Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core i7 or X99 chipset giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
dzy_1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
Processor: i7 7700K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170 UD3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000
Soundcard: Creative Xi-fi Fatal1ty
PSU: 750w Corsair
Default 03-20-2017, 02:28 | posts: 59 | Location: USA

got a new 7700k and having the same issues. I did load optimized defaults on my motherboard then manually set my RAM multiplier to 30 to support my DDR4 3000.

Voltages are lower around 1.25/6 I noticed but temps are still hitting the 90s, however doesn't hit 100 anymore. I did buy a power splitter to make sure my CPU cooler will be plugged directly to the PSU, I'll have that Monday or Tuesday... beyond that I'm not sure what else it could be. Used AS5 thermal paste on this one and pretty sure I mounted it correctly.

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 03-20-2017, 02:35 | posts: 31,427 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Ok, you must be doing something wrong. Or you've been sold a couple of 7700k that have been tampered with.

Could you by any chance make a video of you applying the paste on the cpu and then mounting the cooler?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Steppzor
Master Guru
 
Steppzor's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 980 TI G1
Processor: Intel i7-4770K @ Stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Kingston HyperX Cloud II
PSU: XFX ProSeries BE 1050W
Default 03-20-2017, 10:00 | posts: 670 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzy_1 View Post
Just reseated it... there is no change

The H100iGTX temp readings seem fine...why is my TEMP #2 so high?



CPUID is reading that temperature as the core temps:

Isn't that pump speed for that H100i a tad to low? Thought the pump speed should be around 2200-2400 rpm?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Turanis
Maha Guru
 
Turanis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte
Processor: SBA
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM650 650W
Default 03-20-2017, 11:05 | posts: 1,002 | Location: Into the light

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzy_1 View Post
got a new 7700k and having the same issues. I did load optimized defaults on my motherboard then manually set my RAM multiplier to 30 to support my DDR4 3000.

Voltages are lower around 1.25/6 I noticed but temps are still hitting the 90s, however doesn't hit 100 anymore. I did buy a power splitter to make sure my CPU cooler will be plugged directly to the PSU, I'll have that Monday or Tuesday... beyond that I'm not sure what else it could be. Used AS5 thermal paste on this one and pretty sure I mounted it correctly.
Did you see what Temps have in Bios?
Did you set in that HWInfo the correct Tmax for Kaby Lake?
Did you,after set the Tjmax,clear the values in HWInfo (click on that clock)?

Sometimes is Silicon Lotery,sometimes you need to delide that chip because Intel use awful thermal compound.

Last edited by Turanis; 03-20-2017 at 11:08.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980Ti SLI H20
Processor: i7 5930k 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: G.Skill 4x8GB 3200C12
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 03-20-2017, 15:02 | posts: 8,954 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzy_1 View Post
Used AS5 thermal paste on this one and pretty sure I mounted it correctly.
If you've been using AS5 this whole time that's probably the issue.

AS5 is bad, especially old tube of it.

Get either gelid gc extreme. prolimatech pk2/3, thermal grizzly kryonaut,

Also post a picture of all the voltage in hwinfo.

You said voltages are lower 1.26 but look at max.
It says 1.35~.

Set a manual CPU voltage of 1.2v and check temps again.

Last edited by Agent-A01; 03-20-2017 at 15:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
dzy_1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
Processor: i7 7700K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170 UD3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000
Soundcard: Creative Xi-fi Fatal1ty
PSU: 750w Corsair
Default 03-20-2017, 19:31 | posts: 59 | Location: USA

Wow I had no idea AS5 is no longer top dog anymore. I did noticed last night after taking the mount off that I might have put a little too much AS5 on there so I used a little less and actually loosened the tightness of the block on the CPU and it seemed to have helped a little. No screens right now but the idle is in mid 30's to high 30s but max hitting 70-80s now during prime95. I'll look into a new thermal paste.

I also noticed the fan speed of my H100i seems to jump around alot so hopefully once the splitter arrives I can plug it into the PSU directly. I'll report back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
dizzin9
Master Guru
 
dizzin9's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE
Processor: i7-7700K @ 4.5, 1.125v
Mainboard: ASUS ROG Strix Z270I
Memory: Corsair LPX 32GB 3000 C15
Soundcard: On-board
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850W
Default Yesterday, 05:33 | posts: 213 | Location: Las Vegas, NV

You're not alone OP, my new build is experiencing the same thing. It was 40C idle with spikes up to 70C on stock/default settings.

I've cleaned it up since then, turning all power saving crap off, running 4.5GHz @ 1.125V and will be like that until Intel/Asus finds a way to fix this. The chip also naturally runs hotter than others. Gaming with CS:GO, my CPU would do 55-65C, 70C in Cinebench, and 70-80C in OCCT.

There's a thread over at the Intel forums regarding this issue and Intel hasn't offered a solution yet.

https://communities.intel.com/thread/110728

Last edited by dizzin9; Yesterday at 05:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Angrycrab
Master Guru
 
Angrycrab's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan XP EVGA Hybrid Kit
Processor: i7 7700k @ 5.1GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IX Apex
Memory: GSkill 16GB@4133MHz CL17
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: Corsair 850watt
Default Yesterday, 07:03 | posts: 249

Your voltages are too high on load for stock settings, use adaptive mode Instead of automatic and set It as low as you can go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
dzy_1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
Processor: i7 7700K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170 UD3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000
Soundcard: Creative Xi-fi Fatal1ty
PSU: 750w Corsair
Default Yesterday, 17:26 | posts: 59 | Location: USA

My molex cable was delayed but setting my mobo vcore at 1.25 I'm getting 35-40 idle and 70-80 on gaming, and prime95 at 85-90. Can i reduce that vcore further for stock?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980Ti SLI H20
Processor: i7 5930k 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: G.Skill 4x8GB 3200C12
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default Yesterday, 18:05 | posts: 8,954 | Location: USA

Probably can be fine at 1.2~ or less.

those temps are still really high, especially for games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
Processor: i7 7700k @5ghz NH-D15
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximux IX Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: AuneT1/AD700/DT880/HD650
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default Yesterday, 18:14 | posts: 31,427 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Stock should be 1.2v with default bios settings and it should do 4.5ghz stable. You can probably drop below 1.2v dzy_1 and it should be fine.

dizzin9, there's nothing Asus/Intel can do about the temps, don't expect a fix, there isn't one. These run hot. Fact. Only way to keep the temps down is to delid and cool properly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
dizzin9
Master Guru
 
dizzin9's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE
Processor: i7-7700K @ 4.5, 1.125v
Mainboard: ASUS ROG Strix Z270I
Memory: Corsair LPX 32GB 3000 C15
Soundcard: On-board
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850W
Default Today, 00:42 | posts: 213 | Location: Las Vegas, NV

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
Stock should be 1.2v with default bios settings and it should do 4.5ghz stable. You can probably drop below 1.2v dzy_1 and it should be fine.

dizzin9, there's nothing Asus/Intel can do about the temps, don't expect a fix, there isn't one. These run hot. Fact. Only way to keep the temps down is to delid and cool properly.
Yup, bought a Rockit 88 this morning.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.