Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-01-2015, 08:46 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by hachoo View Post
Just tried adding a third-party database on. I choose third-party and attempt to restart but it comes up with 'Some of MSI Afterburner components are expired, missing or corrupted'.

Once i delete the oem2 file, it works. any ideas?

I have the same card as ludespeedny above, so used that script in my file.
Read the first post!!!


2. Hardware database format

Third party hardware database is ASCII text file defining independent voltage control scenarios for different models of graphics cards. The database must have “;OEM” signature in the very beginning, otherwise the application won’t start and display error telling you that some components are missing or corrupted.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
hachoo
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2GB Gigabyte R9 270
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 06-01-2015, 08:59 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Read the first post!!!


2. Hardware database format

Third party hardware database is ASCII text file defining independent voltage control scenarios for different models of graphics cards. The database must have “;OEM” signature in the very beginning, otherwise the application won’t start and display error telling you that some components are missing or corrupted.
Thanks for the reply. I am 100% sure i have the ;OEM at the beginning. This is exactly what I have in the file.

Quote:
;OEM

[VEN_1002&DEV_6811&SUBSYS_226C1458&REV_??]

; Gigabyte R9 270 OC

Desc = Gigabyte R9 270 OC
VDDC_IR3567B_Detection = 6:30h
VDDC_IR3567B_Output = 0
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-01-2015, 09:02 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Hardware database format reference in the first post has been upgraded to v1.1:

- Added more info about VDDCI/PEXVDD targets in chapter 2.1
- Added info about <register> command line parameter for I2C dump tool in chapter 3.1
- Added new hints related to I2C dump tool usage to chapter 4


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 06-01-2015 at 09:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-01-2015, 09:03 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by hachoo View Post
Thanks for the reply. I am 100% sure i have the ;OEM at the beginning. This is exactly what I have in the file.
Two important parts are marked with bold in the quote. ASCII text file. Most likely you created unicode file instead.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
hachoo
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2GB Gigabyte R9 270
Processor: Intel i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec
Default 06-01-2015, 09:06 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Two important parts are marked with bold in the quote. ASCII text file. Most likely you created unicode file instead.
Just did a re-re-uninstall and it seemed to work using the same file. Not sure what happened there. Thanks for the help though. Sorry to be a pain.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-01-2015, 09:08 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

No problem, glad that you've got it working.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-01-2015, 12:42 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

The database itself has been also upgraded to v1.1 with the following new cards added to it:

- Gigabyte R9 270
- Sapphire Dual-X R9 280X


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-01-2015, 15:46 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Added a a bit more info to hardware database format reference:

- Added info about compatible controllers to chapters about CHL8228 and IR3567B.
- Added hint about disabling generic control mode to chapter 4.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
dgraham1284
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 980 Ti's SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 67000k
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Formula
Memory: DDR4 3200 32GB
Soundcard: Creative ZxR
PSU: EVGA 1200 P2
Default 06-03-2015, 00:04 | posts: 4 | Location: NYC

[VEN_10DE&DEV_1004&SUBSYS_84691043&REV_??]
; ASUS GTX 780 DirectCU II OC

Desc = ASUS GTX 780 DirectCU II OC
VDDC_Generic_Detection = 0
VDDC_CHL8318_Detection = 44h
VDDC_CHL8318_Type = 1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-03-2015, 07:38 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgraham1284 View Post
[VEN_10DE&DEV_1004&SUBSYS_84691043&REV_??]
; ASUS GTX 780 DirectCU II OC

Desc = ASUS GTX 780 DirectCU II OC
VDDC_Generic_Detection = 0
VDDC_CHL8318_Detection = 44h
VDDC_CHL8318_Type = 1
Thanks! I've added it to DB.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
luke76bg
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 7950 boost edition
Processor: I7 860 o.c 3,7 Ghz
Mainboard: P7P55D LE
Memory: dd3 8Gb 1333 MHZ
Soundcard: X-FI Extreme Music
PSU: Corsair 650 W
Default 06-03-2015, 23:58 | posts: 79 | Location: Bergamo

Guys i really hope that someone will add 7950 boost edition by sapphire....i hate so much trixx that you don't know!!!!

And a little help...how i can create an ASCII file with notepad ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
jorgp2
Newbie
 
Videocard: gv-r928wf3oc-3gd
Processor: I5 4790k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600w
Default 06-04-2015, 03:04 | posts: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
No, upper range must be scanned device by device. And how did you found out that there is CHL8228 onboard? Reviews are telling that it is using cost down ADP controller with no I2C support.
I already scanned every device up to 7f, no dice.

I used VBE7 to read the VRM and it says CHL822x, also there are no reviews for this card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
masteratarms
Newbie
 
masteratarms's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH6850
Processor: I5 4690k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: Kingston Hyper-X 2400DDR3
Soundcard: Senheiser 429, Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 06-04-2015, 05:20 | posts: 20 | Location: England

I'm going to post here the info I have so I can refer to it next time I look at this.

GUID : VEN_1002&DEV_6739&SUBSYS_03B41043&REV_00&BUS_1&DEV _0&FN_0

The HD 6800 Series is the first product where we see the use of CHiL's CHL8214 voltage regulator. It supports voltage control via I2C and comes with extensive monitoring and tweaking features.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/A...rect_Cu/4.html
 Click to show spoiler


Although this card is an earlier version and has less complex VRM and only 1 6-pin connector

This is what my card looks like but there is no shot of the voltage controller unless its a Richtek RT8867 (I hope not as unsupported):
 Click to show spoiler




source:
http://bbs.pcpop.com/thread-9642701-1-1.html
http://www.itocp.com/htmls/27/n-3227-4.html

I learned to read the table but I'm confused on the syntax of the command line.

http://www.alldatasheet.net/datashee...K/RT8867A.html

I think RT8867 has replaced the CHL8214 voltage regulator and is unsupported.

Asus GTX670 & GTX760 also use this chip.

Last edited by masteratarms; 06-04-2015 at 06:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-04-2015, 07:58 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgp2 View Post
I already scanned every device up to 7f, no dice.

I used VBE7 to read the VRM and it says CHL822x, also there are no reviews for this card.
Using BIOS editors to "detect" VRM model is plain wrong idea. That category of software is not intended for that and absolutely cannot give you desired result.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
masteratarms
Newbie
 
masteratarms's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH6850
Processor: I5 4690k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: Kingston Hyper-X 2400DDR3
Soundcard: Senheiser 429, Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 06-04-2015, 14:00 | posts: 20 | Location: England

From datasheet:
"The RT8867A is an advanced 4/3-phase synchronous buck
controller with 3 integrated MOSFET drivers. It integrates
an 8-bit DAC that supports Intel VR11.x CPUs power
application."

Can u confirm the RT8867 is an equivalent device to the CHL8214 and is likely to have replaced it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-04-2015, 14:04 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by masteratarms View Post
From datasheet:
"The RT8867A is an advanced 4/3-phase synchronous buck
controller with 3 integrated MOSFET drivers. It integrates
an 8-bit DAC that supports Intel VR11.x CPUs power
application."

Can u confirm the RT8867 is an equivalent device to the CHL8214 and is likely to have replaced it?
RT8867A lacks I2C support and cannot be reprogrammed.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
masteratarms
Newbie
 
masteratarms's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH6850
Processor: I5 4690k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: Kingston Hyper-X 2400DDR3
Soundcard: Senheiser 429, Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 06-05-2015, 00:59 | posts: 20 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
RT8867A lacks I2C support and cannot be reprogrammed.
It lacks I2C support but it can be reprogrammed. Page 3-5 of the data sheet has a lookup table for 0.5v to 1.6v (gpu idle is 0.95v and 1.15v load, SD limit 1.3v). Its been done in Asus Smart tweak so controllable not only by bios but software.

Apparently the reason why Radeon bios editor is no longer supported is because there is a hash check in the driver to disallow modded bios', and no one has come up with a work around. I'm not sure if this only applies to more recent graphics cards, RBE doesn't support RT8867 either though.

My next idea would be to use a hex editor and compare eah6850 with eah6870 bios.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
EJIekTpuK
Newbie
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9280X OC
Processor: i5-3570K 4500 MHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G43
Memory: 8 Gb Kingston 2200 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek HDA
PSU: Thermaltake TR2-RX 750W
Default 06-05-2015, 05:38 | posts: 10 | Location: Russia, St.Peterburg

HWiNFO program can detect the VRM model.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-05-2015, 07:36 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by masteratarms View Post
It lacks I2C support but it can be reprogrammed. Page 3-5 of the data sheet has a lookup table for 0.5v to 1.6v (gpu idle is 0.95v and 1.15v load, SD limit 1.3v).
Please don't quote the datasheet if you don't understand it. Especially in database thread. No, it is NOT reprogrammable. The pages you're referring to list binary VID codes, supported by the controller. Absolutely any controller, even the cheapest one, support the set of VID codes, which can be selected by HARDWARE by setting high/low state on the controller's input VID pins. Some pins are normally hardwired and a few of them are connected GPU GPIO pins, allowing GPU to switch between a few predefined voltages. It doens't mean that the chip can be reprogrammed at all, the only way to change voltage on it is via hardware signals at VID pins.
Refer to chapter 2.1.17 to get more info about VID GPIO control and please let's stop wasting time discussing RT8867 "programmability" here. This thread is absolutely not for that.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 06-05-2015 at 11:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-05-2015, 07:37 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJIekTpuK View Post
HWiNFO program can detect the VRM model.
Software diagnostic tools are not the best way to detect VRM model as well, especially on custom design cards.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
Processor: 4930k@5.0ghz-1.40v-CH20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-CH20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 06-05-2015, 10:16 | posts: 12,066 | Location: United kingdom

Good thread, good Sticky!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
masteratarms
Newbie
 
masteratarms's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus EAH6850
Processor: I5 4690k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: Kingston Hyper-X 2400DDR3
Soundcard: Senheiser 429, Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 06-06-2015, 00:45 | posts: 20 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
No, it is NOT reprogrammable. The pages you're referring to list binary VID codes, supported by the controller. Absolutely any controller, even the cheapest one, support the set of VID codes, which can be selected by HARDWARE by setting high/low state on the controller's input VID pins. please let's stop wasting time discussing RT8867 "programmability" here. This thread is absolutely not for that.
I understand that Smart Doctor is a piece of software which has a slider which can control the GPU voltage in very small steps. I understand that as MSI does not use the RT8867 chip on any of its GPU products therefore you will not add support for it in MSI afterburner. I accept that your program will not be able to mod the gpu voltage of my Asus eah6850 or Asus Nvidia 670/760 with same RT8867. What I can't accept is that you are implying that the GPU voltage is hardwired.

I would believe you except that I have personally used Smart Doctor to change my GPU voltage and I can't see how you can define the RT8867 as being unable to be reprogrammed PERIOD!

I am not looking for help here but if you know of any place I CAN discuss the RT8867 or place to discuss BIOS editing.

I think this is a good place to start:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...-bios-checksum
here:
http://www.win-raid.com/f16-BIOS-Mod...-Problems.html

Last edited by masteratarms; 06-06-2015 at 00:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-06-2015, 09:48 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by masteratarms View Post
I would believe you except that I have personally used Smart Doctor to change my GPU voltage and I can't see how you can define the RT8867 as being unable to be reprogrammed PERIOD!
I would beliive you if I never worked with A LOT of voltage controllers myself. There is either different controller onboad or SD doesn't adjust anything in reality and provide a fake slider. Period. I ask you to stop flooding the thread with nonsese related to "programmable RT8867" for the last time. This thread is intended to give more knowledge about voltage controllers to users. What you do is called spreading misinformation and misinforming users. Any further posts about "but RT8876 is programmable, period" will be removed. Enough of that.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 06-06-2015 at 10:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
Tomatone
Member Guru
 
Tomatone's Avatar
 
Videocard: PowerColor R9 270
Processor: Pentium G3258@4.4GHz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z97-D3H
Memory: Kingston 4x4GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: SS-500ET
Default 06-07-2015, 20:29 | posts: 80 | Location: Serbia

I have PowerColor HD6870 and I think this card have UP6266 controller ... here is the I2C scan and can voltage be changed?
Code:
Scanning GPU VEN_1002&DEV_6738&SUBSYS_23051787&REV_00&BUS_1&DEV_0&FN_0...
Scanning I2C bus 0...
Probing device 51...
Invalid device
Scanning I2C bus 1...
Probing device 51...
Invalid device
Scanning I2C bus 2...
Probing device 51...
Invalid device
Scanning I2C bus 3...
Probing device 51...
Invalid device
Scanning I2C bus 4...
Probing device 51...
Invalid device
Scanning I2C bus 5...
Probing device 51...
Invalid device
Scanning I2C bus 6...
Probing device 51...
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 6E FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
12 01 00 40 46 52 68 77 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
Scanning I2C bus 7...
Probing device 51...
Invalid device


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-08-2015, 08:04 | posts: 13,047 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Yes, it looks like absolutely valid dump of UP6266 registers. Try the following OEM2 file for it:

Code:
;OEM

[VEN_1002&DEV_6738&SUBSYS_23051787&REV_??]

; PowerColor HD6870

Desc					= PowerColor HD6870
VDDC_uP6266_Detection                   = 6:51h
VDDC_uP6266_Defaults			= D7 77
If it doesn't adjust 3D voltage and change different performance state voltage instead (e.g. UVD voltage) then it can be necessary to change VDDC_uP6266_Defaults line to

D6 68
or
D5 52
or
D4 46

Those VIDs come from your dump, I highlighted them with bold:

Code:
Probing device 51...
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 6E FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
12 01 00 40 46 52 68 77 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
VID encoding scheme for uP6266 is linear, voltage is adjusted in 5mV steps starting from 600mV. So 4 VIDs stored in your UP6266 lookup are:

register D4 : 46h = 70 * 5 + 600 = 950mV
register D5 : 52h = 82 * 5 + 600 = 1010mV
register D6 : 68h = 104 * 5 + 600 = 1120mV
register D7 : 77h = 119 * 5 + 600 = 1195mV

Knowing that, you may simply use OEM2 database as is without trying to adjust the voltage, run any 3D application, monitor 3D voltage then select LUT register containing 3D voltage you see'll see on the graph.

All

You may use the same principle to calibrate 3D voltage settings for different voltage controllers with LUT registers, but please keep in mind that each controller's VID encoding scheme is different. So don't try to use voltage calculation principle shown in this posting for different models of voltage controllers. Those calculations are specific to UP6266 architecture.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 06-08-2015 at 08:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.