Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
looking for utility on nvidia that show FPS in game mode
Old
  (#1)
StevenG
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI-7800GT-256mb-pcie
Processor: Pentium 4 3.0Ghz 2mb cache
Mainboard: Intel-945P
Memory: DDR667/2x512mb
Soundcard: logitech speakers
PSU: 400W
Default looking for utility on nvidia that show FPS in game mode - 02-27-2006, 16:52 | posts: 4 | Location: South Africa

I recently switched from a ATI X800 to a Nvidia 7800GT pci-e.

I was running a very cool utility called ATI Tray Tool.This tool has a amazing function. It showed FPS on the top right hand corner during 3d game play. It only works on ATI cards

This is extremely usefull for adjusting the right resolution, textures etc. In game auto detect function always drops the card to below it potential.

Can't seem to find any similar tool for nvidia cards
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Vanadis
Maha Guru
 
Vanadis's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800 Ultra
Processor: Core 2 Duo E6420 @ 3.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Formula
Memory: Team Xtreem 4x1024
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Extrememusic
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 02-27-2006, 16:55 | posts: 927 | Location: Midgard

www.fraps.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
StevenG
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI-7800GT-256mb-pcie
Processor: Pentium 4 3.0Ghz 2mb cache
Mainboard: Intel-945P
Memory: DDR667/2x512mb
Soundcard: logitech speakers
PSU: 400W
Default 02-27-2006, 17:08 | posts: 4 | Location: South Africa

Thanks looks like an excellent tool will try it out when I get home.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
JxL
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ATi X1600 128mb
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.16gh
Mainboard: Macbook Pro
Memory: 3gb DDR2-667mhz SDRAM
Soundcard:
PSU: 60W
Default 02-27-2006, 17:58 | posts: 1,690 | Location: England

err if u play battlefield 2 type in this command in console:

renderer.drawfps 1

this shows your fps without extra programs.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
StevenG
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI-7800GT-256mb-pcie
Processor: Pentium 4 3.0Ghz 2mb cache
Mainboard: Intel-945P
Memory: DDR667/2x512mb
Soundcard: logitech speakers
PSU: 400W
Default 03-01-2006, 11:42 | posts: 4 | Location: South Africa

Tried fraps, just what I was looking for and more
thx :-)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DrFreeze
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i3 3240
Mainboard: Asrock H61M-ITX
Memory: 2x4gb corsair vengeance
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair VS 350
Default 03-01-2006, 12:05 | posts: 4,850 | Location: holland

like JXL says, a lot of games also have console commands to show the FPS, just google which game you want and FPS console command...

but yeah fraps is easy too
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.