Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Help setting up WinXP-Win98 network
Old
  (#1)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default Help setting up WinXP-Win98 network - 09-17-2006, 17:44 | posts: 6,441 | Location: Chilling

Ok, I am planning on using the WinXP machine as host for internet connection (cable dial-in), host machine has a nForce4 10/100 ethernet which is connected to cable and a ST Lab Realtek 8139d Fast Ethernet NIC 10/100.

Now the problem is that I am having WinXP Pro SP2 not recognize the NIC card, and when it does it shows the nice big yellow exclemation point next to it. I downloaded and installed the latest drivers, as well as testing the original ones on the floppy, nothing works. There seems to be no IRQ conflict, but if there is how do I fix it or know?

Now my second problem is that the Win98 PC is only written in a different language (Hebrew) which I cannot fully comprehend at the diffficulty level required for the technical stuff. So if someone could please show in screenshots, or find that, step by step instructions to set-up I would be in your debt forever. If someone could find the instructions for setting up a dial-in broadband shared connection as well on WinXP I would again be most grateful.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Finchwizard
Don Apple
 
Finchwizard's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-18-2006, 00:12 | posts: 16,460 | Location: Locked in Guru3D Server Room. Help!

Out of interest, did you click on my guide?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 09-22-2006, 17:28 | posts: 4,841 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

if xp isnt recognising your nic and u have the drivers, either the cards ****ed or the slot is ****ed. as for sharing files/web using your xp machine as an access point, been there done that. xp can walk u through it usin network wizard
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sludg3
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ATI 4850
Processor: E8400
Mainboard: Asus P5Q pro
Memory: 2x 2GB DDR2800
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: 600w
Default 09-22-2006, 20:20 | posts: 225 | Location: Canada

onboard nic?
if pci.. switch slots
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.