Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#626)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 06-06-2014, 18:05 | posts: 7,525 | Location: 127.0.0.1

[QUOTE=Taint3dBulge;4834402]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
These are my settings for 5GHz - 1.45-.151 is not way too high, loads of people need that vCore to stabilize these chips, some people are lucky and get golden chips but ive seen people needing 1.53v for 4.4GHz

1.55v is max safe vCore for these chips
----



V Core im not so much afraid of.. Its the cpu/nb when it gets to 1.45 the board heats up.. I just dont want another board to fry.. Guess im just wary after my other board smoked out cause it was always getting to 40c. But guess I cant be a wuss too lmao! But then again, once i finish my computer room downstairs i know the computer temps will drop a crap tone. Ambient temps upstairs are 72, downstairs its like 65 or less, and in the winter its hard to keep it anywere near 65.. So I need to oc the crap outa the pc, to have it be more of a space heater lol.

Yea once bitten twice shy lol

I had BSODs so often with my Phenom II 965 when I got to the Physics test of 3DMArk11, that even today I still dread that part of the test, even though it's never crashed since getting my 8350

Mentally scarred lol

HWiNFO64 tells me my Motherboard is @ 22c with 23c max and its a warm day today too

Looks like my board is getting 1.45v for CPU/NB too
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#627)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-07-2014, 03:50 | posts: 9,303 | Location: Toledo

[QUOTE=Taint3dBulge;4834402]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
These are my settings for 5GHz - 1.45-.151 is not way too high, loads of people need that vCore to stabilize these chips, some people are lucky and get golden chips but ive seen people needing 1.53v for 4.4GHz

1.55v is max safe vCore for these chips
----



V Core im not so much afraid of.. Its the cpu/nb when it gets to 1.45 the board heats up.. I just dont want another board to fry.. Guess im just wary after my other board smoked out cause it was always getting to 40c. But guess I cant be a wuss too lmao! But then again, once i finish my computer room downstairs i know the computer temps will drop a crap tone. Ambient temps upstairs are 72, downstairs its like 65 or less, and in the winter its hard to keep it anywere near 65.. So I need to oc the crap outa the pc, to have it be more of a space heater lol.
I doubt your board crapped because the northbridge was at 40C. That's not even that hot. Silicon won't bat an eye at that temperature. My MB components are regularly at 40-45C and my board is well over a year old.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#628)
FearFactory
Master Guru
 
FearFactory's Avatar
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD6950 2GB
Processor: AMD FX8320 @4.2
Mainboard: Asus M5A99X EVO
Memory: 8GB Corsair Veng 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: Corsair RM650 650W
Default 06-10-2014, 16:55 | posts: 785 | Location: Portugal

I just sold my old Phenom II and got a FX8320 a few days ago i did a quick OC, but i want to ask if it worth to mess with the HT or will just add some more heat..? my settings now:

multi 21x @4200

Turbo off

Mem 1600mhz

NB 2400mhz

HT 2200mhz

default vcore

LLC auto
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#629)
Taint3dBulge
Maha Guru
 
Taint3dBulge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti Classy 1333/8000
Processor: FX8350 5Ghz H100iPushPull
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V FormulaZ
Memory: Trident X 2400 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: EVGA G2 1300
Default 06-11-2014, 23:44 | posts: 1,070 | Location: South Dakota

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearFactory View Post
I just sold my old Phenom II and got a FX8320 a few days ago i did a quick OC, but i want to ask if it worth to mess with the HT or will just add some more heat..? my settings now:

multi 21x @4200

Turbo off

Mem 1600mhz

NB 2400mhz

HT 2200mhz

default vcore

LLC auto
You can have the NB and HT set to 2600 for best performance and not have to add any voltages to it.. Well most mobo's anyways.. My old 890fx the NB didnt like anything past 2580mhz. But give it a try. If not just do 2400 for nb and 2600 for HT.. It shouldnt add any heat, if it does it will be very little.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#630)
Taint3dBulge
Maha Guru
 
Taint3dBulge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti Classy 1333/8000
Processor: FX8350 5Ghz H100iPushPull
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V FormulaZ
Memory: Trident X 2400 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: EVGA G2 1300
Default 06-12-2014, 08:17 | posts: 1,070 | Location: South Dakota

Ok guys, I finally got my mobo and cpu half way stable. Made it 9 min of Prime95..

Here are my specs and screen shots of my bios... Am I missing something to get this thing running without using so damn much vcore and cpu/nb volts

Note: I am using the 8pin and 4 pin cpu power connectors. I tried with just the 8, the 4 seems to help a snid bit.

Specs
FX8350 (H100i Push Pull)
Crosshair V Formula Z
G.Skill 2400mhz 10-12-12-31 T1 (Default is T2 but this isnt the problem)
KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000W ATX
EVGA 780Ti Classified
Samsung 840pro ssd
OCZ Vector ssd
Seagate HD
Sound Blaster Z audio
AZZA 9000 Case





   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#631)
iafro89
Member Guru
 
iafro89's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 6950/70
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.5ghz @ 1.36
Mainboard: M5A99FX PRO 2.0
Memory: 16gb Samsung
Soundcard:
PSU: Kingwin 750/Corsair 750
Default 06-14-2014, 04:45 | posts: 95

Hey guys, recently I have been having problems with my 8350. Before under cpu-z and hwinfo it would show up as 4515mhz while being set in the bios at 4.5ghz. Now it shows up as 4485mhz and the bus speed stays at 199.34. Do any of you have any idea why this happened? My motherboard is a Sabertooth 2.0 with the latest bios 2501.

Last edited by iafro89; 06-14-2014 at 04:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#632)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-14-2014, 05:46 | posts: 9,303 | Location: Toledo

Is Spread Spectrum Enabled? That's the only likely cause. Otherwise it's just fluctuations in hardware polling, which is never totally accurate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#633)
iafro89
Member Guru
 
iafro89's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 6950/70
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.5ghz @ 1.36
Mainboard: M5A99FX PRO 2.0
Memory: 16gb Samsung
Soundcard:
PSU: Kingwin 750/Corsair 750
Default 06-14-2014, 15:23 | posts: 95

Thank you for the response ICE. I made sure all those features like spread spectrum and energy saving options were disabled.

What it ended up being was Hyper V. I had recently installed a windows phone emulator to test out windows phone 8.1 and needed hyper V to run that. For some reason it made the processor stay at 4485mhz. After uninstalling Hyper v it is now sitting at 4515mhz. Guess you learn something everyday.

Thank you for help though, I really appreciate it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#634)
Taint3dBulge
Maha Guru
 
Taint3dBulge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti Classy 1333/8000
Processor: FX8350 5Ghz H100iPushPull
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V FormulaZ
Memory: Trident X 2400 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: EVGA G2 1300
Default 08-31-2014, 08:42 | posts: 1,070 | Location: South Dakota

Hey guys, Thought Id post alittle AMD goodness.

Just got my new case put together..

Thought id post some pics for the fun of it.
















   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#635)
ManofGod
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 290 Reference
Processor: AMD FX 8350 at 4.6GHz
Mainboard: ASRock 990FX Extreme 9
Memory: 16GB Visiontek DDR3 1333
Soundcard: On Board Sound
PSU: Thermaltake Smart M850W
Default 08-31-2014, 15:16 | posts: 881 | Location: Tonawanda, NY

So, that is how you keep the socket temps down, nice! My case is smaller and designed for quietness more than cooling. (Fractal Design R3) I could never really get a handle on the socket temps so I gave up. The fans on the Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro would kick into high gear because of the socket temps although the core temps were much lower.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#636)
CalculuS
Master Guru
 
CalculuS's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6850HD CFX 840/1125MHz
Processor: AMD FX 8350 @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock 970Extreme3 R2.0
Memory: 8GB Corsair Veng @ 1600
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: CM Thunder 700W
Default 08-31-2014, 15:31 | posts: 559 | Location: Netherlands

Soon I will be in the club, soon!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#637)
IAmGhostDog
Maha Guru
 
IAmGhostDog's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD7950 3GB
Processor: FX8350/Hyper 212 EVO
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Memory: Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: HT|Omega Claro
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 09-01-2014, 15:56 | posts: 1,024 | Location: Milwaukee, Wi USA

I'm in.
Put this together about a month ago.



   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#638)
chuck216
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI R9 270X Gaming 2Gb
Processor: AMD FX-8320
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Memory: Kingston DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard, Logitec 5.1
PSU: Coolermaster 750w GXII
Default 10-26-2014, 01:35 | posts: 44 | Location: Tampa, FL

Here's what I was able to do with my 8320 on air:

http://valid.canardpc.com/n81jsx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#639)
FearFactory
Master Guru
 
FearFactory's Avatar
 
Videocard: PowerColor HD6950 2GB
Processor: AMD FX8320 @4.2
Mainboard: Asus M5A99X EVO
Memory: 8GB Corsair Veng 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: Corsair RM650 650W
Default 10-27-2014, 22:25 | posts: 785 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taint3dBulge View Post
You can have the NB and HT set to 2600 for best performance and not have to add any voltages to it.. Well most mobo's anyways.. My old 890fx the NB didnt like anything past 2580mhz. But give it a try. If not just do 2400 for nb and 2600 for HT.. It shouldnt add any heat, if it does it will be very little.
2600 on the NB gave me 3c more on the cpu temp. HT2600 made no difference on the benchmarks
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
one step back

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.