Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX, GPGPU etc.
Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX, GPGPU etc. In this section you can discuss general purpose application that run over your GPU, like transcoding, Physics simulation etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Emulating OpenGL 2.0 for Intel 915GM graphics?
Old
  (#1)
Seestern
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default Emulating OpenGL 2.0 for Intel 915GM graphics? - 11-15-2005, 14:18 | posts: 12

Hi,
i need OpenGL 2.0 for my Laptop with Intel 915GM graphics chipset. Intel only supports 1.4. Does anyone know a opportunity to emulate og 2.0 with a software tool or something similar?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Glidefan
Don Booze
 
Glidefan's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850 | 8600M GS
Processor: C2Q Q6600 | C2D T5550
Mainboard: ASUS P5W DH Deluxe
Memory: 6144MB | 4096MB
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS | ALC 888
PSU: Aurora 600w | 90w AC
Default 11-15-2005, 16:29 | posts: 11,968 | Location: Solar System, Earth, Med, Cyprus

You could try the latest version of 3DAnalyzer, but i don't know if that would help much. If you are able to sort of emulate the 2.0 extensions, it will be slow. Or i think you might be able to sort of trick the system into thinking that it supports 2.0, but not actually show any of the 2.0 tricks. Why do you need 2.0 for on your laptop? Perhaps there is a way or use something else that doesn't need OpenGL 2.0
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Seestern
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-15-2005, 20:42 | posts: 12

I tried it with 3danalyse but with no success. OpenGL is not really the problem. I wonder why it does not work with Direct X.

I want to use RenderMonkey from ATI for shader programming.

After i know it i would had been better to buy a laptop with ati/nvidia card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
realdude19
Member Guru
 
realdude19's Avatar
 
Videocard: 9600GT 512mb PCIx16 2.0
Processor: Phenom 9850 BE 3Ghz LQ'd
Mainboard: ASUS M3N78-EMH
Memory: GeIL 2GB (PC2 6400)x4
Soundcard: S.B. Extigy w/Cambridge S
PSU: Antec 750w
Default 11-21-2005, 22:24 | posts: 51 | Location: Spokane WA

yeah that sucks, I have a dell latitude d500 that my dad gave me and it could use some help too. when you were looking for opengl stuff did you find anything on overclocking these things?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-21-2005, 22:32 | posts: n/a

you can't emulate opengl2.0

opengl 2.0 is the shader language, you require a video card capable of shader model 2.0/3.0

the intel chip is a fixed function chip and can not handle opengl 2.0

it should be capable of opengl1.5 though... its strange it isn't,
blame intel for not using decent integrated graphics.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Seestern
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-22-2005, 08:26 | posts: 12

The Intel915gm chip supports only Opengl 1.4. It supports pixel and vertex shader 2.0. It is a DirectX 9 card. But it has no T & L engine.
You can use RenderMonkey if you install the DirectX SDK from MS. With the SDK you can emulate the DX9 shaders within RM.

I have got a message from Intel regarding to this problem:

"Our graphics controllers are discrete controllers embedded into motherboards and laptops as an integrated and cost-effective video solution. We are not competing in the graphics market nor we comment or compare our products with those of third party manufacturers."
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Mannerheim
Ancient Guru
 
Mannerheim's Avatar
 
Videocard: VTX3D R9 280x
Processor: AMD FX8150
Mainboard: Asus M5A99X Evo
Memory: Kingston 2x4GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: X-fi Xtreme Gamer 5.1
PSU: Chieftec 700W
Default 12-01-2005, 18:21 | posts: 4,563 | Location: Finland / Helsinki

wow. Even old nvidia vanta from 90***180;s support that OpenGL 1.4


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-02-2005, 08:08 | posts: n/a

as far as i remember.. no intel graphics supports pixel shading
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Dojomann
Ancient Guru
 
Dojomann's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 275 896MB
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: G.Skill 6GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750w
Default 12-06-2005, 04:46 | posts: 3,637 | Location: Windsor, ON, Canada

yea they do. the two latest ones the 915 and 945 have ps2.0. I should know. I use it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-07-2005, 06:52 | posts: n/a

ahuh.. they won't go that fast then... considering the cpu has to do it.. which means its just software accelerated...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Dojomann
Ancient Guru
 
Dojomann's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 275 896MB
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: G.Skill 6GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750w
Default 12-07-2005, 22:50 | posts: 3,637 | Location: Windsor, ON, Canada

nah the pixel shader is done by hardware. only the vertex shader is done by the cpu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-07-2005, 23:13 | posts: n/a

i doubt it, if T&L is done via rasteriser then PS will be as well as the pixel shader makes calls on some t&l functions
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Dr. Vodka
Ancient Guru
 
Dr. Vodka's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 6850 1GB @ 930/1180
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5 Ghz 1.26v
Mainboard: Sabertooth P67
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3-1333 @ 1866
Soundcard: Xonar DX+DIY amp + PX100
PSU: PC P&C Silencer 750w
Default 12-07-2005, 23:48 | posts: 3,802 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by {HLH}
i doubt it, if T&L is done via rasteriser then PS will be as well as the pixel shader makes calls on some t&l functions
IMO, Intel's design works, but the support of pixel shaders is just marketing. Without a T&L engine, all that damn vertex data will eat CPU cycles, as well the PS engine will have less performance. (AFAIK PS data is rendered in the pixel pipes, and it doesn't use transform calls, but lightning calls, these are rendered in the PS pipeline... think of the Transform as the vertex shader and the Lightning as the pixel shader) That integrated solution is good for CS 1.6, AOE2 and light DX7 games, and windows use.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-09-2005, 03:01 | posts: n/a

thanks Doc

so in the end... its all marketing bs,.. and an intel chip couldn't possible have enough power to render a shader... lmao id like to see it play nfs:mw HAHAHA
   
Reply With Quote
hmm
Old
  (#15)
nirvek
Newbie
 
Videocard: Mobile Intel 915GM
Processor: Pentium M 725a (1,6GHz)
Mainboard: NEC EasyNote L4
Memory: Single DDR 512Mb 333
Soundcard: Conexant AC-link
PSU: NiMh 4Ah Battery
Default hmm - 12-15-2005, 19:33 | posts: 44 | Location: Poland

ya , software vertex shader lowering performance , could be part of vertex shader code emulated by pixel shader? many games stil dont use ps but many have high overload by vertex shader calculations ... sorry for my bad english
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-16-2005, 01:07 | posts: n/a

geforce 4 mx 440 has 1 vertex pipeline.. so your correct there
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
nirvek
Newbie
 
Videocard: Mobile Intel 915GM
Processor: Pentium M 725a (1,6GHz)
Mainboard: NEC EasyNote L4
Memory: Single DDR 512Mb 333
Soundcard: Conexant AC-link
PSU: NiMh 4Ah Battery
Default 12-16-2005, 08:35 | posts: 44 | Location: Poland

i had gf 4 mx 4000 , ya this had t&l and hardware vertex shader but now i have laptop with mobile i915gm which have pixel shader 2.0 hardware but vertex shader only in software , so i was ask if software vertex shader emulation can use pixel shader to calculating something , maybe performance would increse cause cpu cant calculate everything (phisics , ai , rest of game and all calculations for vertex shader)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
nirvek
Newbie
 
Videocard: Mobile Intel 915GM
Processor: Pentium M 725a (1,6GHz)
Mainboard: NEC EasyNote L4
Memory: Single DDR 512Mb 333
Soundcard: Conexant AC-link
PSU: NiMh 4Ah Battery
Default 12-16-2005, 08:38 | posts: 44 | Location: Poland

i mean if could software vertex shader use pixel shader for fpu calculations for lightning bumping and other related tasks ...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-16-2005, 09:53 | posts: n/a

nup, both are 2 different mechanisms
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
nirvek
Newbie
 
Videocard: Mobile Intel 915GM
Processor: Pentium M 725a (1,6GHz)
Mainboard: NEC EasyNote L4
Memory: Single DDR 512Mb 333
Soundcard: Conexant AC-link
PSU: NiMh 4Ah Battery
Default 12-16-2005, 15:43 | posts: 44 | Location: Poland

but for pixel shader we can write own programs then why what can do cpu pixel shader cant do?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
nirvek
Newbie
 
Videocard: Mobile Intel 915GM
Processor: Pentium M 725a (1,6GHz)
Mainboard: NEC EasyNote L4
Memory: Single DDR 512Mb 333
Soundcard: Conexant AC-link
PSU: NiMh 4Ah Battery
Default 12-16-2005, 15:51 | posts: 44 | Location: Poland

returning to topic , i was check with opengl extension viewer and shows that intel drivers support opengl 1.4 100% but 1.5 only in 66% and 2.0 in 11% , is this because of hardware (915gm) or because of drivers?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Wolverine69r
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-16-2005, 17:14 | posts: n/a

opengl 1.5 is the vertex objects

and 2.0 is the shader objects.. this is purely hardware
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
nirvek
Newbie
 
Videocard: Mobile Intel 915GM
Processor: Pentium M 725a (1,6GHz)
Mainboard: NEC EasyNote L4
Memory: Single DDR 512Mb 333
Soundcard: Conexant AC-link
PSU: NiMh 4Ah Battery
Default 12-17-2005, 10:45 | posts: 44 | Location: Poland

if 915gm have pixel shader 2.0 then only problem is in vertex shader? cant intel drivers emulate vertex shader and caps for opengl like in directx?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Wolverine69r
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-17-2005, 10:53 | posts: n/a

lol

ok its like this

Pixel shader requires the use of the T&L engine.. the intel chip can't do this via hardware so technically its a false pixel shader and will suffer greatly.

the vertex line can be emulated by cpu but you'll just make the performace hit worse

your better off just using fixed function calls
   
Reply With Quote
uh
Old
  (#25)
nirvek
Newbie
 
Videocard: Mobile Intel 915GM
Processor: Pentium M 725a (1,6GHz)
Mainboard: NEC EasyNote L4
Memory: Single DDR 512Mb 333
Soundcard: Conexant AC-link
PSU: NiMh 4Ah Battery
Default uh - 12-19-2005, 20:15 | posts: 44 | Location: Poland

i have another problem ... i was try run diferend opengl demos and always i have error : ARB_multisample and EXT_texture3D and EXT_texture_edge_clamp <- not found .... But OpenGL Extension Viewer shows that 915GM support it .... What is wrong?? (multisample is in opengl v1,3 rest in 1,2)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.