Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything AMD Catalyst related. Catalyst drivers are for all AMD based graphics cards and APUs.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#201)
s0x
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
Processor: i5 6600K/4.6GHz/UC 4.1GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro
Memory: Ripjaws V 16GB 3200MHz
Soundcard: Dual Card / Logitech X530
PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W
Default 03-02-2017, 00:42 | posts: 108 | Location: Home

Hadn't done any benching to check for improvements in a while:

Left: 21.19.519.2 (17.2.1 Feb 10 non-WHQL) Right: 21.19.151.3 (Should be the 16.10.1 Beta Hotfix)
http://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/11818762/fs/10391237

And some new life!
http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11856302

Last edited by s0x; 03-02-2017 at 00:46.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#202)
nevernamed
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Saffire R9290x VaporX 8gb
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-B85M-D3H
Memory: 24 gb
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 600W
Default 03-02-2017, 01:42 | posts: 211 | Location: Toronto

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
AMD will NEVER fix a bug in a 3rd party program.

It itsnt theirs to fix.
Except the creator of CRU says its not a bug in his software. The drivers aren't using the EDID overrides properly. Coincidence considering they added a custom resolution option in relive? Seems exactly like how they changed some of how overclocking works too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#203)
Octopuss
Master Guru
 
Octopuss's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD XFX Rx 480
Processor: i7 3770K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR
PSU: -
Default 03-02-2017, 11:03 | posts: 609 | Location: Czech republic

What is CRU?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#204)
Passus
Master Guru
 
Passus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI r9 280 1180/1500
Processor: AMD fX6300
Mainboard: Asus m5a97 r2
Memory: 16gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Audigy ZS
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 B1
Default 03-02-2017, 12:36 | posts: 645 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Octopuss View Post
What is CRU?
Custom Resolution Utility
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#205)
mtrai
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor RX 480 Red Dev
Processor: Skylake I5 6600K
Mainboard: ASUS Z170-A
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaw V 2x8 3200
Soundcard:
PSU: evga supernova 1050 gs
Default 03-02-2017, 12:36 | posts: 748 | Location: Panama City Beach, FL, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Octopuss View Post
What is CRU?
Custom Resolution Utility. For a number of years people have used to it to set custom resolutions and overclock monitors as well as edit more detailed parts of the EDID.

https://www.monitortests.com/forum/F...rs-Video-Cards
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#206)
HyeVltg3
Newbie
 
Videocard: ROG STRIX-RX480-O8G-GAMIN
Processor: Intel i7 4790K- Stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 7
Memory: GSkill Ripjawz 2.4 8gb x4
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 03-03-2017, 06:06 | posts: 28 | Location: Canada

Just asking for a query, is anyone running perfectly fine on 17.2.1 and using HWInfo + Riva to see OSD ?

Got my 480 yesterday and fresh installed to 17.2.1 and in Division and Heaven/Valley Benchmarks (and in game Division) I get the White scree freeze/system hang, requiring a hard reset.
Are the 17.2.1 drivers as buggy as I'm reading or is it some OSD issue, would like a consensus why I test it.
Is there a driver recommendation I should rollback to while AMD (if buggy driver release) fixes this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#207)
s0x
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
Processor: i5 6600K/4.6GHz/UC 4.1GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro
Memory: Ripjaws V 16GB 3200MHz
Soundcard: Dual Card / Logitech X530
PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W
Default 03-03-2017, 12:53 | posts: 108 | Location: Home

@HyeVltg3, using that combo here (17.2.1, HWInfo64 5.44 and RTSS 6.6.0) no such issues with OSD. Both GTA5 and Need for Speed.

- edit -
Tried Heaven benchmark, all good too.

Last edited by s0x; 03-03-2017 at 13:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#208)
olymind1
Newbie
 
olymind1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire RX480 4GB Nitro
Processor: Intel Core i5-3550S
Mainboard: Asrock H67M
Memory: DDR3 1600MHz 2x4gb
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Seasonic M12II EVO 520
Default 03-03-2017, 13:04 | posts: 27

Quote:
Originally Posted by Virs View Post
I stopped using ReLive drivers after the issues in both ESO and Grim Dawn. I'd appreciate it if someone could say if the new 28feb drivers improved things.
I've tried out Grim Dawn with "whql-win10-64bit-radeon-software-crimson-relive-17.2.1-feb28".

No problem here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#209)
miiksu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 Nano
Processor: AMD R7 X1800
Mainboard: Asus C6H
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ 3264-14
Soundcard: XiangSheng DAC-01A+HD662F
PSU: Seasonic Prime 850W
Default 03-03-2017, 14:51 | posts: 125 | Location: FIN

They did not yet fix flickering grass in ESO. I was hoping that that but seems nope. Back to older driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#210)
The Mac
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 03-03-2017, 17:23 | posts: 4,405 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevernamed View Post
Except the creator of CRU says its not a bug in his software. The drivers aren't using the EDID overrides properly. Coincidence considering they added a custom resolution option in relive? Seems exactly like how they changed some of how overclocking works too.
Of course its his software thats the problem.

The drivers do what they were designed to do.

Just because his software doesnt work, doesnt make it AMDs problem.

Hes trying to do something that isnt supported.

That doesnt make it a bug.

Last edited by The Mac; 03-03-2017 at 17:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#211)
nevernamed
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Saffire R9290x VaporX 8gb
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-B85M-D3H
Memory: 24 gb
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 600W
Default 03-04-2017, 20:08 | posts: 211 | Location: Toronto

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
Of course its his software thats the problem.

The drivers do what they were designed to do.

Just because his software doesnt work, doesnt make it AMDs problem.

Hes trying to do something that isnt supported.

That doesnt make it a bug.
LOL. Ok, you blame him. But you're wrong. It's not like they didn't have a release that magically caused overclocking problems for people just a couple revisions back too.

Last edited by nevernamed; 03-04-2017 at 20:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#212)
vase
Maha Guru
 
vase's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 03-04-2017, 22:26 | posts: 1,601 | Location: #1 http://www.3dmark.com/fs/8257155

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevernamed View Post
LOL. Ok, you blame him. But you're wrong. It's not like they didn't have a release that magically caused overclocking problems for people just a couple revisions back too.
AMD changed something in their OC API which interferes with 3rd party tool communication/functionality.
Maybe AMD doesn't want certain functionality to be controllable by external tools anymore. Who knows.
Maybe they're in the progress of renewing the API and it's a step by step thing.
Who knows.

You won't be able to do much about it until you're sure about if it's intentionally been changed or if it is something that happened by mistake/inaccurate work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#213)
The Mac
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 03-04-2017, 22:28 | posts: 4,405 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevernamed View Post
LOL. Ok, you blame him. But you're wrong. It's not like they didn't have a release that magically caused overclocking problems for people just a couple revisions back too.
im not blaming CRU (or AB), im just saying it isnt AMDs fault if functionality breaks for 3rd party programs. It isnt their job to make sure other peoples programs work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#214)
vase
Maha Guru
 
vase's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 03-04-2017, 22:32 | posts: 1,601 | Location: #1 http://www.3dmark.com/fs/8257155

The Mac is bac (sic!)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#215)
Wolf2079
Newbie
 
Wolf2079's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 280X 3GB
Processor: AMD FX 8350
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair Formula V
Memory: 16gb ddr3 G skills
Soundcard: Soundblaster xfi mb3
PSU: COOLER MASTER 850W
Default 03-05-2017, 01:36 | posts: 9 | Location: Panama

With these drivers 17.2.1 whql I did not experience the error of the UVD status since I installed them three days ago, that's very good ...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#216)
AlleyViper
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
Processor: PHII 965BE @3.96GHz
Mainboard: DFI LP DK 790FXB-M3H5
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial 1866C9
Soundcard: SB Z
PSU: RM750
Default 03-05-2017, 01:44 | posts: 259

Interesting, in a few weeks when I'll be back to the PC with a 7870 I'll try them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#217)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 Fury Nitro OC
Processor: i7 3930k@ 4.1 212 EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: HyperX 1866 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DXG X-540 5.1
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 03-05-2017, 02:38 | posts: 2,210 | Location: Tennessee

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
Of course its his software thats the problem.

The drivers do what they were designed to do.

Just because his software doesnt work, doesnt make it AMDs problem.

Hes trying to do something that isnt supported.

That doesnt make it a bug.
Call it what you wan't but to some it is a bug.
When you just flip gpu scaling on and off it fixes the EDID overrides.
That is a BUG!

When AMD does not have 21:9 VSR and their custom resolution in Relive is pathetic POS.

If it was not for CRU, I could not do 80hz on my 21:9 nor 3440x1440 and 3840x1600.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#218)
THEAST
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD7950 + HD7970 CF
Processor: i7-5820k @ 4.25 GHz
Mainboard: MSI X99A SLI Krait
Memory: 4x4GB G.Skill 3000 MHz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850i
Default 03-05-2017, 03:44 | posts: 183

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2079 View Post
With these drivers 17.2.1 whql I did not experience the error of the UVD status since I installed them three days ago, that's very good ...
The 22nd WHQL still has the UVD bug and I am pretty sure the only thing they changed in the 28th one is fixing the digital signature issue, so the latter should also have the bug (I couldn't be bothered installing it).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agonist View Post
Call it what you wan't but to some it is a bug.
When you just flip gpu scaling on and off it fixes the EDID overrides.
That is a BUG!
Somebody pointed out that if you use AMD's own custom resolution, the setting are correctly applied after reboot without needing to flip the GPU scaling switch. I can confirm this is true. I have, for now, switched from CRU to AMD's tool for OCing my monitor by copy/pasting my settings from CRU and everything seems to work in the exact same manner as they did with CRU. Though it seems I have to keep GPU scaling off at all times for the custom resolutions to show up.

There is no denying the fact that CRU is much more intelligent and advanced than AMD's tool but AMD's tool seems to work with less hassle right now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#219)
freeman94
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE HD7870 OC 2GB
Processor: Core i5 3570
Mainboard: ASUS P8H77-M PRO
Memory: DDR3 (2x8GB) 1600MHz
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V381
PSU: OCZ 600W
Default 03-05-2017, 13:22 | posts: 263 | Location: Poland

Ok, so after 4 days of testing the 17.2.1 WHQL release of the drivers I can say that they are better then 17.2.1 Beta and not only bring the certification but also some minor-bug fixes.
WHQL Relase solve my random black screen blinking display.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#220)
ClockClocker
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 970 gtx
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Pro3
Memory: 8GB DDR 1333 Kingston
Soundcard:
PSU: Straight Power E9 580W
Default 03-05-2017, 15:34 | posts: 384

This drivers give me weird issues on some of the Gun-Models in Doom (2016).

Happens ONLY on Snapmap
Happens ONLY when using Vulkan Api (don't know if only on Ultra)
Only sometimes and ONLY SOME of the Gun-Models are "corrupted" for example the heavy machine gun.

To reprouduce it: Play the Snapmap Caviar (3rd of the featured maps) and select the "Heavy Assault Rifle" (should be key 4 i think).

Example of Gun Corruption:
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#221)
mtrai
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PowerColor RX 480 Red Dev
Processor: Skylake I5 6600K
Mainboard: ASUS Z170-A
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaw V 2x8 3200
Soundcard:
PSU: evga supernova 1050 gs
Default 03-05-2017, 15:36 | posts: 748 | Location: Panama City Beach, FL, USA

Quick observation this morning...at least I think it is not my system but the 17.2.1 Feb 28 drivers.

I was doing something so decided to run realbench with these drivers and the OPENCL test that uses the GPUs was suddenly only running at a 4th of the speed then it should of. 727 vs 2400 for my GPU set up.

I rolled back the drivers and it was back up to 2400...anyone else notice this with OpenCL?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#222)
vase
Maha Guru
 
vase's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 03-05-2017, 20:14 | posts: 1,601 | Location: #1 http://www.3dmark.com/fs/8257155

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClockClocker View Post
This drivers give me weird issues on some of the Gun-Models in Doom (2016).

Happens ONLY on Snapmap
Happens ONLY when using Vulkan Api (don't know if only on Ultra)
Only sometimes and ONLY SOME of the Gun-Models are "corrupted" for example the heavy machine gun.

To reprouduce it: Play the Snapmap Caviar (3rd of the featured maps) and select the "Heavy Assault Rifle" (should be key 4 i think).

Example of Gun Corruption:
 Click to show spoiler
on which card?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#223)
Bojamijams
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury Nitro
Processor: i7 6700
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170-Gaming 7
Memory: HyperX Savage 2400 CL12
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolermaster V1000
Default 03-20-2017, 11:45 | posts: 15 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammarbella View Post
Thanks to take your time making the vid and uploading it, really appreciated

I will re-try ReLive drivers (after "bypassing" error 1603 again) in a separate Windows 10 install with your settings.
How did you 'bypass' error 1603? I get it every time with any Crimson driver. The only way I can get the driver to install without this error is to reset my PC to scratch but, obviously, this is extremely unsustainable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#224)
zixss
Newbie
 
zixss's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS RX480 8GB
Processor: Intel i7 6700
Mainboard: MSI H110
Memory: 16GB DDR4 2400
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W Corsair
Default 03-20-2017, 12:16 | posts: 44

To solve the issue happening with the error 1603, you need to run ati pixel clock patcher everytime a new driver is installed.This should fix the problem which is caused by the AMD developers forcing to not supported custom vga bios .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#225)
kilyan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE R9 390 NITRO
Processor: amd fx 8350@4.5 ghz
Mainboard: gigabyte 990xa-ud3
Memory: 16gb ram ddr3 1866mhz
Soundcard: embed via hd audio 8.1
PSU: ANTEC EDGE 650W
Default 03-20-2017, 12:29 | posts: 452 | Location: italy

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyeVltg3 View Post
Just asking for a query, is anyone running perfectly fine on 17.2.1 and using HWInfo + Riva to see OSD ?

Got my 480 yesterday and fresh installed to 17.2.1 and in Division and Heaven/Valley Benchmarks (and in game Division) I get the White scree freeze/system hang, requiring a hard reset.
Are the 17.2.1 drivers as buggy as I'm reading or is it some OSD issue, would like a consensus why I test it.
Is there a driver recommendation I should rollback to while AMD (if buggy driver release) fixes this.
On r9 390 i ran hwinfo+rtss without issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.