Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How to turn V-Sync off?
Old
  (#1)
vvv123
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 7600GT XXX
Processor: E2200 @ stock speeds
Mainboard: Intel G33 Express
Memory: 4GB PC-6400 DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek HD 7.1 onboard
PSU: Dell 300W
Exclamation How to turn V-Sync off? - 12-01-2006, 21:23 | posts: 347 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Well basically the question is my subject, how to turn V-Sync off. Someone told me on a chat room that turning V-Sync off will give you a better fps for cs 1.6

Thanks for any help!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
OrionRU
Maha Guru
 
OrionRU's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800GTX (621/1512/2020)
Processor: E6600 (3.0 ghz)
Mainboard: EVGA NF680i A1
Memory: 4x 1G Corsair 8500C5D
Soundcard:
PSU: SST-ST75ZF 750W - Etasis
Default 12-01-2006, 21:27 | posts: 2,031 | Location: Russia - Moscow / Gulf of Mexico

You cant see more FPS then your monitors refresh rate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
vvv123
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 7600GT XXX
Processor: E2200 @ stock speeds
Mainboard: Intel G33 Express
Memory: 4GB PC-6400 DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek HD 7.1 onboard
PSU: Dell 300W
Default 12-01-2006, 21:29 | posts: 347 | Location: Toronto, Canada

I don't understand. I just want to know how to turn V-Sync off....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Morlock
Member Guru
 
Morlock's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 4890 1GB
Processor: Phenom II x4 965 BE
Mainboard: Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P
Memory: CorsairXMS3-4GBDDR31600C8
Soundcard: SoundBlaster 1024
PSU: Corsair TX 650w
Default 12-01-2006, 21:32 | posts: 47 | Location: UK

You need to be in Classic view to follow:

Control Panel> Display Properties> Settings[TAB]> Advanced> [your card][TAB]>Performance and Quality Settings> Select Vertical Synch under settings and untick apllication controlled, move slider to off.

If VSync is on frame rate will not exceed monitor refresh rate.

Last edited by Morlock; 12-01-2006 at 21:41.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
korzychxp
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GeForce250GTS GREEN
Processor: AMD Athlon II X2 250 3.2g
Mainboard: ?
Memory: Nanya DDR3 1600MHZ CL11
Soundcard: Logitech X220
PSU: NoName 500W
Default 12-01-2006, 21:34 | posts: 86 | Location: Poland

if vsync is off, framerate may be higher than refresh rate

example, in fifa 07 in 1024x768x32 i have 100-150fps, and my refresh rate is 85Hz but of course i have vsync OFF
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
vvv123
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 7600GT XXX
Processor: E2200 @ stock speeds
Mainboard: Intel G33 Express
Memory: 4GB PC-6400 DDR2
Soundcard: Realtek HD 7.1 onboard
PSU: Dell 300W
Default 12-01-2006, 21:42 | posts: 347 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Alright thanks guys, I am getting better fps now!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.