Looking for a NAS

Discussion in 'Network questions and troubleshooting' started by fantaskarsef, Aug 26, 2016.

Tags:
  1. fantaskarsef

fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

GPU:
    4090@H2O
    Hey gurus, I'm thinking about buying a NAS for home use. I'd pretty much use it as storage, nothing too special in terms of performance requirements.

What I'd like to have though is the chance of accessing the files via my normal browser (like network access to another PC's drives), and that programs might be able to be installed on there like Hearthstone's deck tracker, to be run from two different PCs (would that even be possible?)

I'm new to network storage, so I'd be happy for any input.

2. vase

vase Guest

GPU:
    -
    -> synology , medium performance 2-bay/4-bay

yes, possible

possible sure. with a little fizzling.
    but you are aware that any settings those programs do in %appdata% won't be on the NAS anyway. so you have to take care of these with symlinks after they are created... basically it's a bad idea. but as long as those programs aren't very important to you i guess its ok.
    thing is if there is a contesting file access from 2 or more pcs you may run into problems/conflicts. (to clarify: not problems on the NAS... but in the integrity of the logic of the specific program data)

Last edited: Sep 14, 2016
  3. fantaskarsef

GPU:
    4090@H2O
    Thanks for the input vase.

Yeah I've tried to read a bit into the matter, even as I would not really use the decktracker from two PCs at a time, it's still a little bothersome. Actually the installation of the decktracker for instance on two PCs wouldn't bother me, but the stats should be shared over both machinces. I guess it's not that easy to get it work after all hehe

4. vase

vase Guest

GPU:
    -
    i dont know that program.