Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > General Software and Applications
General Software and Applications Trouble with software/DirectX or other programs like Detonator Destroyer.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Thread Optomizer = BSOD
Old
  (#1)
Norvekh
Maha Guru
 
Norvekh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970
Processor: Core i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair 750
Default AMD Thread Optomizer = BSOD - 07-03-2006, 22:42 | posts: 2,667 | Location: Ohio

I'm not quite sure why it does it, but I get instant BSOD upon entering Windows and having the driver load. I thought maybe I had my timings too tight and it was more sensitive now, but after tweaking the timings, voltages, and leaving it at default clocks I can say for sure that it was the cause of the BSODs. Luckily I have a startup manager and was able to prevent it to turn on as it cannot be uninstalled from Safe Mode (requires Windows Installer, d'oh).

This is really too bad as it sounds like it might prove to add some nice performance boosts. Has anyone else had similar problems with it? I know this is a bit early as it was just added but if it is like me all it took was the first restart.

This is a quick link about the file: http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1443
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Clements
Maha Guru
 
Clements's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 670
Processor: Intel i5 4650K
Mainboard: MSI Z87 GD45
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Antec Trupower 850W
Default 07-03-2006, 22:45 | posts: 903 | Location: Britain

Personally, I've had no problems with it, but I have seen others reporting issues after installing it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Norvekh
Maha Guru
 
Norvekh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970
Processor: Core i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 07-03-2006, 22:49 | posts: 2,667 | Location: Ohio

Interesting, have you noticed any performance differences? Or is there no noticable difference?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Cycloid
Maha Guru
 
Cycloid's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x256MB Geforce 7800GTs in SLi
Processor: Socket 939 Athlon64 X2 4400+
Mainboard: GA-K8N-SLI
Memory: 2 GB Kingmax PC3200 DC (4x512MB )
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS+Inspire T7900
PSU: AOpen 700w
Default 07-03-2006, 22:55 | posts: 827 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norvekh
I'm not quite sure why it does it, but I get instant BSOD upon entering Windows and having the driver load. I thought maybe I had my timings too tight and it was more sensitive now, but after tweaking the timings, voltages, and leaving it at default clocks I can say for sure that it was the cause of the BSODs. Luckily I have a startup manager and was able to prevent it to turn on as it cannot be uninstalled from Safe Mode (requires Windows Installer, d'oh).

This is really too bad as it sounds like it might prove to add some nice performance boosts. Has anyone else had similar problems with it? I know this is a bit early as it was just added but if it is like me all it took was the first restart.

This is a quick link about the file: http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1443
What Error codes does the BSOD report?

I also have no problems (yet) but haven't noticed any improvements either... Only ran 3dmark06 and Morrowind though!
   
Reply With Quote
 
same
Old
  (#5)
IUMaestro
Newbie
 
Videocard: [eVGA 6800u PCIe]
Processor: [AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.9Ghz]
Mainboard: [DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D]
Memory: [2x1GB OCZ Platinum @ 2.3.2.5]
Soundcard: [SB Live on amped JBL's]
PSU: [PC Power & Cooling 510 SLI]
Default same - 07-03-2006, 22:59 | posts: 3 | Location: [Houston, TX]

After loading it I got BSODs on startup too as soon as the app ran..

This does not seem like an AMD product.. seems like just some dude who wrote it. not sure tho. Usually you'd expect an AMD logo.

Anyway - had to go into Safe Mode and remove it from startup manager, then go uninstall it.

Before posting here I googled around and found many with the same problem, those who have used it report no difference in performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Clements
Maha Guru
 
Clements's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 670
Processor: Intel i5 4650K
Mainboard: MSI Z87 GD45
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Antec Trupower 850W
Default 07-03-2006, 23:22 | posts: 903 | Location: Britain

Yep, no performance difference as far as I can see.

I can confirm however that it does fix certain very minor issues with programs that use RDTSC, a few of which I actually do use that report % CPU idle and other such info - and without this fix they give bogus data instead.

For most users I would say do not install this, as it is not really worth it in my view.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Norvekh
Maha Guru
 
Norvekh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970
Processor: Core i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 07-03-2006, 23:22 | posts: 2,667 | Location: Ohio

I should've written down the error number, but I'm not going to reinstall just to see the error. I do remember it was a memory read/write error however but that is all I remember. Should've thought about that, oh well. At least uninstalling it fixed it.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.