Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Benchmark Mayhem
Benchmark Mayhem This section is for you benchmark freaks. Wanna show off your 3D Mark scores with your brand new GTX 980 SLI or Radeon R9 290X Crossfire in that Intel Core i7 rig? Then this is your section!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1176)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-10-2014, 12:19 | posts: 2,552 | Location: UK

Nice! Is that for DICE? Have you ever used the Kingpin stuff Cowie? Just wondered how much better it all is as his pots aren't cheap are they!

Also picked up a 3770K off ebay last night, so shall be playing with that soon, should probably play with air first then order some more DICE in No doubt do all 2d to begin with, then when I've learnt the CPU can start benching my GFX cards with the CPU cold.

Know any good threads or guides, for Extreme Overclocking with cold, methods that might be useful for me to read through?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1177)
jaggerwild
Master Guru
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Videocard: Many
Processor: Many
Mainboard: Z68 Asus MaximusIV GENE Z
Memory: Gskill Ripjaws 2000Mhz
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: 1KW
Default 12-10-2014, 12:37 | posts: 157 | Location: Nvidia=central heating ;)

Join the KingPin Forum, and Extreme systems.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/forum.php


http://kingpincooling.com/forum/index.php

Last edited by jaggerwild; 12-20-2014 at 05:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1178)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 12-13-2014, 19:41 | posts: 12,119 | Location: new jersey

kingpin pots are some of the best in the world so you pay for them.
I am on older imported pots from Australia. I need another gpu pot so I am looking too
you should be able to find plenty of info at the two sites jag referred to.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1179)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 12-20-2014, 02:19 | posts: 8,849 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Is there also Cinebench15 gpu only benchmark hwbot ladder?


192fps+ is uber when I googled a bit lol



cpu 4.6/cache4.2ghz, gpu stock 1097mhz boost.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1180)
jaggerwild
Master Guru
 
jaggerwild's Avatar
 
Videocard: Many
Processor: Many
Mainboard: Z68 Asus MaximusIV GENE Z
Memory: Gskill Ripjaws 2000Mhz
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: 1KW
Default 12-20-2014, 05:13 | posts: 157 | Location: Nvidia=central heating ;)

TJ,
You should over clock the GPU, no points for just the GPU test? Still get a total when you combine them?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1181)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 12-20-2014, 16:54 | posts: 8,849 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaggerwild View Post
TJ,
You should over clock the GPU, no points for just the GPU test? Still get a total when you combine them?
Oc'ed doesn't change much, its mostly cpu bound test.


What do you mean by "still get a total when you combine them"?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1182)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 12-20-2014, 18:40 | posts: 8,440 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Is there also Cinebench15 gpu only benchmark hwbot ladder?


192fps+ is uber when I googled a bit lol



cpu 4.6/cache4.2ghz, gpu stock 1097mhz boost.
How did you manage 192fps?

I just ran it and got 101fps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1183)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 12-20-2014, 19:27 | posts: 8,849 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Idk guess its with Haswell specific stuff (fma3, gather, BMI - by new features), . I remember testing it once on Fermi and got max ~172fps with 70-80% gpu usage.. Actually its in bench 570gtx, then 580gtx


images hosting
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1184)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 12-20-2014, 19:35 | posts: 8,440 | Location: 127.0.0.1

That's the problem with these hardware favouring benchmarks, they're no good as benchmarks unless everyone running them has identical setups
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1185)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 12-20-2014, 19:51 | posts: 8,849 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Your cpu has all except "gather" and its mostly single threaded depended, needs fast per core performance.

Older Cinebench11.5 has some boosts, but not so much like here in cinebench15

anyway nvm now i saw there is only cpu Cinbench15 part,

by gpu only these
http://hwbot.org/benchmarks/videocard
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1186)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 12-21-2014, 21:34 | posts: 2,552 | Location: UK

Think my ud3h is dead! Put my 3770k in it and the system doesn't post! Put a celeron in it same thing. Tried with nothing but a cpu plugged in and same thing again, all lights up for half a second then all shuts off, thinking I damaged something when I pulled all the eraser off
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1187)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 12-27-2014, 17:27 | posts: 12,119 | Location: new jersey

oh crap just take it all apart pull the battery out let it sit for a day, hitting the cmos button every few hours.

my ud5 was like that but it came back it took a day or two but it still works.try to play with the ram slots and 1 stick you know works in that board
check your cpu pins
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1188)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 01-01-2015, 12:15 | posts: 2,552 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
oh crap just take it all apart pull the battery out let it sit for a day, hitting the cmos button every few hours.

my ud5 was like that but it came back it took a day or two but it still works.try to play with the ram slots and 1 stick you know works in that board
check your cpu pins
Well its still no good, tried the BIOS battery, checked for bent CPU pins and all looked fine, tried with no components plugged in, tried with just one stick of RAM even tried a different PSU on it and still got the same effect, powers up for half a second then instantly the PSU clicks off, think I'm going to have to start looking for another Z77 board
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1189)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 01-02-2015, 12:21 | posts: 12,119 | Location: new jersey

yeah it might be your best bet I always have two of the motherboards I put under cold just in case .I can still easy swap the drive and be running again.
if the board is your 27/7 rig send it back and shop out for another one
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1190)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 01-02-2015, 13:53 | posts: 2,552 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
yeah it might be your best bet I always have two of the motherboards I put under cold just in case .I can still easy swap the drive and be running again.
if the board is your 27/7 rig send it back and shop out for another one
Yeah, I'll def pick up more hardware as time goes on, I can see how having two mobos for benching is a good idea.

The Z77 UD3H isn't my 24/7 board I bought it used on OCN so no sending it back My 24/7 board is the Z77 UD5H and tbh I can't be bothered to rip it all out (systems totally WC'ed too) to use it plus theres the risk of breaking it and having no computer at all lol

I've seen a Gigabyte Z77X UP5TH on Ebay may put a bid in for that, I imagine thats just as good for Extreme benching as a UD3H or UD5H.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1191)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 01-23-2015, 21:02 | posts: 12,119 | Location: new jersey

matt how you doing ever get a board or you need one?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1192)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 01-24-2015, 11:55 | posts: 2,552 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
matt how you doing ever get a board or you need one?
Hey dude! No not got a board yet, missed out on a couple boards on Ebay, tbh honest only been looking for the Gigabyte boards, wondering if I should start looking at other Manufacturers now as finding UD3Hs is quite difficult.

Still got no idea whats wrong with my current board lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1193)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 01-24-2015, 12:52 | posts: 5,807 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt26LFC View Post
Think my ud3h is dead! Put my 3770k in it and the system doesn't post! Put a celeron in it same thing. Tried with nothing but a cpu plugged in and same thing again, all lights up for half a second then all shuts off, thinking I damaged something when I pulled all the eraser off
Sadly, i know what this is ... The power phase of the cpu is dead.. when this happend you have 2 possibility... the cpu is dead, or the power phase is dead..

As you have test an other cpu in it, i sadly think this is the powerphase of the cpu..

fan, lights show up for an half second then stop.

You have no idea how many motherboard i have kill like that. ( bad insulation in the socket on subzero run with my phasechange unit.. )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1194)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 01-24-2015, 13:08 | posts: 2,552 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lane View Post
Sadly, i know what this is ... The power phase of the cpu is dead.. when this happend you have 2 possibility... the cpu is dead, or the power phase is dead..

As you have test an other cpu in it, i sadly think this is the powerphase of the cpu..

fan, lights show up for an half second then stop.

You have no idea how many motherboard i have kill like that. ( bad insulation in the socket on subzero run with my phasechange unit.. )
Yeah your probably right, just annoying

Any idea what that is? I can't remember if it was there before or not.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1195)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 01-24-2015, 13:56 | posts: 5,807 | Location: Switzerland

I dont think thats the problem, it look more like a red pen mark.

Sadly on the motherboard side, its hard to see if the power phase have been killed, you see nothing (hence why i have allways be able to exchange them on the shop)..

There should be some security. something who work like a fuse. for dont damage other hardware.

Last edited by Lane; 01-24-2015 at 14:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1196)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default Today, 12:36 | posts: 12,119 | Location: new jersey

your better off with a ud5 or better as you start pushing the chip,i mean the ud3 does well but I would not think it will hold up well under extreme overclocking.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1197)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default Today, 15:46 | posts: 2,552 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
your better off with a ud5 or better as you start pushing the chip,i mean the ud3 does well but I would not think it will hold up well under extreme overclocking.
Your probably right, the UD5H would be the better buy. A UD3H has just come up on the bay aswell lol May give this one another go, theres only one UD5H and they want 150 for it!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.