Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Consoles & console games
Consoles & console games This section is for all hardcore console gamers out there .. XBOX 360, PlayStation 3, Wii Threads with posts in January 2007 can be found in General Hardware



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 FTW
Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z170
Memory: 32GB Corsair 2666MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Default 07-23-2014, 10:35 | posts: 15,620 | Location: USA

So I decided to start playing this. Pretty good game so far. The only thing I hate is that the fan in the PS4 get's really loud when playing this game. I assume this is normall? I play with headphones, so I don't hear it except for when it took them off. That's when I noticed it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
SerotoNiN
Maha Guru
 
SerotoNiN's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 1070 8GB
Processor: Intel i5 6600k @3.5GHZ
Mainboard: MSI G1 Gaming Board
Memory: 32GB DDR4 3200 G.Skill
Soundcard: SB X-FI MB3
PSU: CoolerMaster 700-Watt 52A
Default 07-23-2014, 16:04 | posts: 1,849 | Location: Chicago

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
So I decided to start playing this. Pretty good game so far. The only thing I hate is that the fan in the PS4 get's really loud when playing this game. I assume this is normall? I play with headphones, so I don't hear it except for when it took them off. That's when I noticed it.
Never noticed the fan, I'll have to check. I still run through a level in single player from time to time.

Thanks for the head's up on the free mp levels.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 FTW
Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z170
Memory: 32GB Corsair 2666MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Default 08-10-2014, 11:03 | posts: 15,620 | Location: USA

So I just finished Chapter 3 and noticed some pretty bad stutter on the ship. Especially in the parts where you were in zero g. Did anyone else notice it too? If I put the 30 fps lock on, it was a little better. For the most part the stutter has been at a minimum, even without using the 30 fps lock. So far, I am really liking the game and the graphics are really great too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
BangTail
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080Ti SLI (2)
Processor: Intel i7 5960X @ 4.4/H110
Mainboard: EVGA X99 Classified
Memory: 64GB GSKILL DDR4 @ 2666
Soundcard: SB ZxR
PSU: Antec HCP-1300 PSU
Default 08-10-2014, 12:41 | posts: 2,229 | Location: Canada

Ill throw in here as well, excellent game and definitely on par with any PC FPS (the only major complaint I have is aiming with a controller, once you are used to mouse and keyboard, it feels really alien - sort of like wearing gloves that are covered in oil).

I am getting better though

I'm not sure why Killzone gets so much hate either but this seems to be common with the launch titles on both platforms.

Last edited by BangTail; 08-10-2014 at 12:44.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
SerotoNiN
Maha Guru
 
SerotoNiN's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 1070 8GB
Processor: Intel i5 6600k @3.5GHZ
Mainboard: MSI G1 Gaming Board
Memory: 32GB DDR4 3200 G.Skill
Soundcard: SB X-FI MB3
PSU: CoolerMaster 700-Watt 52A
Default 08-11-2014, 18:30 | posts: 1,849 | Location: Chicago

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
So I just finished Chapter 3 and noticed some pretty bad stutter on the ship. Especially in the parts where you were in zero g. Did anyone else notice it too? If I put the 30 fps lock on, it was a little better. For the most part the stutter has been at a minimum, even without using the 30 fps lock. So far, I am really liking the game and the graphics are really great too.
I noticed the stuttering on the ship when I played it at launch, never went back to that part. I figured they would have patched that up by now. Glad you're enjoying it aside from that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080 FTW
Processor: Intel i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z170
Memory: 32GB Corsair 2666MHz
Soundcard: Magni 2 Uber/Modi 2 Uber
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Default 08-12-2014, 12:19 | posts: 15,620 | Location: USA

dat ending.

I hope Sony puts the Killzone series on their list of remastered titles. I would love to play the other games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
Strikerx80
Ancient Guru
 
Strikerx80's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 980 Ti SC +120/+300
Processor: i7 6700k @ 4.6 ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170x Gaming 7
Memory: 16GB Kingston 2133 mhz
Soundcard: Asus Strix raid pro
PSU: Seasonic x750 gold
Default 08-12-2014, 19:44 | posts: 5,352 | Location: New Hampshire, USA

i thought this was the worst killzone game
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: GT 840M
Processor: I5 4201M
Mainboard: -
Memory: DD3L 8G
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: -
Default 08-12-2014, 20:01 | posts: 4,652 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
dat ending.

I hope Sony puts the Killzone series on their list of remastered titles. I would love to play the other games.
The ending was very well done. Last level was pretty tough on hard, but well worth it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strikerx80 View Post
i thought this was the worst killzone game
I thought it was good, I got bored of the other releases. The DS4 helps a lot with the aiming.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
SerotoNiN
Maha Guru
 
SerotoNiN's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 1070 8GB
Processor: Intel i5 6600k @3.5GHZ
Mainboard: MSI G1 Gaming Board
Memory: 32GB DDR4 3200 G.Skill
Soundcard: SB X-FI MB3
PSU: CoolerMaster 700-Watt 52A
Default 08-13-2014, 16:25 | posts: 1,849 | Location: Chicago

This was the first game in the series I played through and I enjoyed it. I tried the demo for part 2 a few times. I kept wanting to like it based on all the raving reviews and users saying how awesome it was. I couldn't stand it. Same with the demo for part 3.

I guess the reasons people liked it are why they hate this new one. The character didn't feel so heavy and bogged down. Aiming was much easier (I'm still used to a kb+m for fps games, controllers and me do not get a long at all in fps games) to the point where I found it enjoyable.

The remote play on vita was fluid and a cool and a nice added bonus.

And for a launch title, considering the drought we are still in - I thought it was put together with quality, something launch titles tend to lack.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Deasnutz
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Titan X 12GB
Processor: Intel 4930k @ 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: MSI x79-gda plus
Memory: 32GB DDR3 2133Mhz Quad
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: 750
Default 08-14-2014, 00:43 | posts: 161 | Location: Top of the World

The fact that it had dynamic internal rendering resolution pissed me off when I played it at release, because they touted 1080p so much. Made the beautiful graphics muddy and blurry. I would have accepted fps drops over fidelity.

I guess I wasn't the only one now that there is a class action lawsuit in the works. Maybe they'll stop lying next time (I won't buy a non 1080p release personally).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
anxious_f0x
Maha Guru
 
anxious_f0x's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (Pascal) SLi
Processor: i7 6950X @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7
PSU: Silverstone 1000w
Default 08-14-2014, 05:29 | posts: 1,046 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deasnutz View Post
The fact that it had dynamic internal rendering resolution pissed me off when I played it at release, because they touted 1080p so much. Made the beautiful graphics muddy and blurry. I would have accepted fps drops over fidelity.

I guess I wasn't the only one now that there is a class action lawsuit in the works. Maybe they'll stop lying next time (I won't buy a non 1080p release personally).
That was only for multiplayer, Single player was full 1080p.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
SerotoNiN
Maha Guru
 
SerotoNiN's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 1070 8GB
Processor: Intel i5 6600k @3.5GHZ
Mainboard: MSI G1 Gaming Board
Memory: 32GB DDR4 3200 G.Skill
Soundcard: SB X-FI MB3
PSU: CoolerMaster 700-Watt 52A
Default 08-14-2014, 16:09 | posts: 1,849 | Location: Chicago

Quote:
Originally Posted by anxious_f0x View Post
That was only for multiplayer, Single player was full 1080p.
That's what I thought too. SP was 1080p30 and MP was 900/720p30
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
Netherwind
Ancient Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Ti 2038/12006MHz
Processor: Intel i7 6700K 4500MHz
Mainboard: MSI Z170 M5
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 2666MHz
Soundcard: ALC1150 & Creative T20
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Default 03-13-2017, 08:52 | posts: 4,732 | Location: Sweden

Sorry for necro but seems I'm very late for the party with this game.

Picked it up at a retail store for 20 but I regret this decision. Sure, it's nice with the unlocked frame rate but the game still feels pretty sluggish to play. And since it's not a PS4 Pro patched game, the 1080p without AA is somewhat painful to look at. Also got very worried when the disc drive was spinning constantly (it's very loud) but later it stopped and I understand that it simply meant it finished installing the game.

Lastly, I couldn't finish Chapter 2 - after putting some C4 on the AA guns I'm supposed to run to the bunker and call for a drop ship together with my allies. But the allies are still by the crash site and I cannot call the dropship on my own.

Bah, I should have skipped this and bought Ratchet & Clank instead. I think I'll try selling it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: GT 840M
Processor: I5 4201M
Mainboard: -
Memory: DD3L 8G
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: -
Default 03-13-2017, 14:23 | posts: 4,652 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netherwind View Post
Sorry for necro but seems I'm very late for the party with this game.

Picked it up at a retail store for 20 but I regret this decision. Sure, it's nice with the unlocked frame rate but the game still feels pretty sluggish to play. And since it's not a PS4 Pro patched game, the 1080p without AA is somewhat painful to look at. Also got very worried when the disc drive was spinning constantly (it's very loud) but later it stopped and I understand that it simply meant it finished installing the game.

Lastly, I couldn't finish Chapter 2 - after putting some C4 on the AA guns I'm supposed to run to the bunker and call for a drop ship together with my allies. But the allies are still by the crash site and I cannot call the dropship on my own.

Bah, I should have skipped this and bought Ratchet & Clank instead. I think I'll try selling it.
I thought it was alright. Nothing special but I did finish it. Try going back to where the AI teamates are to see they refresh.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
Netherwind
Ancient Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Ti 2038/12006MHz
Processor: Intel i7 6700K 4500MHz
Mainboard: MSI Z170 M5
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 2666MHz
Soundcard: ALC1150 & Creative T20
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Default 03-13-2017, 16:31 | posts: 4,732 | Location: Sweden

I think I need to restart the whole mission since I've checked with the guys and they just stand there doing nothing.

Anyway, I was hoping Digital Foundry would have made a video on how the game works in Boost Mode but unfortunately not. I did however find this video where the guy claims to run at 60fps. Judging by what I'm seeing, I'd say he's wrong. What do you think? My game runs very sluggish like I mentioned before.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvCrjenZ2jQ&t=319s
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
anxious_f0x
Maha Guru
 
anxious_f0x's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (Pascal) SLi
Processor: i7 6950X @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7
PSU: Silverstone 1000w
Default 03-13-2017, 18:25 | posts: 1,046 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netherwind View Post
I think I need to restart the whole mission since I've checked with the guys and they just stand there doing nothing.

Anyway, I was hoping Digital Foundry would have made a video on how the game works in Boost Mode but unfortunately not. I did however find this video where the guy claims to run at 60fps. Judging by what I'm seeing, I'd say he's wrong. What do you think? My game runs very sluggish like I mentioned before.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvCrjenZ2jQ&t=319s
With this being a launch game for the PS4 optimization is somewhat poor, I just play it with the 30fps cap enabled, far more enjoyable experience although still not perfect.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
drandiiski
Maha Guru
 
drandiiski's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 750Ti StormX 2G
Processor: Intel i5 3470 @ 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4-M
Memory: 2x4Gb DDR3 @1646Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898
PSU: CoolerMaster 500W eXtreme
Default 03-14-2017, 06:19 | posts: 1,082 | Location: Bulgaria

The one gripe I remember having with this game was the last mission. The last like 5mins of the game were super frustrating and annoying ..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
Netherwind
Ancient Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Ti 2038/12006MHz
Processor: Intel i7 6700K 4500MHz
Mainboard: MSI Z170 M5
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 2666MHz
Soundcard: ALC1150 & Creative T20
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Default 03-14-2017, 08:56 | posts: 4,732 | Location: Sweden

Thanks for your replies.

I did some further testing yesterday evening like with or without Boost mode and enabling Boost mode does increase the FPS a bit, though hard to say how much but without Boost the FPS feels closer to 30 and with Boost it's more around 35-40?

I did manage to complete chapter 2 Dont know what I did wrong the first time. While progressing I arrived at this ship who had many hallways and rooms like in Doom. I could find a couple of spots here and there where the fps would hit 60 but they were few.

I also tried with the 30fps enabled since DigitalFoundry mentioned in an older video that the frame pacing is eliminated. But the 30fps feels worse in some way, not like in Destiny where you forget about it after a while.

Lastly I can really feel that the PS4 Pro's power is not really used to it's full extent since the fans are inaudible. Compared to FFXV (Pro patched) it's night and day when it comes to load.

Anyway, the game is fairly good so I might keep it and complete it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
SerotoNiN
Maha Guru
 
SerotoNiN's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 1070 8GB
Processor: Intel i5 6600k @3.5GHZ
Mainboard: MSI G1 Gaming Board
Memory: 32GB DDR4 3200 G.Skill
Soundcard: SB X-FI MB3
PSU: CoolerMaster 700-Watt 52A
Default 03-15-2017, 16:19 | posts: 1,849 | Location: Chicago

I never cared for the series. But I liked this particular entry. Being a launch title helped with the lacking options at the time. I never beat it. I got pretty far only had a level or two to go, and then it got extremely annoying.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: GT 840M
Processor: I5 4201M
Mainboard: -
Memory: DD3L 8G
Soundcard: Creative SB
PSU: -
Default 03-15-2017, 17:02 | posts: 4,652 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by SerotoNiN View Post
I never cared for the series. But I liked this particular entry. Being a launch title helped with the lacking options at the time. I never beat it. I got pretty far only had a level or two to go, and then it got extremely annoying.
The last level was quite frustrating but was worth it for the end. I've never cared much for the series myself either. Horizon Zero Dawn was a much needed change for the developers. There is talk of another Killzone in the works. Might be one to watch out for.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
SerotoNiN
Maha Guru
 
SerotoNiN's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 1070 8GB
Processor: Intel i5 6600k @3.5GHZ
Mainboard: MSI G1 Gaming Board
Memory: 32GB DDR4 3200 G.Skill
Soundcard: SB X-FI MB3
PSU: CoolerMaster 700-Watt 52A
Default 03-20-2017, 19:24 | posts: 1,849 | Location: Chicago

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosty View Post
The last level was quite frustrating but was worth it for the end. I've never cared much for the series myself either. Horizon Zero Dawn was a much needed change for the developers. There is talk of another Killzone in the works. Might be one to watch out for.
I agree. Horizon Dawn was a MUCH welcome change for the devs!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: New soon...
Processor: New soon...
Mainboard: New soon...
Memory: New soon...
Soundcard: New soon...
PSU: New soon...
Default 03-20-2017, 20:56 | posts: 8,112 | Location: Netherlands

Bought it couple months back, didn't continued cause i lost my save game. Might redownload and try again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Netherwind
Ancient Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Ti 2038/12006MHz
Processor: Intel i7 6700K 4500MHz
Mainboard: MSI Z170 M5
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 2666MHz
Soundcard: ALC1150 & Creative T20
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Default 03-21-2017, 09:43 | posts: 4,732 | Location: Sweden

The level design is interesting and the graphics are nice. worth finishing I guess.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.