Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Benchmark Mayhem
Benchmark Mayhem This section is for you benchmark freaks. Wanna show off your 3D Mark scores with your brand new GTX 980 SLI or Radeon R9 290X Crossfire in that Intel Core i7 rig? Then this is your section!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1201)
jaggerwild
Master Guru
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Videocard: Many
Processor: Many
Mainboard: Z68 Asus MaximusIV GENE Z
Memory: Gskill Ripjaws 2000Mhz
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: 1KW
Default 02-06-2015, 16:34 | posts: 160 | Location: Nvidia=central heating ;)

@Matt,
Clean all eraser off the board, I would wash the board with soapy warm water and a soft tooth brush. If you have a dish washer, put the board in there on gentile. then hang the board in a window to dry for 48hours. That spot looks normal, so I'd suspect something else....... For chits n giggles try flashing the bios.

Quote:
Think my ud3h is dead! Put my 3770k in it and the system doesn't post! Put a celeron in it same thing. Tried with nothing but a cpu plugged in and same thing again, all lights up for half a second then all shuts off, thinking I damaged something when I pulled all the eraser off
Was it working when you last used it, give more input maybe we can save it.

Last edited by jaggerwild; 02-06-2015 at 16:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1202)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 02-06-2015, 17:32 | posts: 9,254 | Location: Urban`Jungle

I've been a little busy too today, got few extra points here and there
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1203)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 02-06-2015, 19:32 | posts: 12,200 | Location: new jersey

lol tj you are so smart but.....your screen shots suck

great scores but please follow the guidelines for the ss's or post fm links
gpuz cpuz with cpu tab open and cpuz memory tab open
the bench mark with details showing

good job to you and CD ,matt I am sure we will see you do damage to the bot soon too
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1204)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 02-07-2015, 00:58 | posts: 9,254 | Location: Urban`Jungle

lol true I was kinda lazy, ok fixed all the best I could, added cpuz and gpuz where needed and Oc'ed accordingly..

Some were older screenshots
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1205)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 02-07-2015, 12:52 | posts: 2,568 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaggerwild View Post
@Matt,
Clean all eraser off the board, I would wash the board with soapy warm water and a soft tooth brush. If you have a dish washer, put the board in there on gentile. then hang the board in a window to dry for 48hours. That spot looks normal, so I'd suspect something else....... For chits n giggles try flashing the bios.


Was it working when you last used it, give more input maybe we can save it.
Yeah it was working before, I had done a couple of DICE runs over a weekend. When I'd finished I turned it all off and left it there, pretty sure I unplugged the 24 pin and 8 pin from the mobo. I did leave the CMOS battery in though. But I didn't notice much water about so I don't think I shorted anything.

Next time I'll wrap a towel around the pot, hopefully it'll absorb more water, though I do use a lot of kitchen roll which sucked up a lot of water too.

I'll give it a wash today and let it dry for a couple days, give it another go Monday afternoon perhaps and see what happens

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
I've been a little busy too today, got few extra points here and there
I've noticed you've been busy too! You took 15 points off of me! I'm going to want those back dude

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
lol tj you are so smart but.....your screen shots suck

great scores but please follow the guidelines for the ss's or post fm links
gpuz cpuz with cpu tab open and cpuz memory tab open
the bench mark with details showing

good job to you and CD ,matt I am sure we will see you do damage to the bot soon too
Chief certainly has been hitting it! Did some more last night by the looks of it.

Hopefully I'll be back soon, but with a 3770K at 5.3-5.6GHz under DICE with about 7 GPU configs I can run! 9 if I tear down my 2 7970s
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1206)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 02-11-2015, 17:34 | posts: 2,568 | Location: UK

Finally new UD3H is here! Can get back to playing again

Edit

Had a few bent CPU pins, however managed to get them all sorted this afternoon, so should be able to test her tonight see if she fires up. Also may have found the reason for my broke UD3H, got a couple photos of old UD3H and new UD3H to put up. Only reason I can think it might not be the case is my old board was rev 1.1 and the new is 1.2, but the resistor or whatever it is looks broken for sure.

Last edited by Matt26LFC; 02-12-2015 at 17:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1207)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 02-12-2015, 23:13 | posts: 9,254 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Cool, happy benching
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1208)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 02-13-2015, 15:12 | posts: 12,200 | Location: new jersey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt26LFC View Post
Finally new UD3H is here! Can get back to playing again

Edit

Had a few bent CPU pins, however managed to get them all sorted this afternoon, so should be able to test her tonight see if she fires up. Also may have found the reason for my broke UD3H, got a couple photos of old UD3H and new UD3H to put up. Only reason I can think it might not be the case is my old board was rev 1.1 and the new is 1.2, but the resistor or whatever it is looks broken for sure.
Did you use putty on the broke board?
Sometimes it may pull out loose stuff on the board.
Good luck on the new board Matt
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1209)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 02-17-2015, 20:14 | posts: 2,568 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
Did you use putty on the broke board?
Sometimes it may pull out loose stuff on the board.
Good luck on the new board Matt
Yes mate, I used kneaded eraser. I'll chuck those pics up when I can, got the bench rig up and running and been playing a little with the 3770K Sat at about 4.5GHz with 1.31v & 2400MHz on the mems. Getting limited by my air cooler, already hits over 70c in Cinebench lol Might see what it can do at 1.5v just for Max CPUz validation. Need to get some DICE soon I think!!

Also Cowie what happens if I submit a score that isn't sub zero now? Because I'm Extreme now not sure if I'd get points using air or water cooling now!?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1210)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 02-17-2015, 20:27 | posts: 12,200 | Location: new jersey

well good luck with the 3770
you will still get points no matter air or -0 depends on the hardware and global position still the same scores to beat

ahh now you are in the extreme class, what they should do is allow you to disable points for the first of your sub zero runs and still keep you in enthusiast class then when you subzero a lot more you can enable points for those runs
they are thinking about it

Last edited by cowie; 02-17-2015 at 20:29.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1211)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 02-18-2015, 16:53 | posts: 2,568 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
well good luck with the 3770
you will still get points no matter air or -0 depends on the hardware and global position still the same scores to beat

ahh now you are in the extreme class, what they should do is allow you to disable points for the first of your sub zero runs and still keep you in enthusiast class then when you subzero a lot more you can enable points for those runs
they are thinking about it
That's not a bad idea, as being able to bench regularly under cold isn't always that easy, not until I move up to LN2 and get a big 100L tank to store the LN2

Had a little play this morn, hit 5.15GHz at 1.54v BCLK 102MHz, really need cold I think, will order some DICE very soon!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1212)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 02-20-2015, 14:38 | posts: 12,200 | Location: new jersey

Nice great start
All I could do on my 3770 with dice in 3d benches was about 5.4 it was so hot man.
Ln2 was good for it 6.2 1.67v for 3d but the board went away after about 400L.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1213)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 02-24-2015, 20:54 | posts: 2,568 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
Nice great start
All I could do on my 3770 with dice in 3d benches was about 5.4 it was so hot man.
Ln2 was good for it 6.2 1.67v for 3d but the board went away after about 400L.
Yeah I'm finding its really hot! my little air cooler really struggles with 4.7GHz and over 1.4v

Just had a little play with it and a 4850 with a Pencil Mod, think its around 1.32v on GPU, I haven't played with the memory yet, however I just scored 11054 in Vantage P score! Not a bad boost. Running 780Mhz on the core, failed at 790Mhz, might try a little more 2morrow, see if I can get a little more volts, it seems to handle it well!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1214)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 02-27-2015, 00:21 | posts: 12,200 | Location: new jersey

well just watch the rams if you pencil mod them and matt you should read the voltage with a dmm when ever you add volts especially on a simple pencil mod.
I took out a 4850 because I screwed up the math , I was only .15 off and it blew around 2.10v so you can blew the rams up with a pencil in other words
you should ok on the core I think it was about 1.47 or so was the least resistance I could go with a pencil and it was piled on and taped lol
I got 900 out of it with just a As2 cooler and with a hard mod 1050+ on just dice lol
9800 gtx's have easy volt mods like the 4850 and are fun too.
old cards and modern cpus is sorta like cheating but its fun
http://hwbot.org/submission/2264276_...3_111594_marks

lol anyways good benching
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1215)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 02-27-2015, 20:29 | posts: 2,568 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
well just watch the rams if you pencil mod them and matt you should read the voltage with a dmm when ever you add volts especially on a simple pencil mod.
I took out a 4850 because I screwed up the math , I was only .15 off and it blew around 2.10v so you can blew the rams up with a pencil in other words
you should ok on the core I think it was about 1.47 or so was the least resistance I could go with a pencil and it was piled on and taped lol
I got 900 out of it with just a As2 cooler and with a hard mod 1050+ on just dice lol
9800 gtx's have easy volt mods like the 4850 and are fun too.
old cards and modern cpus is sorta like cheating but its fun
http://hwbot.org/submission/2264276_...3_111594_marks

lol anyways good benching
Yeah I used a DMM to read on the back of the card while it was running vantage, think the highest I saw was 1.32v

But yeah was fun, even though I only picked up 30Mhz more on the core it was pretty cool to do

Didn't play with the mems in the end, didn't know what to shade lol So just left it.

I'll look into doing more with my GPUs after I've done the CPU under DICE on its own and learned what I'm doing with it, so prob only 2d Benches to start with. I may run some 3d after, if I have enough DICE left, just to see what frequencies I can bench at in 3d, then I'll pick a GPU learn how to get the most out of it (CPU won't be under DICE when I'm doing this) and after I've done all that I'll put all I've learned together.

Hopefully that method will provide me with my best scores!

Think I'll order DICE next week for next weekend
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1216)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default Yesterday, 14:28 | posts: 12,200 | Location: new jersey

Sounds like a plan.
I always get the cards cold a few times if need be before I get both cpu /gpu and vise versa.
My mistake is when I do cpu cold solo I most of the time have two or three cards installed....just in case I kill something and not get another chance lol
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.