Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX, GPGPU etc.
Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX, GPGPU etc. In this section you can discuss general purpose application that run over your GPU, like transcoding, Physics simulation etc.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default 03-18-2017, 16:48 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forkinator View Post
So no games use this tech yet? Not even witcher 3?
at least Killing Floor 2 uses Flex.


latest version now also supports DX11/12, meaning it will run on AMD / Intel GPUs as well.

Quote:
1.1.0
-----

- New API style, for consistency with other products the API has now an NvFlex prefix and follows a naming convention similar to PhysX
- Add support for DirectX, in addition to CUDA there is now a cross platform DirectX 11 and 12 version of the Flex libraries that Windows applications can link against
- Add support for max acceleration clamping, see NvFlexParams::maxAcceleration, can be useful to reduce popping with fast moving kinematic shapes and large interpenetration
- Add support to querying compute device, see NvFlexGetDeviceName()
- Add support for flushing compute queue, see NvFlexFlush()
- Add support for multiple library instances, NvFlexInit() now returns a library which is bound to a single compute device
- Add support for local space particle simulation, see NvFlexExtMovingFrameInit() and two new local space fluid and cloth demos
- Add support for CUDA 8.0.44
- Remove NvFlexError enum, errors will be reported through the NvFlexErrorCallback passed to NvFlexInit()
- Remove NvFlexMemory enum, users should use the new NvFlexBufferType
- Fix bug in inflatable constraint solver that could cause some shapes to generate NaNs
- Fix for SDF contact generation when the particle lies completely outside volume, fixes a problem with ghost contacts
- Fix for friction being incorrectly applied on trigger shapes
- Fix for multi-phase fluid cohesion not working correctly, re-enable Rayleigh-Taylor instability test
- Fix bug with public projects that referenced internal CUDA paths
- Fix for calling NvFlexSetInflatables() with a count of zero
- Fix for buoyancy parameter
- Fix for bug in BVH builder that could cause missed collisions
- New optional NvFlexDevice library for handling GPU selection and initialization in CUDA
- New buffer based API, all data must now be passed to Flex through FlexBuffers created through NvFlexAllocBuffer()
- New stable shape matching code for more robust and efficient soft bodies, removes need for NvFlexParams::inertiaBias
- New collision shape API supports instancing of convex meshes and a much simplified API, see NvFlexSetShapes()
- Improvements to collision detection for moving shapes, Flex will now perform a CCD check also taking into account the shape trajectory using the prev/current transforms of each shape
download stripped demo package:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/4a3yau.../FLEX-1.1.0.7z

I've noticed a nice performance improvement going to the DX11 version...

"Bunny Bath Dam" scene, filled to 79,230 particles, fullscreen 1920x1080:

v1.0.0 cuda/ogl: 53fps
v1.1.0 cuda/ogl: 58.5fps
v1.1.0 dx11: 71.5fps

Didn't test DX12 as I'm on Win7.

Last edited by applejack; 03-18-2017 at 16:52.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
insp1re
Newbie
 
insp1re's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit Jetstream 780GTX
Processor: i7 2600k 4.6ghz@1.38v H20
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty z68
Memory: HyperX 1600@1.56
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty Champion
PSU: Corsair TX 850Watt
Default 03-18-2017, 19:15 | posts: 27 | Location: Smashing your stack..

curiosity, what would be minimum gpu to use as a physx card for this for decent performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 03-18-2017, 19:35 | posts: 13,626 | Location: Proxima \/82

^
Depends, when I had 780 it could handle physx ok on its own.
I didnt have KF2 yet only beta, and it was ok with gibs, blood was too much. Or now with 980ti it can be a lot too.. sometimes even low gpu usage and typical physx bottleneck, but i think it could be connected to config.ini - allocate more memory to it..

Ideal combo would be gtx 780 + 750 or 950



@applejack
That fps boost looks very good, can those files be used in KillingFloor 2? I was thinking to overwrite new flex.dll files

Last edited by -Tj-; 03-18-2017 at 19:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 +110/+500 h20
Processor: i7 7700K @5.1GHz @ 1.325v
Mainboard: MSI Z270 Gaming M7
Memory: 16GB Vengence 3600MHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud II USB
PSU: 1200W
Default 03-18-2017, 19:43 | posts: 7,337 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
@applejack
That fps boost looks very good, can those files be used in KillingFloor 2? I was thinking to overwrite new flex.dll files
hmmmmm....

interesting....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 03-18-2017, 19:54 | posts: 13,626 | Location: Proxima \/82

in process

So far it didn't start with D3D files (I renamed them to KF2 specific)



not sure if its files or not im verifying the game atm, then I'll try cuda files.



EDIT: nah it doesn't work..
It replaced original 1.0.1 by verifying it, both d3d and cuda fail to start.

Last edited by -Tj-; 03-18-2017 at 21:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Noisiv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 ACIV 1150/1500MHz
Processor: i5-4590
Mainboard: ECS Z97 Machine
Memory: 16GB HyperX 2400MHz
Soundcard: Teac UD-501->JBL LSR308
PSU: Silent Pro M700
Default 03-21-2017, 13:58 | posts: 5,533

Flex still greyed-out in KF2 menu
God damnit

Flex demo running fine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
applejack
Master Guru
 
applejack's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 GAMING X
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4930K
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X79-UP4
Memory: G.Skill 4x4GB 2133mhz cl9
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic G-650
Default Today, 21:20 | posts: 576 | Location: Israel

here is a stripped demo package of Flow 1.0.0:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/d7rq20.../Flow-1.0.0.7z

Quote:
Controls
--------

left mouse - Rotate camera
middle mouse - Pan camera
right mouse - Zoom camera

space - Shoot projectile
p - Pause simulation
F10 - Toggle DX11/DX12
F11 - Toggle fullscreen

Esc - Quit
I wonder why they separate the smoke stuff from Flex.
hopefully they can easily interact with each other as shown back then in a single demo (video clip).

Last edited by applejack; Today at 21:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.