Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
DirectX Error (d3dx9_25.dll)
Old
  (#1)
Gurdy
Registered User
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon X700 PRO
Processor: Pentium 4
Mainboard: Gateway
Memory: DDR 512mb
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default DirectX Error (d3dx9_25.dll) - 06-23-2005, 02:12 | posts: 6

I first noticed this extremly aggravating error last week when I attempted to install the Battlefield 2. It also happened when I attempted to boot up the F.E.A.R beta. I can't run them. I get the same error every time I try to run the games: error, d3dx9_25.dll not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem. Well surprise, surprise! It doesn't help. I try to install DirectX 9.0c. No luck. My computer won't let me. It says that it hasn't passed the windows security check. Great. Now I'm stuck. Finally, one of my friends tells me a way to turn the 9.0b install into a 9.0c install. It works! But wait, the same error comes up. Same with FEAR. Now I'm quite positive that when I buy BF2 tommorow, my game will not work because Windows won't let me use it. I can't install DX 9.0c, I can't turn off the driver check, and apparantly there's nothing I can do. So I figure some of you guys might be able to help me, and make the impossible possible. Please help!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
computerdude
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-23-2005, 02:18 | posts: n/a

Your card doesn't support DX9.0c. No offense but that is a very bad video card. The best thing you can do is find any cheap card that has 9.0c support and you should be fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
computerdude
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-23-2005, 02:19 | posts: n/a

Oh and I think you'll need 2gb of ram to run the game at least you need it in the demo of BF2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Gurdy
Registered User
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon X700 PRO
Processor: Pentium 4
Mainboard: Gateway
Memory: DDR 512mb
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-23-2005, 02:48 | posts: 6

What's a good PCI card to get?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
computerdude
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-23-2005, 02:52 | posts: n/a

Check newegg.com,zipzoomfly.com,xpcgear.com for good prices on video cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
S_Kinton
Maha Guru
 
S_Kinton's Avatar
 
Videocard: 512mb 8800GT & 22" Samsung LCD
Processor: Intel Q6600 G0
Mainboard: Abit IP-35 Dark Raider
Memory: 4Gb (2x2Gb) Corsair PC6400
Soundcard: SB Audigy 4 => Logitech X-530
PSU: 535w Enermax SLi PSU 38a
Default 06-23-2005, 16:50 | posts: 1,884 | Location: Leeds

Quote:
Originally posted by computerdude
Oh and I think you'll need 2gb of ram to run the game at least you need it in the demo of BF2.
I disagree. The peak usage ive seen for the game is 750mb. This 2gb thing is getting out of hand. Theres no real reason to upgrade to 2gb just for BF2
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Clements
Maha Guru
 
Clements's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 670
Processor: Intel i5 4650K
Mainboard: MSI Z87 GD45
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Antec Trupower 850W
Default 06-23-2005, 17:22 | posts: 903 | Location: Britain

I very much doubt that this is a video card problem. X300 is DirectX 9.0 compliant.

That file sounds like a DirectX 9.0 SDK file. You can do a search and find the d3dx9_25.dll file and put it in the same folder as the executable for the game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Animatrix
Ancient Guru
 
Animatrix's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 8800GT OC2 512
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
Mainboard: ABIT IP35 Pro
Memory: Corsair XMS2 4x1GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Corsair VX550W
Default 06-23-2005, 18:07 | posts: 6,844 | Location: Denmark

^^ Yes that sounds right. You can find it on the DVD.

Navigated to the /directx folder on the DVD
d3dx9_25.dll is inside the file Apr2005_d3dx9_25_x86.cab (compressed) copy d3dx9_25.dll to the Battlefield 2 folder.

Or you can D/L it here. (i have AV scaned it)
http://www.m3fe.com/files/d3dx9_25.zip
==
http://www.tacticalgamer.com/showthread.php?t=55256
http://www.m3fe.com/760/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Gurdy
Registered User
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon X700 PRO
Processor: Pentium 4
Mainboard: Gateway
Memory: DDR 512mb
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-23-2005, 22:13 | posts: 6

Okay, well. Now it works, but Battlefield just doesn't like my computer, so looks like a memory upgrade and a new video card are in order. Thanks, though.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.