Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum > RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum
RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum This forum is intended for advanced comments, ideas and general discussion of the RivaTuner Utility which is hosted here at the Guru of 3D. This forum is visited by programmer himself - you can only post in this area with a minimum of 10 posts and 7 days forum membership.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Discovery!
Old
  (#51)
juodvarnis
Member Guru
 
juodvarnis's Avatar
 
Videocard: mobility radeon hd 5650
Processor: intel core i5 460m
Mainboard: acer aspire 3820tg
Memory: 8gb ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: 90w
Default Discovery! - 09-04-2006, 13:53 | posts: 49 | Location: Lithuania

i noticed one intresting problem with softmoded 6800gt and different drivers, earlier i thought that it is because of pci-e card, but then i have tested on agp card and i've got same results:

tested systems:
p4 @3.5ghz with i865pe AGP mobo
a64 x2 @2.6ghz with nf4 PCI-e and with K8T800 Pro AGP mobos
agp galaxy 6800gt (GU) 400/1100mhz
pci-e asus 6800gt 350/1000mhz
3ds max 8 +maxtreme 8

specviewperf and other test give quite same results, BUT when i tested geometry2.max with stopwach i get about 7-8 seconds (~40fps) with drivers up to 61.82 and with higher(later) drivers it takes about 15sec. to complete that test (~20fps) on other test there is some decrease, but not so noticeable.

can someone comment this?!?

here is my earlier topic:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=175633

Last edited by juodvarnis; 09-04-2006 at 13:59.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Is it possible to modify this Card into Quadro ?
Old
  (#52)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Talking Is it possible to modify this Card into Quadro ? - 09-04-2006, 21:06 | posts: 15

Hello folks,

I buy this card ( Asus EN 6800 GT, please look at the jpeg ) is it possible to modify this card into a Quadro, and where can i get older versions of
ForceWare Drivers, because the latest driver is to new and rivatuner
didnīt work with him.

Thanks for your help

Last edited by schorsch07; 09-06-2006 at 15:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
clokkevi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7-920 D0 @3.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: DDR3 Patriot 1600LL 12 GB
Soundcard: M-Audio FireWire 410
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 09-05-2006, 00:01 | posts: 368

It is not possible to know if this is moddable or not by looking at the picture.
If you bother to actually *read* this thread,
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=172822
starting from the first post, then continue,
you will see how you can find out yourself if it is moddable or not.
Read especially
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....06#post1827306
and
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....97#post1850097

However, since you *say* it is a 6800 GT card, it *should* be moddable..!

You can get many ForceWare versions here:
ftp://download.nvidia.com/Windows/
And the Quadro certifieds are here
ftp://download.nvidia.com/Windows/Quadro_Certified/

Last edited by clokkevi; 09-05-2006 at 00:12.
   
Reply With Quote
What have i done wrong ?
Old
  (#54)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Default What have i done wrong ? - 09-05-2006, 16:18 | posts: 15

hello folks,

i try to modify my videocard ( asus N6800GT with nv 40 chipset )
like clokkevi described in that post
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=172822
but i can see no improvement in workflow ( rendering with cinema 4d )
and cinebench ( benchmark programm for cinema 4d from maxon )
i try to modify the card with the latest Rivatuner version ( 2.0 RC16 )
and the forceware driver version 84.26, and i worked with the cinema 4D R9 version, but it seems not to work.
what have i done wrong ?
i attached 2 jpegs, in which you can see the settings i used.

thanks for your information

Last edited by schorsch07; 09-06-2006 at 15:01.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
clokkevi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7-920 D0 @3.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: DDR3 Patriot 1600LL 12 GB
Soundcard: M-Audio FireWire 410
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 09-05-2006, 17:07 | posts: 368

The settings looks good!

Please download SPECviewperf 7.1.1

ftp://spec.ir.miami.edu/dist/gpc/opc...rf711_full.exe

Install it, and run the all the tests, especially the ugs-03 test.

Run the tests in "Quadro mode" - save the results as a new file.
The detailed results are the best, as you will see exactly which tests are good.


Then run the tests in "6800 GT mode":
- Turn OFF "Unlock professional capabilities" and
- switch "Graphics adapter identification" back to "determined by hardware"
Use these 2 options when you want to switch between 6800 GT <--> Quadro
("Use ROM straps for PCI DeviceID programming" should *always* be ON)
Save these "6800 GT mode" results too.

Then compare them.

This will verify (or not) that everything is correct.

Here is my detailed results for the ugs-03 test:

Code:
ugs-03 Viewset - 6800 GT mode
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Test Weight  Frames    DLB  Visual Double     Frame Buffer     Depth  Stencil  
  #    Per Sec   Sec   ID    Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer  Buffer  
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  1   16.50   5.41     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  2   16.50   5.93     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  3   16.50   4.95     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  4   16.50   5.42     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  5    8.50   65.1     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  6    8.50   79.3     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  7    8.50   8.12     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  8    8.50   11.9     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean =   9.302
Code:
ugs-03 Viewset - Quadro FX 4000 mode
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Test Weight  Frames    DLB  Visual Double     Frame Buffer     Depth  Stencil  
  #    Per Sec   Sec   ID    Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer  Buffer  
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  1   16.50   56.9     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  2   16.50   63.9     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  3   16.50   50.9     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  4   16.50   56.2     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  5    8.50   93.3     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  6    8.50    114     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  7    8.50   82.9     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
  8    8.50   89.3     N/A   7      True    8    8    8    0     24      0   
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean =   67.45
As you can see, many of the tests increased their performance by 1000% in Quadro mode.

Last edited by clokkevi; 09-05-2006 at 17:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Here are my results
Old
  (#56)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Default Here are my results - 09-06-2006, 15:03 | posts: 15

Hello clokkevi,

here are my test results,
does it mean that i can work faster in 3D scenes with much polygons,
in the quadro mode than in the 6800 gt mode. or what are the differences of
these two modes.
and why are the results of your videocard considerably better than
my videocard

thanks for your help
   
Reply With Quote
results better to read
Old
  (#57)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Default results better to read - 09-06-2006, 15:09 | posts: 15

i think this is better to read than the jpegs

ugs-03 Viewset ( 6800 GT )
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Test Weight Frames DLB Visual Double Frame Buffer Depth Stencil
# Per Sec Sec ID Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer Buffer
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 16.50 4.98 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
2 16.50 5.52 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
3 16.50 4.68 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
4 16.50 5.14 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
5 8.50 59.3 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
6 8.50 59.8 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
7 8.50 7.47 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
8 8.50 10.9 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 8.502




ugs-03 Viewset ( quadro fx 4000 )
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Test Weight Frames DLB Visual Double Frame Buffer Depth Stencil
# Per Sec Sec ID Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer Buffer
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 16.50 29.9 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
2 16.50 38.9 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
3 16.50 29.9 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
4 16.50 34.5 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
5 8.50 59.8 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
6 8.50 59.8 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
7 8.50 59.7 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
8 8.50 59.7 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 40.46


Run All Summary ( 6800 GT)

---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 18.09

---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
drv-09 Weighted Geometric Mean = 7.045

---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
dx-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 58.77

---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
light-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 18.75

---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
proe-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 2.704

---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 8.498


Run All Summary ( Quadro FX 4000)

---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 36.73

---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
drv-09 Weighted Geometric Mean = 59.78

---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
dx-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 59.79

---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
light-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 41.77

---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
proe-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 45.16

---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 40.46
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
clokkevi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7-920 D0 @3.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: DDR3 Patriot 1600LL 12 GB
Soundcard: M-Audio FireWire 410
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 09-06-2006, 16:07 | posts: 368

Quote:
Originally Posted by schorsch07 View Post
Hello clokkevi,
here are my [SPECviewperf 7.1.1] test results.
Why are the results of your videocard considerably better than my videocard?
Very good!
Your results are much better in Quadro mode, so your mod *works*.

Regarding my results vs. your results:

There is something you need to do,
and that is to determine which driver version you want to use.
If you go to
http://www.nvidia.com/page/partner_c...d_drivers.html
you will see that 61.82 is the lastest that is cerified for Maxon Cinema4D
- in this list, at least.

I used 77.56 drivers, since they were the latest for Maya, Studio and XSI.
So if you want a 1:1 comparison with my results, you should install 77.56,
then do the procedure I describe below.

Before you run SPECviewperf tests, you should always do this procedure:

These are the settings which are used in the results on the SPEC site, e.g
http://www.spec.org/gpc/Oct1_04/opc....1/summary.html
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Set your resolution to 1280 x 1024, 32-bit color

Then go to "Performance & Quality settings"

Here, you should choose "- Global driver settings" in "Active profile:"



If it is possible to click the "Restore" button, then do this.

Also, set the "Global driver settings" -> "View:" to "Advanced settings"

In the end, it should look like this:


..these screenshots are not from my PC, I have AGP 8X so it says "Quadro FX 4000" instead of "GeForce 6800 Series"
Also, I use Windows Classic style with custom black / grey colors, like this:


Click "Apply" button, if it is possible. Do not click "OK" button yet.

First, find "Vertical Sync" and change from "Application-controlled" to "OFF"

This will enable the "Restore" button again, but this time, do not click it.

Instead, click "Apply" and then click "OK"

Then restart your PC.

Stop as much of the running, auto-starting programs as possible,
MSN Messenger etc., all those in the lower right corner of your screen.

Then do the SPECviewperf tests.
Do not even *move* the mouse when running the tests...!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Lastly, after you have done your testing, and you want best stability / performance from your program,
you need a certain file, "nvwsapps.xml".
This was not installed because of your PCI-E makes Windows see your card as a GeForce.

You need to manually extract "nvwsapps.xm_" from the driver version you use:
Open the driver installer with WinRAR, extract "nvwsapps.xm_"

Then expand it, from "nvwsapps.xm_" to "nvwsapps.xml".
This is done with the "expand.exe" command.
Copy "nvwsapps.xm_" to a folder c:\tmp

Open the Command Prompt, then enter
cd c:\tmp

Now enter
dir
Code:
C:\tmp>dir
 Volume in drive C has no label.
 Volume Serial Number is 1234-1234

 Directory of C:\tmp

06.09.2006  15:51    <DIR>          .
06.09.2006  15:51    <DIR>          ..
17.03.2006  14:16             9 439 NvwsApps.xm_
               1 File(s)          9 439 bytes
               2 Dir(s)   7 112 347 648 bytes free
This verifies that this is the correct folder, with "NvwsApps.xm_" inside

Then enter
expand nvwsapps.xm_ nvwsapps.xml
Code:
C:\tmp>expand NvwsApps.xm_ NvwsApps.xml
Microsoft (R) File Expansion Utility  Version 5.1.2600.0
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp 1990-1999.  All rights reserved.

Expanding nvwsapps.xm_ to nvwsapps.xml.
nvwsapps.xm_: 9439 bytes expanded to 63785 bytes, 575% increase.
Now you have the expanded file, "nvwsapps.xml" inside c:\tmp

Finally, copy this file to C:\WINDOWS\system32\
Enter
copy nvwsapps.xml %windir%\system32\
Code:
C:\tmp>copy nvwsapps.xml %windir%\system32\
        1 file(s) copied.
Then restart your PC.

This will make it possible to select Cinema4D from the in "Active profile:"
This is a preset that is certified to work with Cinema4D.

Last edited by clokkevi; 09-27-2006 at 22:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Here is my new result
Old
  (#59)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Default Here is my new result - 09-07-2006, 02:42 | posts: 15

Hello clokkevi,

here is my new result, i think the results are nearly the same as you have.
Now i just have to bring my system in an stabile condition, like you show it in your post.

Thanks for your help man

PS:
I have one more question. What are the differences of the quadro mode and the 6800 gt mode.
Are i am able to work faster in 3D scenes with much polygons and can use
more 3d features in the quadro mode ?



ugs-03 Viewset
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Test Weight Frames DLB Visual Double Frame Buffer Depth Stencil
# Per Sec Sec ID Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer Buffer
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 16.50 56.9 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
2 16.50 63.8 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
3 16.50 50.8 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
4 16.50 56.1 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
5 8.50 93.0 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
6 8.50 113 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
7 8.50 82.8 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
8 8.50 89.3 N/A 7 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 67.32
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
clokkevi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7-920 D0 @3.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: DDR3 Patriot 1600LL 12 GB
Soundcard: M-Audio FireWire 410
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 09-07-2006, 17:22 | posts: 368

Very, very, very good!

About your question:
To put it simple:
With Quadro mode, there are some features that are not avaible at all in GeForce mode,
- other features are run in GPU hardware in Quadro vs. CPU software in GeForce.

It really depends on what program you use.
NVidia made a comparison some years ago:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/quadro_geforce.html
But some programs have evolved a lot since this.
An example is 3ds Max. It has 3 drivers;
Direct3D, OpenGL and MAXtreme (a special OpenGL version)
MAXtreme is only possible to install and use if you have a Quadro.
While in 3ds max 4, at the time of the NVidia comparison,
the MAXtreme may have been the fastest driver,
nowadays in 3ds max 7 and 3ds Max 8, it seems as Direct3D is the fastest.
And Quadro gives only OpenGL enhancements.
It may be that Autodesk found out that 90% of the Max users did not have Quadro,
and so they started optmizing the program for the default Direct3D drivers.
Still, MAXtreme has options that makes the quality in the viewport better.

However, Autodesk Maya, and Alias Studio has Quadro in their "Qualified Hardware" lists, but no GeForces...
(..except 7800 GTX, but it is said to use "OpenGL preset: Maya", and AFAIK this is not possible on 7800 GTX,
as OpenGL presets are only available on Quadro's.. or so I thought!)
http://www.alias.com/eng/support/may...ya_80_win.html

So, as I said, it depends on the program.
I think the "supported hardware" is what counts most for the people who actually pay for Quadro cards..
If you run a studio, it is very important that your people don't have to stop working
because a program crashes. And if it do crash, it is important that you can call e.g. Autodesk,
and that Autodesk knows your graphic card and it's issues,
so they can give you help as fast as possible.
This may be much more important than higher framerates in the viewports,
which may be what most home-users worry about..!

Last edited by clokkevi; 09-08-2006 at 16:05.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#61)
pedrolito
Newbie
 
Videocard: POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
Processor: AMD A64 3000+ @ 2.52Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock K8Upgrade-NF3
Memory: Corsair XMS 512Mb x2
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-07-2006, 18:43 | posts: 39 | Location: Europe

Just to be sure, I have the opportunity to buy a 6800GT AGP, and its gpu is nv40 revision a1. Does this means that I have 100% chance to unlock it to FX4000?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
clokkevi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7-920 D0 @3.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: DDR3 Patriot 1600LL 12 GB
Soundcard: M-Audio FireWire 410
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 09-08-2006, 02:10 | posts: 368

Quote:
Originally Posted by pedrolito View Post
Just to be sure, I have the opportunity to buy a 6800GT AGP, and its gpu is nv40 revision a1. Does this means that I have 100% chance to unlock it to FX4000?
Yes!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
pedrolito
Newbie
 
Videocard: POV 6800GT @Ultra+ @Quadro FX4000
Processor: AMD A64 3000+ @ 2.52Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock K8Upgrade-NF3
Memory: Corsair XMS 512Mb x2
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-08-2006, 13:53 | posts: 39 | Location: Europe

Thanks mate I greatly appreciate your answer. I will post the results when I receive it.
   
Reply With Quote
I just found a NvApss.xm file
Old
  (#64)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Default I just found a NvApss.xm file - 09-08-2006, 17:18 | posts: 15

Hello clokkevi

I just found a NvApss.xm file ( not nvwsapps.xm ) it is the only xm file in the extract folder, is this the right one ?

Thanks for your help
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
nforced4good
Banned
 
nforced4good's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 7900GTX
Processor: AthlonFX60
Mainboard: Asus A8N32-SLI
Memory: 2GB Corsair Value
Soundcard: Soundblaster XI-FI
PSU: Antec TruePower 2.0 500w
Default 09-08-2006, 18:17 | posts: 1,261 | Location: NSW

nvapps.xm_ is the main profile xml file
nvwsapps.xml is for Quadro cards it contains profiles for the programs used commonly on quadro cards
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Default 09-08-2006, 21:23 | posts: 15

Is this the right one ( NvApss.xm ) i have to expand ( .xml ) and
put it in the system 32 folder ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
nforced4good
Banned
 
nforced4good's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 7900GTX
Processor: AthlonFX60
Mainboard: Asus A8N32-SLI
Memory: 2GB Corsair Value
Soundcard: Soundblaster XI-FI
PSU: Antec TruePower 2.0 500w
Default 09-08-2006, 21:29 | posts: 1,261 | Location: NSW

Nvapss is the game profiles
nvwsaps is the quadro, 3D program profiles

expand nvapps.xm_ to system32/nvapps.xml
and nvwsapps.xm_ to system32/nvwsapps.xml
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Default 09-08-2006, 23:38 | posts: 15

Hello nforced4good,

the problem is that the 61.82 driver version
( the latest certified for cinema4d ) has only a Nvapss.xm file and an
nvwsaps.xm file could not be found.
i have tested it with 3 other driver version and they all have this nvwsaps.xm
file but the 61.82 version has it not.
maybe you can give me further informations.

thank you
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
nforced4good
Banned
 
nforced4good's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 7900GTX
Processor: AthlonFX60
Mainboard: Asus A8N32-SLI
Memory: 2GB Corsair Value
Soundcard: Soundblaster XI-FI
PSU: Antec TruePower 2.0 500w
Default 09-09-2006, 00:13 | posts: 1,261 | Location: NSW

ignore nvwsaps then

you only really need nvapps.xml.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Default 09-09-2006, 00:54 | posts: 15

where can i found the folder c:\tmp
( is this the temp folder in the windows folder ? )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
nforced4good
Banned
 
nforced4good's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 7900GTX
Processor: AthlonFX60
Mainboard: Asus A8N32-SLI
Memory: 2GB Corsair Value
Soundcard: Soundblaster XI-FI
PSU: Antec TruePower 2.0 500w
Default 09-09-2006, 01:20 | posts: 1,261 | Location: NSW

in XP the temp folder is in C:\documents and settings\{user account}\local settings\temp\
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Default 09-09-2006, 02:33 | posts: 15

wonderfull now nvapps.xml file is in the system 32 folder.
i think the last step is that i select cinema 4d in the active profile
( but where can i find this )

thanks for your help
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
nforced4good
Banned
 
nforced4good's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 7900GTX
Processor: AthlonFX60
Mainboard: Asus A8N32-SLI
Memory: 2GB Corsair Value
Soundcard: Soundblaster XI-FI
PSU: Antec TruePower 2.0 500w
Default 09-09-2006, 05:14 | posts: 1,261 | Location: NSW

you don't need to select it, the profiles automatically activate when a game launchs.

just make sure cinema 4d is in there though, if not i'll look and see if any of my xml's have it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
schorsch07
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus (B) Extreme N6800GT
Processor: intel core2 duo E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
Memory: DDR2 533 1024MB Kingston
Soundcard: Onboard Sound and Labtec Stereophon
PSU: Zalman ZM460B-APS460 Watt
Default 09-09-2006, 14:08 | posts: 15

cinema 4D is not in there ( i look under nView Desktop Manager / profile is this
the right window )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
clokkevi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7-920 D0 @3.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: DDR3 Patriot 1600LL 12 GB
Soundcard: M-Audio FireWire 410
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 09-09-2006, 15:33 | posts: 368

No.. nvapps.xml contains only games profiles.

You NEED nvwsapps.xml.
Only nvwsapps.xml contain Cinema 4D and other professional profiles.

EDIT:

In the old drivers, like 61.82, it was called nvwsapps.cfg, not nvwsapps.xml

I am sorry, I forgot this...!
I will upload one for you to rapidshare.de..


Here it is:

http://rapidshare.de/files/32504862/..._6182.zip.html

Extract this to

C:\WINDOWS\system32\

Then restart your PC.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
This nvwsapps.cfg is for 61.82.
If you later change to a newer driver, 8x.xx or 9x.xx
they will need a nvwsapps.xml, not nvwsapps.cfg

Last edited by clokkevi; 09-09-2006 at 16:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.