Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum > RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum
RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum This forum is intended for advanced comments, ideas and general discussion of the RivaTuner Utility which is hosted here at the Guru of 3D. This forum is visited by programmer himself - you can only post in this area with a minimum of 10 posts and 7 days forum membership.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
virtualex
Master Guru
 
virtualex's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD4870-800/4400
Processor: Q6600@3Ghz (334x9)
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3 rev2.0
Memory: 4x1g kingston
Soundcard: X-fi Platinum/LM4562 Mod
PSU: Chieftec 620w
Default 11-20-2008, 09:06 | posts: 299 | Location: Bacau, Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by gellmar View Post
Don't worry, I'm trying to understand what config registers does the driver change relative to 8.453. And I have found several places in 502 absent in 453 Now I need a second PC to run a stalled debug, and in two days max I will have all necessary info
Hey gellmar, any news ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
mikeswlee
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI HD5870
Processor: Core i5 750@3.33GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD3
Memory: DDR3 2048MB*2@1.33GHz
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 889a
PSU: Seasonic S12-II 500W
Default 11-24-2008, 13:14 | posts: 14 | Location: Seoul, Korea

Quote:
Originally Posted by wesley8 View Post
somebody can download those drivers from herehttp://www.newdisk.cn/mypane.aspx?Pa...2fNew+ATI+Mod/
and test it.

Hi,

I tried your driver and saw no big difference. Performance improvement was seen only in ugnx set. Thanks for your trial though.

mike
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
juang3d
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Ati 4870 1024mb
Processor: 2xXeon 5345@2.3
Mainboard: Tyan S5380
Memory: 8Gb DDR2-667 Fully Buffer
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2
PSU: Big
Default 11-24-2008, 14:31 | posts: 72

There is no new news, isn't it?

Cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
gellmar
Member Guru
 
gellmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
Processor: Phenom II X6 1055T
Mainboard: MSI 870-G45
Memory: 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: VIA HD onboard 8ch
PSU: Chieftec 550W
Default 11-24-2008, 21:21 | posts: 146 | Location: Ukraine

Quote:
Originally Posted by juang3d View Post
There is no new news, isn't it?

Cheers.
No, there are some

Finally I had to reinstall my XP and set up SoftIce 3.2.0 to try debugging on one machine (the second one I tried with before was not mine). After a couple hours of debug-BEERing I have revealed that either PCI Config space or the majority of registers remain untouched, except those of clocks and profiles (that's constantly changing, however I could not understand whether the bitmask uses some IDs while being constructed). Now I am examining the ports and Device Extension (which holds that regions). Now I think that some ports are used together while applying a pixel format or OpenGL Profile, and the question now is to track the stats of that ports' usage.

The problem is that I cannot attach the debugger to a miniport's DriverEntry in single-machine mode. I will now try /SOS bootkey to get inside the driver.

Regards, gellmaR.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
casebuyer
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 3870 IceQ 3 DDR4 512
Processor: Intel Q6600 G0 B6
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA EP45 D3SR 1.0
Memory: Patriot DDR2 800 2x2 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax 600 W Modu82+
Default 11-24-2008, 23:39 | posts: 89

nothing to download I could find
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
casebuyer
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 3870 IceQ 3 DDR4 512
Processor: Intel Q6600 G0 B6
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA EP45 D3SR 1.0
Memory: Patriot DDR2 800 2x2 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax 600 W Modu82+
Default 11-24-2008, 23:45 | posts: 89

gellmar I dont use debuggers much yet sometimes there are good plugins for them to make things work and sometimes ollydbg or disassembly tools like ida pro helps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
gellmar
Member Guru
 
gellmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
Processor: Phenom II X6 1055T
Mainboard: MSI 870-G45
Memory: 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: VIA HD onboard 8ch
PSU: Chieftec 550W
Default 11-25-2008, 08:10 | posts: 146 | Location: Ukraine

Quote:
Originally Posted by casebuyer View Post
gellmar I dont use debuggers much yet sometimes there are good plugins for them to make things work and sometimes ollydbg or disassembly tools like ida pro helps
OllyDBG is a user-mode debugger, it can not debug drivers, especially miniports.
IDA Pro is a disassembler with a dbg, but again it cannot run in kernel mode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
juang3d
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Ati 4870 1024mb
Processor: 2xXeon 5345@2.3
Mainboard: Tyan S5380
Memory: 8Gb DDR2-667 Fully Buffer
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2
PSU: Big
Default 12-01-2008, 02:10 | posts: 72

anything new? the new drivers are being difficult
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
gellmar
Member Guru
 
gellmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
Processor: Phenom II X6 1055T
Mainboard: MSI 870-G45
Memory: 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: VIA HD onboard 8ch
PSU: Chieftec 550W
Default 12-02-2008, 06:41 | posts: 146 | Location: Ukraine

Yes, I have dug into Escape function and now I am trying to connect to the appropriate REAL register of FirePro's caps. As far as I could understand, the protection based on 'FGL' string in BIOS ( already patched in the driver) is only an initialization trigger (accel/noaccel), while the specific caps are set up by several ports NOT listed either in ATI manual NOR discovered by RivaTuner or ATT.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
gellmar
Member Guru
 
gellmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
Processor: Phenom II X6 1055T
Mainboard: MSI 870-G45
Memory: 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: VIA HD onboard 8ch
PSU: Chieftec 550W
Default 12-03-2008, 18:47 | posts: 146 | Location: Ukraine

TO ALL!

I have found the difference in workstation features supported in 8.543 vs 8.453. So, I need the statistics of that capabilities on HD2xxx/3xxx/4xxx cards. I have developed a simple helper program, and I ask all of you to run it, press 'Features' button and post a report about the features present here. The software is virus-free, so you can run it as trusted.

Waiting for your reports and thanks in advance!

Regards, gellmaR.

ATI Workstation Feature Test:
http://depositfiles.com/files/pr6huwsfz

EDIT: Updated both the program and the link on DepositFiles

Last edited by gellmar; 12-04-2008 at 09:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
juang3d
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Ati 4870 1024mb
Processor: 2xXeon 5345@2.3
Mainboard: Tyan S5380
Memory: 8Gb DDR2-667 Fully Buffer
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2
PSU: Big
Default 12-03-2008, 21:47 | posts: 72

I press the features button and i don't get any window or ifle or anything, nothing happends when i press the features button or the workstation button.

Cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
NormanBates
Master Guru
 
NormanBates's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
Processor: Intel Q6600@3GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5K
Memory: 2gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: similaar.com
PSU: find similar things
Default 12-04-2008, 07:41 | posts: 376 | Location: Spain

rapidshare says:

This file is neither allocated to a Premium Account, or a Collector's Account, and can therefore only be downloaded 10 times.
This limit is reached.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
juang3d
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Ati 4870 1024mb
Processor: 2xXeon 5345@2.3
Mainboard: Tyan S5380
Memory: 8Gb DDR2-667 Fully Buffer
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2
PSU: Big
Default 12-04-2008, 10:53 | posts: 72

I run the program and this is what it tells to me.

Quote:
gellmaR's ATI FireGL Features Report created on 04/12/2008 11:54:44

Card is reported as:
Workstation Feature Test:
End of Report
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
gellmar
Member Guru
 
gellmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
Processor: Phenom II X6 1055T
Mainboard: MSI 870-G45
Memory: 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: VIA HD onboard 8ch
PSU: Chieftec 550W
Default 12-04-2008, 17:23 | posts: 146 | Location: Ukraine

Quote:
Originally Posted by juang3d View Post
I run the program and this is what it tells to me.
Are you sure you have NO features supported? Which drivers do you currently use?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
snuggles0220
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HD 2900xt @ v8650
Processor: E6600 @ 3.51
Mainboard: Abit AB9Pro
Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 2gbx2
Soundcard:
PSU: Xclio 750W
Default 12-04-2008, 18:31 | posts: 58

2900xt --> v8650. Driver version 8.453.1 x64

Results:
gellmaR's ATI FireGL Features Report created on 12/4/2008 10:28:08 AM

Card is reported as: Workstation
Workstation Feature Test:
Feature = 2 OK!
Feature = 4 OK!
Feature = 5 OK!
Stereo Support = 4
End of Report

Keep up the good work! I hope the newer drivers fix the secondary screen corruption when exiting maya.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
NormanBates
Master Guru
 
NormanBates's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
Processor: Intel Q6600@3GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5K
Memory: 2gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: similaar.com
PSU: find similar things
Default 12-05-2008, 08:48 | posts: 376 | Location: Spain

here you have another set of results:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....ghlight=firegl
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
juang3d
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Ati 4870 1024mb
Processor: 2xXeon 5345@2.3
Mainboard: Tyan S5380
Memory: 8Gb DDR2-667 Fully Buffer
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2
PSU: Big
Default 12-05-2008, 09:41 | posts: 72

I have the 8.11 for radeon, if i need to change my drivers just tell me.

Cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
Rectifier
Member Guru
 
Rectifier's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD3870-OC
Processor: Q6600 G0 @ 3000 MHz
Mainboard: MSI P7N Platinum
Memory: 4 GB OCZ REAPER HPC PC8500-CL5
Soundcard: OTL Tube amplifier
PSU: A/C Silentium T1-Eco80
Default 12-05-2008, 13:59 | posts: 63

It makes sense, I guess. My HD4670 (replacement) tells me the same thing, but then again, it is also using a radeon driver, not a fireGl one (since there's no working mod yet ;-))

I could try to use a modded x64 driver once more, after the weekend.
   
Reply With Quote
Hd 3650, HD 3850, HD 4670 results.
Old
  (#94)
khogan112
Master Guru
 
Videocard: NVidia 9600M GT 512MB
Processor: Intel C2Duo T8300 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Compal JHL90
Memory: 2x2GB Kingston DDRII 667
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Notebook adapter
Default Hd 3650, HD 3850, HD 4670 results. - 12-05-2008, 15:06 | posts: 171 | Location: Turkey

HD 3850 as FireGL V7700, on Driver 8.453.1.6 ( Dell )


gellmaR's ATI FireGL Features Report created on 12/5/2008 12:49:34 AM

Card is reported as: Workstation
Workstation Feature Test:
Feature = 2 OK!
Feature = 4 OK!
Feature = 5 OK!
Stereo Support = 4
End of Report


HD 3650 as FireGL V7700, on Driver 8.453.1.6 ( Dell )

gellmaR's ATI FireGL Features Report created on 12/5/2008 1:42:36 AM

Card is reported as: Workstation
Workstation Feature Test:
Feature = 2 OK!
Feature = 4 OK!
Feature = 5 OK!
Stereo Support = 4
End of Report


HD 4670 as FireGL V7700, on Driver 8.453.1.6 ( Dell )
did not boot.


HD 4670 as FirePro V5700, on Driver 8.543
gellmaR's ATI FireGL Features Report created on 12/5/2008 4:53:22 AM

Card is reported as: Workstation
Workstation Feature Test:
Feature = 0 OK!
Feature = 1 OK!
Feature = 2 OK!
Feature = 4 OK!
Feature = 5 OK!
Stereo Support = 4
End of Report

HD 3650 as FireGL V7700, on Driver 8.543
did not boot.

HD 3850 as FireGL V7700, on Driver 8.543
did not boot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
virtualex
Master Guru
 
virtualex's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD4870-800/4400
Processor: Q6600@3Ghz (334x9)
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3 rev2.0
Memory: 4x1g kingston
Soundcard: X-fi Platinum/LM4562 Mod
PSU: Chieftec 620w
Default 12-05-2008, 16:52 | posts: 299 | Location: Bacau, Romania

gellmaR's ATI FireGL Features Report created on 12/5/2008 6:51:45 PM

Card is reported as: Workstation
Workstation Feature Test:
Feature = 2 OK!
Feature = 4 OK!
Feature = 5 OK!
End of Report


Radeon 2600pro @ FireGL V5600
Driver 8.391, OS win 2003 server.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
sponka
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 5850
Processor: C2Q 9450 @ stock
Mainboard: Asus P5K Premium
Memory: 8 Gb Elite-800
Soundcard: on.board ADI AD1988B
PSU: 500W Tagan
Default 12-09-2008, 11:49 | posts: 129 | Location: Slovenia

Hello!

Have 4850 and Vista x64 with 8.541 (8.10) drivers and I get empty result. it seems I need to update drivers

Keep the good work, thank you!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
snuggles0220
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HD 2900xt @ v8650
Processor: E6600 @ 3.51
Mainboard: Abit AB9Pro
Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 2gbx2
Soundcard:
PSU: Xclio 750W
Default 12-09-2008, 18:14 | posts: 58

Quote:
Originally Posted by sponka View Post
Hello!

Have 4850 and Vista x64 with 8.541 (8.10) drivers and I get empty result. it seems I need to update drivers

Keep the good work, thank you!
There is no working softgl mod for vista.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
sponka
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD 5850
Processor: C2Q 9450 @ stock
Mainboard: Asus P5K Premium
Memory: 8 Gb Elite-800
Soundcard: on.board ADI AD1988B
PSU: 500W Tagan
Default 12-10-2008, 02:37 | posts: 129 | Location: Slovenia

Ah ... Thx for note; didn't read whole thread and when I saw x64 I assumed it's for vista. Anyway, I'm gonna keep an eye on thread, despite fact that I won't downgrade to XP
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
Rectifier
Member Guru
 
Rectifier's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD3870-OC
Processor: Q6600 G0 @ 3000 MHz
Mainboard: MSI P7N Platinum
Memory: 4 GB OCZ REAPER HPC PC8500-CL5
Soundcard: OTL Tube amplifier
PSU: A/C Silentium T1-Eco80
Default 12-10-2008, 07:16 | posts: 63

Well, Vista's a whole different pile off...
I have both (x64), but must say that support for XP is almost non-existing. Vista appears to be pushed by not just microsoft, so in the long run, someone will have to come up with a vista-mod. or we'll be stuck with XP forever.
The trouble with Vista is probably that it does not have any _real_ openGl anymore; only some ported version to DX10.

But let's first try to fix the firePro's, perhaps they'll shed some light on what's changed in Vista as well...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
snuggles0220
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HD 2900xt @ v8650
Processor: E6600 @ 3.51
Mainboard: Abit AB9Pro
Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 2gbx2
Soundcard:
PSU: Xclio 750W
Default 12-10-2008, 16:52 | posts: 58

To add more to the vista troubles windows 7 should be out in about one year. Although there probably similar enough that if you can get a mod working one one it will work on the other with little to no change (hopefully).
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.