Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
i need a switch/ router
Old
  (#1)
[TheFORCE]
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default i need a switch/ router - 09-27-2004, 05:58 | posts: n/a

yeah i need a router that i can use to share my connection and share the printer and fax connected to my pc. any suggestions?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
gram_vaz
Ancient Guru
 
gram_vaz's Avatar
 
Videocard: Leadtek 6800GT 350/1100
Processor: Athlon 2800+ Barton @2.2G
Mainboard: Abit NFS-7 V2.0
Memory: Geil 1GB 2-3-3-6
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Antec 430W
Default 09-27-2004, 06:57 | posts: 6,925 | Location: Long Beach, California

these linksys routers always get high praise. i'm getting one myself to connect two computers.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...124-001&depa=0
this one has a firewall in the router
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...124-007&depa=0
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
adair_fett
Banned
 
adair_fett's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus V9999 Ultra - GeForce 6800 Ultra
Processor: Pentium 4 Extreme Edition 3.2 OC to 3.76 (235 FSB)
Mainboard: Abit IC7-MAX3
Memory: 2gb Mushkin 222 special (4x512)
Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy2 ZS - Klipsch Promedia 5.1
PSU: Lian-Li PC-V2100-A Case, Samsung 172x
Default 09-27-2004, 07:08 | posts: 7,387 | Location: Eastern Oregon

Linksys routers are okay, just had a bad experience with them in japan, where they were not compatible with internet ISP's over there. Since then I have used D-Link routers, very good IMO.

Nothing wrong with linksys routers though.


Ted Kennedy's car has killed more people than my assault rifle.

Blaming Guns for Crime is like Blaming Spoons for Rosie O'Donnel being fat.

He who would disarm me threatens my life and will be dealt with accordingly.

Tristis nuntio Martios decendisse et, eheu, truculentos esse, sed laetus nuntio illos odisse Arabes oleumque octanum meire
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nm+
Don Cappuccino
 
nm+'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 6800gt (2xDVI) 2x172x
Processor: 2500-M(2.4Ghz@1.72v)
Mainboard: nforce2 ultra 400
Memory: 1GB Mushkin (2-3-3) PC-32
Soundcard: Sndstrm, Promedia U5.1,de
PSU: Shuttle Silentx 250W
Default 09-27-2004, 08:11 | posts: 10,366 | Location: Not Minneapolis

Use netgear FR114Ps. I've had pretty good luck with them. You can do a lot of stuff with them thats not in most sub-$100 routers and they seem to last a bit longer than other brands, plus they have a good warrenty (5 or 3 years depending on when you bought it/when it was pakaged)
The printer server with lpt support (don't use the included software, just lpt) is useful too, though it doesn't support usb.
/Not to be confused with netgears cheap line routers, which kind of suck.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
[TheFORCE]
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-27-2004, 14:07 | posts: n/a

i already have a linksys router with 4 port switch what i want to get is something that does everything, so i can print from my other computer too or get something that i can connect to my router and be able to print. will this do with my current router?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...122-028&depa=0
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Bluedog
Maha Guru
 
Bluedog's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N680GTX TF 2GD5/OC
Processor: i7 3770K/Corsair H60
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X
Soundcard: SB -Z|Klipsch Pro 2.1
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 09-27-2004, 14:37 | posts: 2,689 | Location: Near New Orleans, La.

Quote:
Originally posted by [TheFORCE]
i already have a linksys router with 4 port switch what i want to get is something that does everything, so i can print from my other computer too or get something that i can connect to my router and be able to print. will this do with my current router?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...122-028&depa=0
That's what I need. Wonder if it works with a Linksys router?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
[TheFORCE]
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-27-2004, 19:35 | posts: n/a

yeah i wonder about that too lol, anyone here knows?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.