Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum
Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum This forum is intended for generic questions and discussion of the RivaTuner Utility. In this section the users help each other out with answers.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Find Rivatuner guides here
Old
  (#1)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default Find Rivatuner guides here - 08-23-2006, 02:20 | posts: 1,877 | Location: USA

Has Rivatuner been discontinued ?
Click me

burebista's generic guide here as of May 31, 2009.
Click me

stangowner's guides (include's video's)
Click me


Real Temp plugin as a battery / ACline event trigger
Click me

Force driver version when not supported by Rivatuner.
The latest supported drivers (190.62) were added in Rivatuner release 224c. Download from Guru3D. This link will show you how to force any newer drivers to run in emulation mode and turn on Rivatuner's features.
Click me


Rivatuner and Nvidia 2XX.XX driver compatibility.
Click me

RealTemp. It has a plugin for RivaTuner which supports Gulftown.
Click me

More Realtemp plugin thread.
Click me


Typically, mobile graphics cards are not supported by Rivatuner.

Last edited by boogieman; 02-10-2011 at 16:57. Reason: Added Realtemp links
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-23-2006, 06:40 | posts: 12,957 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Making the thread sticky


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Thumbs up 08-23-2006, 21:39 | posts: 1,877 | Location: USA

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 10-16-2006, 23:46 | posts: 1,877 | Location: USA

Well, Unwinder has been a busy guy. He's just made more work for me but it something I'll enjoy doing. I will update the guides after 16.1 is released.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 10-28-2006, 15:04 | posts: 1,877 | Location: USA

OSD guide updated to reflect 16.1 changes. Couldn't be easier now.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
StevenJCarline
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GE Force 6100 Motherboard
Processor: AMD Sempron 2500+
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF Socket 754
Memory: 512 DDR 400
Soundcard: Realtek ac '97
PSU: um Constant Wall American?
Default 11-29-2006, 18:34 | posts: 2 | Location: Illinios, USA

um yeah I need something very very simple like a Dummies Guide to Riva Tuner lol I read its Read me and the help file isnt very helpfull lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
gold_heart007
Master Guru
 
gold_heart007's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX N560Ti TwinFrozr2
Processor: Intel C2Q Q6600 3.0GHz
Mainboard: MSI P45 Platinum Rev1.1
Memory: Corsair Gaming 4GB DDRII
Soundcard: Xonar DX + Z5500D
PSU: Corsair GS700W
Default 12-19-2006, 19:37 | posts: 443 | Location: India, Noida / NCR

Thanks buddy!
   
Reply With Quote
You asked for RT guides, You will get them
Old
  (#8)
rautamiekka
Newbie
 
Videocard: GF8600GS 256MB+256MB
Processor: C2D t7100 1.8GHz
Mainboard: F3SV
Memory: 2GB DDR667
Soundcard: something Realtek HD
PSU: 90W
Default You asked for RT guides, You will get them - 12-20-2006, 14:37 | posts: 35 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJCarline View Post
um yeah I need something very very simple like a Dummies Guide to Riva Tuner lol I read its Read me and the help file isnt very helpfull lol
I am writing some guides for RT but I really start at Friday because we have Christmas holiday which lasts to 6th day of the first month (pause from school) ... Look forward for it

Last edited by rautamiekka; 12-20-2006 at 15:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 12-26-2006, 00:07 | posts: 1,877 | Location: USA

In the next few days I will add some info about the D3D Overrider in the guides.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
jyd76
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800GTX
Processor: Core2 Duo E6600
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 680i
Memory: 2BG DDR2 1066
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
Default 01-09-2007, 15:35 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by boogieman View Post
My ISP has been bought out by Comcast. Please go here, if interested, before the other site is shut off.

Thanks

http://home.comcast.net/~msl2/

OLD SITE http://userweb.suscom.net/~msl/index.htm
I fully admit that I might be a dummy, but what is posted in the guide, and what I saw when I downloaded Rivatuner 2.0 Final seem COMPLETELY different.

I'm running an 8800GTX and all I saw was one fan control... either throttle all the way or nothing. No ability to set intervals. What am I missing?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 01-09-2007, 23:56 | posts: 1,877 | Location: USA

Quote:
If you see changes on "Reference fan duty cycle" graph when changing fan speed in RT/ExpertTool/nTune, but the fan speed physically doesn't change - that's hardware issue (either mission or malfunctioning fan control circuit).
If "Reference fan duty cycle" graph doesn't change regardless of fan speeds you set in RT/ExpertTool/nTune - it is either BIOS or ForceWare limitation.
Otherwise Search.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Darkoz
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 8800 ULTRA xXx 675/2.3GHz
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q6700
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DQ6
Memory: 4GB Patriot DDR2 800
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 620W Modular
Default 01-10-2007, 02:40 | posts: 1,681 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyd76 View Post
I fully admit that I might be a dummy, but what is posted in the guide, and what I saw when I downloaded Rivatuner 2.0 Final seem COMPLETELY different.

I'm running an 8800GTX and all I saw was one fan control... either throttle all the way or nothing. No ability to set intervals. What am I missing?
Setting an auto fan profile is a bit more complicated than just going to the Low Level Fan Control page.
You need to make your fan profiles first, create the Launcher settings then create upward and downward crossing thresholds in Hardware Monitoring.

One method to set up auto fan speeds for your 8800GTX is to create a fan profile according to the core temperature of the card.
So when it reaches a predefined temp. (starting a 3D app) the fan will automatically increase and when it drops below a certain temp (quitting a 3D app) the fan will decrease.
This is how I have my fan profile setup for my 8800GTX and it works very well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
jyd76
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800GTX
Processor: Core2 Duo E6600
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 680i
Memory: 2BG DDR2 1066
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
Default 01-10-2007, 06:31 | posts: 3

Cool, thanks boogieman, it took a bit, but I finally got to understanding your guide.

And thanks Darkoz for dumbing it down for me so I could understand the guide.

One last question. I set things up like in the guide. When my card's core temp goes above 50C I have the fan bump to 75%, however, after rebooting, several minutes have passed, and the fan speed has not adjusted itself, and the card temp is 58C. Any clue what might not be working?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Darkoz
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 8800 ULTRA xXx 675/2.3GHz
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q6700
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35-DQ6
Memory: 4GB Patriot DDR2 800
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 620W Modular
Default 01-10-2007, 07:46 | posts: 1,681 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyd76 View Post
Cool, thanks boogieman, it took a bit, but I finally got to understanding your guide.

And thanks Darkoz for dumbing it down for me so I could understand the guide.

One last question. I set things up like in the guide. When my card's core temp goes above 50C I have the fan bump to 75%, however, after rebooting, several minutes have passed, and the fan speed has not adjusted itself, and the card temp is 58C. Any clue what might not be working?
For the 8800 series cards you need to use Low Level System settings rather than the driver level settings used in that guide to set the fan profiles..........
Click on Customize



Then Low Level System Settings (the first icon)
Then Fan and create you fan profiles.



From there on just follow the linked guide a few posts up as it shows you.
on the fan control page shown above, do not check "apply fan settings at startup"
Remember, you need to have RivaTuner running in the background for the auto fan control to work.

To make sure that Rivatuner is running when you start up, go to the settings tab and make sure that Run At Windows Startup is checked

Last edited by Darkoz; 01-10-2007 at 08:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
jyd76
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800GTX
Processor: Core2 Duo E6600
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 680i
Memory: 2BG DDR2 1066
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
Default 01-10-2007, 13:39 | posts: 3

Oh, I did all of that already. I figured it out pretty quick once you pointed me down the right path yesterday. Thanks for that by the way.

I guess it's just normal on reboot, with Riva running in the background, that it takes a few minutes for the fan to swap speeds. If the temp is in between thermal thresholds when the system starts.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 01-10-2007, 23:09 | posts: 1,877 | Location: USA

Cause I don't own one I didn't realize that there was only one fan slider on that card. Thanks for sharing that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 02-01-2007, 01:13 | posts: 1,877 | Location: USA

Added 8800 guide by Bobas007 here.
Link no longer available.

Last edited by boogieman; 08-29-2008 at 04:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
jrcallan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 8600gts
Processor: E6600
Mainboard: Abit AB9 QuadGT
Memory: 4x1gb Patriot DDR2 800
Soundcard: MB
PSU: OCZ GameXstream 700W
Default 05-01-2007, 11:39 | posts: 87 | Location: PA

Have you installed RT 2.01 yet?

I'm using a 7900gt with Vista 32bit. RT2.01 sees the 158.18 driver and I can access the tab for overclocking, but no tab shows up for "fan." Does that sound right to you?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-01-2007, 12:28 | posts: 12,957 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcallan View Post
Have you installed RT 2.01 yet?

I'm using a 7900gt with Vista 32bit. RT2.01 sees the 158.18 driver and I can access the tab for overclocking, but no tab shows up for "fan." Does that sound right to you?
Read documentation before asking!!!

Known issues section clearly says the following:

- Currently RivaTuner doesn't provide driver-level 2D/3D fan speed control features under Vista due to NVIDIA Vista driver's limitations.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Initial fan speed in low level
Old
  (#20)
fredc
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default Initial fan speed in low level - 05-18-2007, 14:20 | posts: 1

Hi guys, I'm new to this forum and new to all this tweaking stuff. I'm on my third build and trying to get a handle on it, so bare with me. But here is something I've noticed.

"One last question. I set things up like in the guide. When my card's core temp goes above 50C I have the fan bump to 75%, however, after rebooting, several minutes have passed, and the fan speed has not adjusted itself, and the card temp is 58C. Any clue what might not be working?"

Someone posted the above and I had noticed the same problem. I set the launch thresholds at 50C for fan speed 60% to 75% and then 60C for 75% to 100%. I really only wanted 2 speeds, 75% and 100%, the higher to kick in at 60C. What I found was that when my computer booted up and the riva loaded, the GPU temp was already between 50C and 60C but the fan stayed at 60%. I finally realized that unless the temp crosses one of the thresholds that were set in Boogieman's guide, it wouldn't trigger anything. And the initial launch thresholds are set for a rising temp, not a falling one. Someone may find fault in this, but you can test it out like I did. Still trying to find out how to set the fan default at 75% instead of 60% without using riva, if I can. Either in bios or the driver. Then I won't have to worry about the 60-70% threshold.

Sorry about the length. I'll get more concise with this stuff, I assume.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 05-18-2007, 22:33 | posts: 1,877 | Location: USA

What card?

What OS?

If ya don't want to use RT, then can ya adjust the fan speed with Nv CP?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
iller
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-18-2007, 19:21 | posts: 3

i'm trying to get my 8800 gts to overclock according to your guide. I set everything up exactly as you done it but when i run a 3d app it doesnt change into the 3d profile and overclock the card.

Any idea what might be wrong?

*edit*
think i found the answe but not sure.. but rt cant change it any longer as it is controlled by the forceware nowadays...am i right?

Last edited by iller; 06-18-2007 at 19:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 06-18-2007, 22:16 | posts: 1,877 | Location: USA

I think you might have missed a step. Delete everything you've done (including items in the launcher) and try again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
tralalalala
Banned
 
Videocard: 6600 GT
Processor: Athlon64 3000+
Mainboard: Asus AV8 deluxe
Memory: 1 GB
Soundcard: AC'97
PSU: Eurotech 560W
Default 06-22-2007, 16:12 | posts: 102

I dont think 3D is ever detected on Vista...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
HamidFULL
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD4850 700/2200
Processor: C2Q Q6600 G0 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: abit IX38 QuadGT Rev1.0
Memory: 4x1GB DDR2-800 @ 1000MHz
Soundcard: On-board Realtek ALC888
PSU: Zalman 1000W ATX v2.2
Default 06-22-2007, 18:47 | posts: 329 | Location: Middle-East

thanks ...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.