Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Geforce 6600 GT High idle Temp?
Old
  (#1)
Jameshuden
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 @1800 MHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte 945P-S3
Memory: GeIL 2GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: 550 Watt PSU
Default Geforce 6600 GT High idle Temp? - 09-02-2005, 05:55 | posts: 149 | Location: Dayton, Ohio

I am running a BFG 6600 GT and I just edited the bios to enable the Temperature monitor and It worked but what I want to know Is should this card be running at 68C to 70C idle? and 120C to 125C under full load?
I have been reading other post of people running 55C to 60C Idle and 70C to 80C under full load. I am running the 77.77 drivers, stock cooling and It Is not overclocked Is this normal?

Last edited by Jameshuden; 09-02-2005 at 06:54.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
bopchie612
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-02-2005, 06:53 | posts: n/a

ya thats a lil warm might want to cleant it out probaly covered in dust
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Jameshuden
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 @1800 MHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte 945P-S3
Memory: GeIL 2GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: 550 Watt PSU
Default 09-02-2005, 08:29 | posts: 149 | Location: Dayton, Ohio

Well I pulled the card. Cleaned the fan and I have a fan mounted on the lower part of my side panel and It Is blowing directly on the video card and I still can not get the temp to go down but maybe a degree or two. Now I am running 68C to 70C Idle..
Also the temp In side my case Is a cool 26C and my CPU runs at a cool 42C. What can I do?? Is the temp bug In the 77.77 drivers?
   
Reply With Quote
6600GT overheating
Old
  (#4)
MB1_618
Newbie
 
MB1_618's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2Gigabyte 6600GT GV-NX66T128D
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3500+/Winchester 2500
Mainboard: Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
Memory: Corsair TWINX1024-3200C2
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro on Yamaha
PSU: Tagan TG480-U01 PSU
Default 6600GT overheating - 09-02-2005, 09:12 | posts: 19 | Location: Slovenia

I Had exactly the same problem with my two Gigabyte 6600GTs SLI ,almost the same temperatures. I solve this with buying two Zalman VF700Cu VGA coolers and some Artic Silver 5 Thermal compound +Thermal Material Remouver & Surface Purifer.

Link to Reviews:http://www.hardcoreware.net/reviews/review-272-1.htm
http://www.hardwarexl.com/index.php?...mid=41&lang=en

Zalman:http://www.zalman.co.kr/

Artic Silver:http://www.arcticsilver.com/

My problem apear suddenly after 4 mouths of use .No dust,no vent failure nothing,

Now my temps. are 47-50C (idle) 60-63C (load) now is summer,but in winter i aspect 2-3C degree drop.
Now are one mounth in use.

Warnning for 6600 AGP versions the cooler dont fit properly !

Link:http://www.zalman.co.kr/product/cool...600GT_eng.html

Alernative:http://www.arctic-cooling.com/vga2.php?idx=62

Sorry for Bad English!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
ViperXtreme
Ancient Guru
 
ViperXtreme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 7.1 HD
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 09-02-2005, 10:17 | posts: 2,921 | Location: Philippines

make sure the HSF is in proper contact with the GPU, check if a thermal compound is in between the HSF and the GPU core.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Jameshuden
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 @1800 MHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte 945P-S3
Memory: GeIL 2GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: 550 Watt PSU
Default 09-09-2005, 12:32 | posts: 149 | Location: Dayton, Ohio

Fist off how do I check the thermal compound on the card? I have never pulled a video card apart before and I don't want to mess It up.. Also for some reason the Idle Temp has went up to around 75C. How can I cool this card down until I can buy a new fan for It??

Last edited by Jameshuden; 09-10-2005 at 04:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Jameshuden
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 @1800 MHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte 945P-S3
Memory: GeIL 2GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: 550 Watt PSU
Default 09-10-2005, 04:39 | posts: 149 | Location: Dayton, Ohio

What could be causing this card to run such a high Idle Temp. I have 3 120mm fans In my system and one Is blowing right on the video card and I can not get It to run much lower than 70C.. Someone please help.. I don't want to burn this card up..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
tytlyf
Master Guru
 
tytlyf's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVga 6800GS 485/1.15
Processor: Opty 170 @ 2.8 z9500
Mainboard: DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D
Memory: G.Skill 1GBFX @ DDR560
Soundcard: Onboard nVidia
PSU: OCZ 700w GXSSLI
Default 09-10-2005, 06:14 | posts: 411 | Location: SoCal

it's very easy to remove the stock heatsink. Takes a minute to do and it's harmless. I would go buy some arctic silver 5 so that when you take it off and clean that old junk paste they use, you can reseat the heatsink and your temps should drop significantly.
Just look at how the heatsink is attached, and go from there. piece 'o cake
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Jameshuden
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 @1800 MHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte 945P-S3
Memory: GeIL 2GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: 550 Watt PSU
Default 09-10-2005, 14:08 | posts: 149 | Location: Dayton, Ohio

I will give It a try. thanks for your help. I will let you know If It works.. I have some arctic silver 5 that I used on my CPU so I will give It a try..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Jameshuden
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 @1800 MHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte 945P-S3
Memory: GeIL 2GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: 550 Watt PSU
Default 09-11-2005, 00:04 | posts: 149 | Location: Dayton, Ohio

Well I was wrong I had some OCZ Ultra II. I removed the heat sink and fan unit and applied some OCZ Ultra II and my Idle temp Is now running at 60C to 62C. That Is almost a 15 degree drop In my Idle temp. I have not ran any games yet but I will see what happens under load later.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
rebelflag
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2X XFX GTX 260 Black Ed
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
Mainboard: EVGA 750i FTW
Memory: 4GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Onboard Sound - Creative
PSU: Corsair 750 Watt
Default 09-11-2005, 02:28 | posts: 71 | Location: IL - USA

Let us know how it works under load. I have an evga 6600gt that is showing artifacts in 3DMark03 and 05. I have a feeling that it is heat related. The timings are all stock.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Jameshuden
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 @1800 MHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte 945P-S3
Memory: GeIL 2GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: 550 Watt PSU
Default 09-11-2005, 05:53 | posts: 149 | Location: Dayton, Ohio

Well Its running 105C to 110C under full load at stock speed. I am not sure If that Is good or not. I was playing Earth 2160 In 1280 x 1024 res with all settings on high.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
ViperXtreme
Ancient Guru
 
ViperXtreme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 7.1 HD
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 09-11-2005, 07:08 | posts: 2,921 | Location: Philippines

i think thats still pretty hot, mine runs around 77-85C(depending on the game) on stock speed/stock cooling, never gets beyond 100C, and i live on a tropical country with no airconditioning.... (then again, you have a BFG OC version which is overclocked at stock, you should check the heatsink mounting more).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Jameshuden
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 @1800 MHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte 945P-S3
Memory: GeIL 2GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: 550 Watt PSU
Default 09-11-2005, 07:33 | posts: 149 | Location: Dayton, Ohio

Well I just played Madden and It ran between 70C and 80C and thats at 1600 x 1200 res with all settings on high so It might have to do with what game I am playing..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
ViperXtreme
Ancient Guru
 
ViperXtreme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 7.1 HD
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 09-11-2005, 07:52 | posts: 2,921 | Location: Philippines

you may wanna try this 20MB HDR rendering demo,
http://www.daionet.gr.jp/%7Emasa/rthdribl/index.html

*edit: fixed link

Last edited by ViperXtreme; 09-12-2005 at 09:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Jameshuden
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 @1800 MHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte 945P-S3
Memory: GeIL 2GB DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: 550 Watt PSU
Default 09-11-2005, 20:06 | posts: 149 | Location: Dayton, Ohio

I can't even get the demo to play..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
drwngflies
Maha Guru
 
drwngflies's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX260
Processor: AMD X2 6400 @ 3.36 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M2N SLi / nVidia 560
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR2 2x2GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fatality
PSU: 650w Enermax
Default 09-12-2005, 07:25 | posts: 1,119 | Location: Tenneessee

I had a Leadtek 6600Gt before this 6800, and it also ran hot:
low 70's idle, and 90-95'C max
I contacted nVidia, and they recommended a MAX temp of 90'C for all their chips, GPU, RAM, etc (samsung RAM)
Installed Zalman VF700CU and dropped temps @ idle 12'C bringing it down to max of 75'C during Rthdbril, which is very taxxing on the Card, if run at larger resolutions.
http://www.daionet.gr.jp/%7Emasa/rthdribl/index.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
ViperXtreme
Ancient Guru
 
ViperXtreme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 7.1 HD
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 09-12-2005, 09:20 | posts: 2,921 | Location: Philippines

Quote:
Originally posted by Jameshuden
I can't even get the demo to play..
odd, try using other drivers. I use this utility to heavily tax my card without consuming too much resources and to test artifacts.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
rought
Master Guru
 
Videocard: twin XFX 6800GT sli
Processor: AMD 3800/water cooled
Mainboard: A8N-sli delux
Memory: 2 gigs corsar 400ddr
Soundcard:
PSU: 600watt
Default 09-12-2005, 09:28 | posts: 252 | Location: california

lap the bottom of the heat sink there not even close to being flat..
I have that same card I use for a back up .. made big difference
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Pelzimus
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GF560Ti OC
Processor: Intel C2Q9540@3,4GHz
Mainboard: ASrock P45XE
Memory: 4GB DDR2-1066MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Corsair 500W
Default 09-12-2005, 10:32 | posts: 74 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally posted by drwngflies
I contacted nVidia, and they recommended a MAX temp of 90'C for all their chips, GPU, RAM, etc (samsung RAM)
If that's what they recommend, then why the heck is that critical temperature treshold in forceware drivers bolted to 145 degrees and I can't change it?? Wouldn't the GPU be jammed/damaged already before reaching such temperatures...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
rebelflag
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2X XFX GTX 260 Black Ed
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
Mainboard: EVGA 750i FTW
Memory: 4GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: Onboard Sound - Creative
PSU: Corsair 750 Watt
Default 09-15-2005, 01:21 | posts: 71 | Location: IL - USA

I am thinking about going to the vantec Iceberg5 on mine. Anyone know anything about that fan? I am also curious as to whether it will leave enough room to run 2 in SLI on my board. Any one know?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Firstperson
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 260
Processor: E8400
Mainboard: XGX 750i
Memory: OCZ
Soundcard: X-FI
PSU: Corsair 650
Default 09-15-2005, 05:54 | posts: 688 | Location: West Michigan

For better reasons use the newest driver. 78.03 seems great.

I have an XFX 6600GT, agp, with a zalman CU. what I also did is put a fan blowing in from the side of my case. That dropped my idle temps and extra 5degC. I am now running 46-50 idle and 60-62 load depending on ambient room temp.

70-80 load i think is fine, going over 100 I would start to worry. either you case has Zero air flow or the heat sink is not sitting correctly

Later

Last edited by Firstperson; 09-15-2005 at 05:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
fabolaos
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-15-2005, 07:06 | posts: n/a

with my card with zalman.. my card idles at 42c fulload at 50c
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Ish
Master Guru
 
Ish's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 560 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.0
Mainboard: ASUS EVO 880G AM3+
Memory: CORSAIR 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: 600W OCZ
Default 09-15-2005, 08:34 | posts: 413 | Location: California

mine is running stock at 40 idle and 92 Full load.. im using articsilver and stock heatsink and fan.

my system temp is 30c and my Cpu is 32-45c full load

seems like these cards get hot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Vinnie
Ancient Guru
 
Vinnie's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x AMD R9 290X
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1020W
Default 09-15-2005, 13:49 | posts: 7,470 | Location: The Netherlands

the temps r pritty high
mod it with a zalman vf700cu and ur problem is solved (if not, then its a driver problem)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.