Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 03-03-2014, 15:55 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavH View Post
Please can you tell me for which monitor/screen projector do you need to max-out Anti-Aliasing?
It's not the screen you need to max out AA, its the GPU

More powerful GPU, the more AA you can use and keep decent FPS
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 03-03-2014, 16:26 | posts: 3,299 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavH View Post
Please can you tell me for which monitor/screen projector do you need to max-out Anti-Aliasing?
Nope.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Mineria
Ancient Guru
 
Mineria's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 32G G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000 G2
Default 03-03-2014, 21:15 | posts: 3,070 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavH View Post
Think about the monitor you are going to couple it with..... If that investment is really worth getting the "better" card...for 1920x1200 290x is an overkill
Well, I found the ASUS DCUII 280x Top to be a rather crappy performer compared to my current EVGA GTX 770, so a quality build 290/290x should definitely be a better choice even for HD resolution when you use a descent amount of AA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
PavH
Newbie
 
PavH's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780Ti SC ACX
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 2.67GHz
Mainboard: MSI X58 Pro
Memory: 15GB DDR3 Triple Channel
Soundcard: Titanium XFi Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Toughpower 750W
Default 03-04-2014, 15:49 | posts: 34 | Location: London, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
It's not the screen you need to max out AA, its the GPU

More powerful GPU, the more AA you can use and keep decent FPS
You got my question wrong dude.

On what kind of monitor/screen (size, model,make) would you need to max out anti aliasing to 8??@ 1920x1200 that's its possible for your eye to register it?

On a 24 inch screen your eye hardly notices anything beyond 2xAA @1920x1200
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 03-04-2014, 16:30 | posts: 10,978 | Location: Finland

People have different eye sights. I can still notice the the benefit of 8xMSAA/SSAA over 4x (or 2x) on 23" 1080p screen. 2x is not enough at all. 4x is close to enough but I'd use 8x if possible because it does help even more when it comes to small detail that is further away (especially in motion).

If 2x is enough, be happy.

Last edited by Anarion; 03-04-2014 at 16:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
PavH
Newbie
 
PavH's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780Ti SC ACX
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 2.67GHz
Mainboard: MSI X58 Pro
Memory: 15GB DDR3 Triple Channel
Soundcard: Titanium XFi Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Toughpower 750W
Default 03-06-2014, 13:12 | posts: 34 | Location: London, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
People have different eye sights. I can still notice the the benefit of 8xMSAA/SSAA over 4x (or 2x) on 23" 1080p screen. 2x is not enough at all. 4x is close to enough but I'd use 8x if possible because it does help even more when it comes to small detail that is further away (especially in motion).

If 2x is enough, be happy.
Thank you for the reality check, one does need a feedback.

My 4 year old AcerG24 simply doesn't cut it anymore and I shall get new bigger 120hz screen soon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
iiron_eagle
Newbie
 
iiron_eagle's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2X MSI R9 290X 4GB
Processor: Intel i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard: Logitech z506 / Astro A50
PSU: Seasonic 1000w 80Plus P.
Default 03-17-2014, 09:02 | posts: 14 | Location: Sydney, Australia

updating CCC to 14.2v3 has made the world of difference.

My 2 MSI r9 290x's are a beast since the Mantle update they rock.

I play BF4 on ultra 135% resolution on my 1920x1080P 120Hz which gives me an internal resolution of 2592x1458. Turning up the resolution makes the graphics so much more details and crisp, this is Ultra IMO I'm now averaging 130+ at the above settings on Mantle.

At first I thought about switching back to my r9 280x's but not at this performance. The 290x's can only get better from here on too I was getting 70-90fps at the above settings on my 280x's it's a big leap forward I'm very happy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
jaju123
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x AMD R9 290 Crossfire
Processor: Core i7 4770K @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-SLI
Memory: Corsair 16GB 2400mhz CL11
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence ST
PSU: Corsair AX 850
Default 03-17-2014, 09:31 | posts: 171 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by iiron_eagle View Post
updating CCC to 14.2v3 has made the world of difference.

My 2 MSI r9 290x's are a beast since the Mantle update they rock.

I play BF4 on ultra 135% resolution on my 1920x1080P 120Hz which gives me an internal resolution of 2592x1458. Turning up the resolution makes the graphics so much more details and crisp, this is Ultra IMO I'm now averaging 130+ at the above settings on Mantle.

At first I thought about switching back to my r9 280x's but not at this performance. The 290x's can only get better from here on too I was getting 70-90fps at the above settings on my 280x's it's a big leap forward I'm very happy.
In perfoverlay.drawgraph do you have a thick green line or a thin one? I have horrible frame variation with a thick green line
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
iiron_eagle
Newbie
 
iiron_eagle's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2X MSI R9 290X 4GB
Processor: Intel i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard: Logitech z506 / Astro A50
PSU: Seasonic 1000w 80Plus P.
Default 03-17-2014, 10:07 | posts: 14 | Location: Sydney, Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaju123 View Post
In perfoverlay.drawgraph do you have a thick green line or a thin one? I have horrible frame variation with a thick green line
I have noticed this card isn't perfect yet. before you start playing reboot windows.

I sometimes get a memory leak after a few games. I think this happens after starting BF4 after waking my PC up from hibernation. It would start to stutter, twitch and lag after 2-3 rounds.

The memory for the cards would be at 4100GB/4000GB.

Changing the graphic settings does nothing so I think it's a memory issue as overclocking the momory in Afterburner to 1300Mhz helps for a very short time before it become unplayable again. It should be fixed soon ...please please please AMD.

Restarting my PC before playing gives me long smooth gameplay, It's a new card so it will improve and hopefully AMD will find the memory leak.

I never got it on my 280x's but they ran on DX11 and Mantle is still new, so we need to give it time, when it's fine it amazing. So I 'am sticking with the 290x's as it's the future!

Make sure you have Verticle Sync off there is a bug that reduces the fps to 80-90 and makes it stutter when you pan your sight. I had it on with my 280x's to keep them at 120 not so with these cards yet.

Turn Frame Pacing on in CCC.

I'll upload a picture of my fps for you to see soon.

EDIT: below are the graphs! Sorry took these with my iPhone 5. Now sure how to screen capture on Mantle.

http://f.cl.ly/items/2z0h3w3G1229292...0Graph%202.jpg

http://f.cl.ly/items/1m0l143R0D0t3y2...PU%20Graph.jpg

EDIT: just found this console command:

Screenshot.Render
(Screen Shot saved in My Documents\Battlefield 4\Screenshots\)

Hope this helps mate!

Last edited by iiron_eagle; 03-17-2014 at 15:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
iiron_eagle
Newbie
 
iiron_eagle's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2X MSI R9 290X 4GB
Processor: Intel i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard: Logitech z506 / Astro A50
PSU: Seasonic 1000w 80Plus P.
Default 03-17-2014, 14:03 | posts: 14 | Location: Sydney, Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackttt View Post
so between these two, which one should i get?
After reading question. Out of those two options I would go for the 280x I like the MSI R9 280X Twin frozr for the high quality parts!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#36)
iiron_eagle
Newbie
 
iiron_eagle's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2X MSI R9 290X 4GB
Processor: Intel i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard: Logitech z506 / Astro A50
PSU: Seasonic 1000w 80Plus P.
Default 03-18-2014, 08:37 | posts: 14 | Location: Sydney, Australia

AMD Catalyst™ 14.3 Beta V1.0 Driver for Windows is out!

The following is from the AMD website:


"Feature Highlights of The AMD Catalyst™ 14.3 Beta V1.0 Driver for Windows®
Thief:
AMD Mantle and AMD True Audio support
Improves stuttering observed in CrossFire mode
Call of Duty: Ghosts: QUAD CrossFire profile update – improves level load times
Audio issues observed when using CrossFire configurations (and V-sync enabled) have been resolved
BattleField 4: V-sync issues observed on CrossFire configurations (with Mantle enabled) have been resolved

Known Issues
Intermittent driver stability issues when installing/un-installing on Desktop Kaveri platforms that support AMD Enduro technology under Windows 8.1. Please disable Enduro support to resolve the issue
Secondary GPUs do not enter low power state on CrossFire configurations; this issue will be addressed in the next AMD Catalyst beta release
Thief (DirectX): Lighting flickers on CrossFire configurations only after CrossFire has been enabled then disabled; this issue will be addressed in the next AMD Catalyst beta release
Battlefield 4 (DirectX): Quad CrossFire configurations with Eyefinity Display configurations suffer slowdowns and stability issues
Titanfall: Flickering occurs under AMD CrossFire configurations"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
LoccOtHaN
Member Guru
 
LoccOtHaN's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATi/AMD XFX 7970 DD GhzED
Processor: x6 1100 4.8GHz Nepton280L
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Memory: Vangance 8 GB 1866 CL9 1T
Soundcard: SB Z Nichicon ,Genius 5.1
PSU: SilencerMk.III 1200W Plat
Smile 04-11-2014, 09:28 | posts: 64 | Location: PoLoniA

Its your call, look at my Spec and i tell you is enough ;-)



   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.