GTX 660, will i experience bottleneck issues?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by caob, Nov 11, 2012.

1. caob

caob Guest

GPU:
    GeForce 9800 GT 512MB
    I've been thinking a lot about upgrading to a GTX 660 instead of the GT 9800 512MB which I've been using for the last four years. There is no doubt that the GTX 660 would be a big step up, but the problem is, will my CPU be able to handle the GTX 660 or will I just get disappointed? I have a Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz. Buying a new PC is unfortunately not within my budget.

Thankful for any help I can get.

2. Mufflore

Mufflore Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Its the games that mainly determine what CPU you need.
    Modern games need a faster CPU, but you can overclock.

3. HeavyHemi

HeavyHemi Guest

GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    Your CPU will definitely limit the performance of the GTX 660. However, you can minimize that somewhat by being able to run higher resolutions and more AA and higher in game settings. Ultimately the CPU runs the show telling the GPU what to draw. There is always going to be a 'bottleneck' in a system. Defined as what ever part(s) is/are impacting performance the most.
    Adding a much more powerful GPU is going to bias that performance impact more toward your CPU. You're still going to get a decent increase in performance.

4. XBEAST

XBEAST Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI GTX 770 Gaming
    Overclock your CPU and you should be fine. 2.33 GHz is awfully low for a C2Q.

5. thatguy91

thatguy91 Guest

Yes, 2.33 Ghz is the stock speed for the Q8200. The difference between the Q8xxx and Q9x00 is less cache. They went from 2x6MB on the Q9450 etc, to 2x3MB on the Q9400 etc, to 2x2MB on the Q8xxx series.