8800GTX Fault - Help needed????

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by bowny, May 29, 2008.

1. bowny

bowny New Member

GPU:
    Inno3D Nvidia 8800 Ultra
    First of all, Hi to all, 1st post on here so please bear with me and all that????

Ok to start I'm not a complete novice with a PC, I've built mine from the ground up. To help see with what I'm struggling with spec as.....

Intel Q6600 @2.4 mHz
    ASUS Commando Mobo
    4Gb Matched (2 x 2 x 1Gb) RAM
    Inno3D Nvidia 8800 Ultra
    VIA 6421 Chipset
    700W PSU
    Samsung 500Gb 501LJ SATA HD
    Samsung SH-S203 DVDRW
    Samsung SH-163B DVD-ROM
    LG GDR8164B DVD-ROM
    Creative eXtreme Gamer Soundcard
    Antec P180 Case

Now thats out the way my problem is as follows. I've bought in the full knowledge it was faulty a Nvidia 8800GTX as I'm about to start building a 2nd system. However the card seems to be a Nvidia OEM card or a reference design card or even a early review sample, there's no trace of any other manufacturer, bar Nvid itself. Card powers up no problem, but won't even post. I thought it would probably be a case of re-flashing the Bios. I've managed to boot my exsisting Ultra on 'half power' and also the GTX the same. In XP the system picks up the GTX in my 2nd PCI-E slot and I've got the drivers in and now it does pick it up as the 8800GTX and from within Windows everythings fine, but still can't boot from it!

What I'm asking therefore, if someone can please tell me what BIOS files I'm looking for? I've searched about and I'm none the wiser. Also is it possible to flash from within Windows i.e. a GUI? As I know for sure the cards working once started, I'm concerned as card won't boot by itself, a DOS flasher won't pick it up?

Anyone????

Or may be not the best idea, could I dump the Ultra bios and flash the GTX with it? I've heard it can be done, but I've obviously never even contemplated it, if anyone has any opinion?