Wireless keyboard and mouse for gaming?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TDurden, Jul 8, 2016.

1. TDurden

TDurden Guest

GPU:
    Sapphire R9 390 Nitro
    I am looking for a wireless keyboard and mouse, separate or combo. Reading reviews on Amazon etc. there are some complains about input lag, others say it's fine. I have little experience with wireless keyboards or mouse, are they ready yet for semi-serious gaming? No esports level, but casual gaming, fast FPS games included.

Do you use wireless or wired for gaming? Can you recommend some options?

2. nhlkoho

nhlkoho Guest

GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    I always use wired. I like the slight resistance you get from the cable. Plus I can't be bothered to plug the things in. I'd rather just turn my computer on and everything works without having to worry about the batteries dying halfway through a gaming session.

3. sverek

sverek Guest

GPU:
    NOVIDIA -0.5GB
    I would never recommend wireless equipment, unless you really need it.
    Having battery dying halfway, bad signal and delay is worst for gaming.

Its all marketing gimmick

4. Vipu2

Vipu2 Guest

GPU:
    1070ti

5. scatman839

scatman839 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    3080, KD55XD800
  6. nhlkoho

nhlkoho Guest

GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    Non-standard batteries are never good unless it can work in wired mode like the second one you linked. If the battery dies mid gaming then you gotta stop and wait for it to recharge unless you have a spare mouse you can plug in. I'd rather just pop in 2 AAA batteries or whatever wireless mice use.

7. adabiviak

adabiviak Master Guru

GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 980Ti
    ...been playing nothing but first-person shooters with a Bluetooth keyboard (Microsoft Keyboard Elite) that I've been using since I got it in 2004. I prefer trackballs, and am in love with Logitech's latest M570 (since it's got two extra buttons compared to previous offerings, plus it's wireless).