Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Negative LOD bias... allow or clamp?
Old
  (#1)
Bigbio2002
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG GeForce 6800 GS OC 256MB GDDR3
Processor: Core 2 Duo Allendale E4500 @2.2ghz
Mainboard: AGP 8x, 800mhz FSB, ECS P4M800PRO-M
Memory: 2048MB DDR2 SDRAM
Soundcard: Realtek Audio
PSU: 350W
Default Negative LOD bias... allow or clamp? - 09-29-2006, 03:26 | posts: 16 | Location: Brooklyn, NY

ive read that some games such as BF1942 run best with a negative bias, but i really dont like the idea of having anything nonstandard running on my system. for most games, is it safe to clamp? is there a performance difference either way?

the games i mainly play are steam games (counterstrike, source, hl2) if that helps
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
NvidiaFreak
Ancient Guru
 
NvidiaFreak's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 7660D
Processor: A10-5800K 4.2ghz Turbo
Mainboard: MSI FM2-A75MA-E35
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz XMP
Soundcard: Z-5500 5.1
PSU: 380W
Default 09-29-2006, 05:09 | posts: 4,777 | Location: 〓ω〓

clam give u better IQ. Allow idk
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Unstable_Hero
Maha Guru
 
Unstable_Hero's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 295
Processor: Q6600 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P5K DELUXE/WIFI-AP L
Memory: G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) DDR2
Soundcard: Xfi Speedlink Medusa 6 sp
PSU: Silverstone 1000w
Default 09-29-2006, 05:26 | posts: 1,561

agreed always clamp. If you dont clamp then the textures that are far away might be rendered close to you, in a nut shell.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
pai1n
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 7600GT XXX Edition
Processor: Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6ghz
Mainboard: DFI Expert
Memory: 2gig Ocz Pc4000 gold XtC
Soundcard: Creative X-fi Xtreme!
PSU: OCz Power Stream 520w
Default 09-29-2006, 22:05 | posts: 91

+1 clamp
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Raikku
Master Guru
 
Raikku's Avatar
 
Videocard: POV GTX 280
Processor: Q6600@3.4Ghz+Noctua NH
Mainboard: Abit IP35 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR2 8000Pi 4Gb
Soundcard: Integral Realtek HD
PSU: Cooltek 600w
Default 09-29-2006, 22:09 | posts: 244 | Location: Finland

'Cause i play mainly racing-sims, i simply have to keep that clamped, i can't stand blurry white lines, they drive me crazy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Kon$olE
Ancient Guru
 
Kon$olE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 8800GT 512Mb Sonic
Processor: C2D E6700 and Tuniq Tower
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Memory: 2x1Gb Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: Z-5500 on X-Fi XM
PSU: Corsair HX620W
Default 09-29-2006, 22:13 | posts: 3,903 | Location: Canada, eh?

Using -1 to -3 works decently in some games, Oblivion for one looks pretty good with -1, but anything more than that is just weird.
I personally dont like the idea of it very much, so i clamp.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Infested Nexus
Ancient Guru
 
Infested Nexus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce G210M 512MB DDR3
Processor: C2D SU7300 @ 1.3 - 1.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS UL80VT
Memory: 2x2048MB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: ICH 9 / Realtek / NVIDIA
PSU: 8cell 5600mAh Lithium Ion
Default 09-29-2006, 23:22 | posts: 4,782 | Location: Κόσμος

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koroush Ghazi
Negative LOD Bias: LOD is the Level of Detail, and in some games you can alter the LOD Bias to sharpen details on screen. In such cases, you should set this setting to Allow, however note that altering LOD Bias can introduce aliasing (jaggedness to lines and edges). Since Anisotropic Filtering can also improve the sharpness of images without adding to aliasing, you should change this setting to Clamp for games in which you use any level of Anisotropic Filtering for better image quality overall.
-Nvidia Forceware Tweak Guide
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Bigbio2002
Newbie
 
Videocard: BFG GeForce 6800 GS OC 256MB GDDR3
Processor: Core 2 Duo Allendale E4500 @2.2ghz
Mainboard: AGP 8x, 800mhz FSB, ECS P4M800PRO-M
Memory: 2048MB DDR2 SDRAM
Soundcard: Realtek Audio
PSU: 350W
Default 10-02-2006, 05:25 | posts: 16 | Location: Brooklyn, NY

clamp FTW!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.