post
are there any PS2 emulators that run fast enough yet?
PCSX2 seems to be the best one out there. Some games run very well but others not so much. Their website has a list of emulation problems for each game, if there are any.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
CTman
Maha Guru
 
CTman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 6800 V9999
Processor: AMD athlon 64 3000+
Mainboard: GIGABYTE K8NS
Memory: 1 GB pc3200 ddr ram
Soundcard: Creative Labs SB Audigy 2
PSU: Cooler Master iGreen 430W
Default 02-06-2007, 19:36 | posts: 1,999 | Location: Holland

If they don't put some effort to convert the game to the PC, then stop converting these console games like Resident Evil 4, Devil May Cry 3 etc. which are good games;

Of course graphics aren't the only factor for a good game, gameplay is also important, but if the graphics are that bad like those in the RE4 PC, then why bother to convert the game and let us buy such poor converted game for the pc. We are speaking about quality, everything have to be good. The publishers think that we only buy the game, because the name of the game?

no AA and AF support; low res textures. And the same (fake) realtime events (like those in Sega's ShenMue) which are not realtime at all, because they are replaced by video cutscenes, just like on the playstation 2; the gamecube version got real/genuine "real time events" that scenes are in real time "drawn" and no video. There's no lighting in the pc version of the game, it is even worser that the PS2 version which itself is a toned down version (still good looking despite PS2's hardware limitations, but good programming is the key) of the Gamecube version;

By the way, the Gamecube's Resident Evil 4 is one of the most beautiful game for the consoles. Using a RGB cable and a standard 26 inch TV the RE4 for the Gamecube really shines, almost next-gen (despite it's interlaced). Even on a lcd-tv GC RE4 looks good despite using an analog cable like a RGB cable; well my Samsung 32 inch lcd can upscan analog signals/images very well; don't know whether other brands lcd tv's can upscan that well like the Samsung ones.

RE 4 PC should even have more improvements over the console versions like higher resolution textures, AA and AF support, more lighting, EAX HD support (while consoles version got Dolby Prologic II support which is good and sufficient), real/genuine real time events, higher quality cutscenes/video, because it has delayed for so/too long!!! Instead of this, the pc version get worser graphics than those for the console versions!

That's a major letdown!

Get the Gamecube version of RE4 to play on the Nintendo Wii or Gamecube; or get the PS2 version to play it on PCSX2 and (edit) offcourse on the PS2 or PS3.

The RE4 on the two consoles cost around 5.99-19.99 bucks!!!!!

Just forget the PC version!


edit: there's native widescreen support for RE4 PC!

Last edited by CTman; 02-07-2007 at 14:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
x-speed69
Maha Guru
 
x-speed69's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7970 GHZ edition
Processor: Intel i7-3820@4.4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UD5
Memory: 16gb Patriot@1666
Soundcard: Asus DXG
PSU: CM M2 850w
Default 02-06-2007, 19:43 | posts: 2,210 | Location: Finland

well maybe graphics sucks but i'm enjoying this
1920x1200 8xaa 16xaf and gamepad.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.