Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Can you connect a PS2 to my X800 Pro VIVO
Old
  (#1)
thommo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX680 SLI
Processor: Intel 2700K @ 5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Xifi Fatality
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default Can you connect a PS2 to my X800 Pro VIVO - 12-09-2004, 15:08 | posts: 192

Is it possible to connect a ps2 into my X800 Pro VIVO so I can use a ps2 on my LCD monitor?

I kow I could buy a VGA box for a ps 2 but if it is possible not to then that would give me more money to buy a few games.

Cheers

Thommo
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
UZ7
Ancient Guru
 
UZ7's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 - XL2720T
Processor: i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Gene
Memory: 8GB Samsung 30nm
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-09-2004, 15:15 | posts: 5,269 | Location: Everyday Rain Florida

You might be able to if you can manage to hook it via input or s-video... but you might get restricted in resolution and end up inadequate for gameplay.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
thedeath2k4
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-09-2004, 22:56 | posts: n/a

yes... what you do is use your Video In cord, plug the conection from the PS2 into it, and launch the TV program in Ati Multimedia Center.. I do it all the time to watch tv and record programs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
thommo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX680 SLI
Processor: Intel 2700K @ 5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Xifi Fatality
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 12-10-2004, 12:06 | posts: 192

Can you tell me does it look any good at all or is the image quality poor?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mark
Maha Guru
 
Mark's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD4870
Processor: Intel QX9650@4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme
Memory: 2x2GB G-Skill PI DDR3
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Xtreme Musi
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1000W
Default 12-10-2004, 12:15 | posts: 1,627 | Location: Portsmouth UK

well it will only run at TV resolutions which is 640x480. so it would look poor
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
thommo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX680 SLI
Processor: Intel 2700K @ 5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Xifi Fatality
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 12-10-2004, 12:46 | posts: 192

thanks for that- I'll go out and by a digital scaler then!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
SL2
Ancient Guru
 
SL2's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATi HD3870 / Dell 2007WFP
Processor: AMD64 X2 @ 2.85Ghz
Mainboard: Shuttle SN21G5
Memory: 2GB DDR 500
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2 ZS / In
PSU: 550w External
Default 12-10-2004, 18:11 | posts: 4,367 | Location: UK

Well, you can run it as 640x480 windowed [looks fine] or 640x480 scaled to full screen [Looks quite poor].
Most digital scalers that I've seen tend to just multply the scanline height & width which results in bad aliasing [Not very different from your monitor's built in scaling]. Some are a little more advanced, but very expensive. Blaze do a box that hacks the internal game resolution but it's also expensive and relies on "cheatcodes".

BTW, use DScaler to view the signal, it comes with lots of nice fliters to help improve the picture quality and colour saturation:
http://deinterlace.sourceforge.net/
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.