Please Help me with my 280x crossfire overclock?

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by geordiejc, Mar 3, 2014.

1. geordiejc

geordiejc Guest

GPU:
    2 x 280x (Toxic + MSI)
    I would really appreciate someone's help for my crossfire set-up, specifically with over-clocking. i promise that any help / suggestions you reccomend i will try and i'll post back here so there's an ongoing updates.

Primary card: Sapphire Toxic 280x
    Secondary : MSI Gaming Twin Fozor OC 280x

I've installed Afterburner v2.3.1 and 14.12 Beta AMD drviers. I run these cards in the following configuration:

Toxic 1200 GPU 1700 Memory
    MSI 1100 GPU 1600 Memory

i haven't adjusted any voltages, because i'm pretty new to overclocking GPU's - i wouldn't know what to do! i'm not a complete noob i overclocked my i5 4670k to 4.2 @ 1.2v (IBT / Prime95 synthetic tests hold up)

In CCC i have de-selected 'Enable Graphics OverDrive' and enabled CrossfireX and use MSI AB to control the performance of the cards - i assume that this is the best way of controlling the cards?

i've selected 'apply overclocking at system start up'

Benchmarks
    3DMark Fire Strike Extreme : 6520 (1920 x 1080)
    Metro Last Light Avg 82 fps (1920 x 1080 AF16x Very high settings)

so essentially the cards i believe are performing as they should and i confirm this by using MSI on screen display which shows usage & temps etc...

i really don't know what i'm doing when it comes to the 'Power Limit %' - help here much appreciated, the Toxic can go upto +50% and the MSI +20% but to be honest i have zero knowledge of this so i haven't dared press the apply button for fear of damaging the cards.

so a couple of asks from me;

1. Before i bought the 2nd card i was of the understanding that because the Toxic has a faster GPU core and memory speeds that it would slow it down to the slower MSI card - is this correct or not because i'm running them at different speeds..