Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MSI Afterburner issue
Old
  (#1)
Chuck
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GeForce 9800
Processor: Intel quad core 750
Mainboard: Gigabyte p-55
Memory: 2 4g
Soundcard: none
PSU: EarthTech 650?
Default MSI Afterburner issue - 12-27-2012, 19:53 | posts: 4 | Location: home

I am having a small but frustrating issue. 72 hours ago, I was playing Mass Effect 2, and recording the cutscenes I wanted to add to a video I was making. For this, I had carefully researched various video recorders and chosen MSI Afterburner.

MSI Afterburner has worked fantastically well for me, I've recorded a full Batman Arkham City playthrough, and about half the cutscenes I wanted in Mass Effect 2.

However, the program first ceased to show the OSD (recordings had the title of "desktop") and now no recording is possible with ME2. I am able to record Mass Effect 3, and various other programs (including no programs at all), but this change is highly annoying.

I have tried reverting to default, and re-installing both the 2.3.0 and 2.2.4 versions. I even restored my computer to an earlier point, prior to all my messing around. Any ideas on how to get the recording system working again? I feel like it's just around the corner, but I'm too stupid to see it, lol.

I'd post a pic, but I'm not certain how. So, this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHf8_Aw3ROI

pretty much describes the settings I have. One note; the Active 3D processes has Masseffect2.exe, and I can't figure out how to revert that to none; it isn't in the Applications Profile list.

Hope someone can help, my winter break is slipping away :/

Edit: I have compared the settings I have on the MSI Afterburner in ME2 with the settings in ME3, DA and DA:II. They are identical. Therefore the problem must either be something in ME2, or in how the program is being applied to ME2? Has anyone else had this problem?

Last edited by Chuck; 12-28-2012 at 01:36.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Chuck
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GeForce 9800
Processor: Intel quad core 750
Mainboard: Gigabyte p-55
Memory: 2 4g
Soundcard: none
PSU: EarthTech 650?
Default 12-27-2012, 20:45 | posts: 4 | Location: home

bump
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-28-2012, 05:20 | posts: 11,192 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Did you install any ME2 mods including modified D3D libraries?


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Chuck
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GeForce 9800
Processor: Intel quad core 750
Mainboard: Gigabyte p-55
Memory: 2 4g
Soundcard: none
PSU: EarthTech 650?
Default 12-28-2012, 15:17 | posts: 4 | Location: home

The only modifications I have added are the DLC's Bioware released (eg Lair of the Shadow Broker, Zaeed, some weapons).

I just tried switching the compression styles and now it is recording as "desktop." However, now there is a flash of black when I hit the start/stop recording button.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Chuck
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GeForce 9800
Processor: Intel quad core 750
Mainboard: Gigabyte p-55
Memory: 2 4g
Soundcard: none
PSU: EarthTech 650?
Default 12-31-2012, 02:47 | posts: 4 | Location: home

As I can use it...sort of...I guess I'll just let it go for now. But when I finish getting the video segments, I'm going over it with a fine-tooth comb.

Thanks for the excellent ideas and suggestions I've found in this forum. Best help for the program I've been able to get anywhere!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.