Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
HD 6670 low FPS on GTA IV :(
Old
  (#1)
presha
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI hd 6670 1gb
Processor: Core 2 duo e6550 2.33
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 380w
Default HD 6670 low FPS on GTA IV :( - 08-10-2011, 21:12 | posts: 1

Hi everyone first post!

Im having some problems with GTA IV. From what ive been reading i know the game is poorly optomized.

My prob is ive just installed it on the PC, i wanted to play it with some of the MODS, ive compleated it on the PS3.

Im playing on my 32 in HDTV.

MY SPEC:

e6550 3.22
HD 6670 1gb
380w psu
2gm ram (sorry dont know speed)

(i may have it installed on an older HD in my PC that i moved from an old pc)

With these specs i get 30- 40 fps crysis 2 on medium settings, 20 - 30 on high.

An pretty much full settings ( or at least high )on anything else ive played recently.

But at 1080 on GTA iv im getting about 10 FPS????

dropped down to 1680 x something ( I Think or similar) and got around 15 FPS???

Help please

P.S New drivers installed
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
killerxr290
Banned
 
Videocard: Im Out
Processor: Im Out
Mainboard: Im Out
Memory: Im Out
Soundcard: Im Out
PSU: Im Out
Default 08-10-2011, 21:23 | posts: 1,564 | Location: Im Out

Sounds about right.

You need to lower the games graphics settings.

Your card and cpu is not that good and GTA4 is one holy unoptimized crappy port.

Even i only get 50 ish fps on max @ 1920*1080 and ive got a 6870
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Rochin
Maha Guru
 
Rochin's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX460 EE 1GB
Processor: Q6600@3.37Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA 680i SLI
Memory: 8GB Patroit DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: Onboard HD
PSU: CM Real Power Pro 750
Default 08-10-2011, 21:25 | posts: 1,951 | Location: Texas

Having a dual core and just 2 GB of ram is no good for GTA4. As stated above you are getting about expected FPS. Game runs pretty good for me with my rig, not sure what fps I get as I have not played it in over a year.



Edit: Having any mods installed at all will also effect performance. The 2GB of ram is killing you in this game, even worse with mods.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Marco Borsato
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 660 Ti SLI 1229/3602
Processor: Core i7 3770K @ 4.6 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: Corsair vengeance 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi HD
PSU: Corsair HX-750
Default 08-11-2011, 13:39 | posts: 130 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by killerxr290 View Post
Sounds about right.

You need to lower the games graphics settings.

Your card and cpu is not that good and GTA4 is one holy unoptimized crappy port.

Even i only get 50 ish fps on max @ 1920*1080 and ive got a 6870
50+ Fps is pretty good in this game imo, I'm averaging at about 45+ fps with 2 HD 6950's (I know it doesn't utilize crossfire properly) while my old GTX 285 could push 70+ fps in this game with pretty nice settings. But indeed he needs at least 4+ GB's of ram and a decent Quad core CPU to run this game decently. It's a very bad port, even after so many patches the game still has many problems that won't get fixed because Rockstar doesn't really seem to care about PC gamers.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.