Is there a problem with my CPU folding??

Discussion in 'Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !' started by Mannerheim, Dec 25, 2010.

1. Mannerheim

Mannerheim Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI 6800XT
    Im new with this 1.. so i am an idiot =)
    Little bit too big picture but ill delete it when ill get answer unles i get banned before it =)
    I just think this Windows SMP (v6.30) shoud use more cores???

Huge Image (3840*1080) below {F@HTL}
    [​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 25, 2010
  2. iancook221188

iancook221188 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GTX 670 SLI / GTX 460 SLI
    yer we should be able to get you going have you made a shortcut of the exe and the you will need the flags -smp -verbosity 9 -advmethods at the moment your doing a classic client may need to delete the work folder where you installed it

3. PantherX

PantherX Folding@Home Team Leader

GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
    I am guessing that you are having a dual monitor setup.

Anyways, yes, the SMP2 Client can use from 2 to 48 Cores without an issue. In your case, you were assigned a Classic WU which uses 1 Core/thread because you might have connected to the Servers before you had the -smp flag. Nonetheless, you can restart the Client and once it finished the WU, you will be assigned a SMP2 WU.

Do note that your FAHlog should be like:

Launch directory: E:\F@H SMP2
    Executable: E:\F@H SMP2\Folding@home-Win32-x86.exe
    Arguments: -smp 7 -verbosity 9

You don't need the -congifonly -smp flag in the .exe file. I would suggest that you add the -verbosity 9 flag to make the FAHlog more detailed which is useful while troubleshooting. Here are some useful links:
    Adding Flags -> <Click>
    SMP2 Guide -> <Click>

I would suggest that you use HFM.NET for monitoring the Client and if you want, you can install the GPU3 BETA Client for your GTX 470.