Asus GTX 980 TI Strix DC3 OC noob questions

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by tfilipe, Dec 23, 2015.

1. tfilipe

tfilipe Guest

GPU:
    GTX 980 TI 6GB
    Hello, i am a complete rookie in these matters. The very little i understand of OC(ing) GPU cards comes from reading information posted on forums like these.

However, i would like to request some info/help regarding an overclocking procedure on an Asus GTX 980 TI Strix factory clocked (the one that as a 1317 Mhz boost).

I didnt use Asus GPU tweak (didnt liked it) and instead i used EVGA precision (5.3.10).

First question: im running at 110% power, 80C temp target, +110Mhz GPU clock and +200Mhz Mem clock. I noticed that the voltage goes up to 1.2000v when achieving max GPU load, but i didnt add any voltage in EVGA precision, it´s at 0 mv. Shouldn´t the voltage remain at 1.1750 (card default)?

Second question: is it safe to have that voltage (1.2000)? My temperature never rises above 70 degrees celsius (with my current fan curve, i think the max fan rpm i get is between 55-60%).

Thank you for any help!

Regards

2. fantaskarsef

fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

GPU:
    4090@H2O
    Wouldn't see anything extraordinary there. I wouldn't worry about those 1.2v at all, my cards reach that easily (and I'd wish they'd take more voltage). As long as the temperature is OK and your overclock is stable.

3. tfilipe

tfilipe Guest

GPU:
    GTX 980 TI 6GB
    Thank you for your help.

Can you actually get past 1.2120v with your Strix cards?

4. fantaskarsef

GPU:
    4090@H2O
    Hardly. Either you need Unwinder's advanced support for I2C commands via third party hardware support on Afterburner, or you need to toy around with Shamino's mod. But basically even BIOS editing doesn't get you where Gigabyte's cards can get via a simple Afterburner slider. Reason why I probably won't be buying Asus cards again.

5. Agent-A01

Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    4090 FE H20
    You tried maxwell bios tweaker?