Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom, FX or AMD APU based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1276)
Jagman
Maha Guru
 
Jagman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8GB RX480 Red Devil
Processor: Ryzen 5 1600X +Freezer 33
Mainboard: MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Memory: GSkill 8GB DDR4 2800
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Thermaltake 630W Modular
Default 07-20-2017, 19:20 | posts: 1,920 | Location: Kent, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by AsiJu View Post
What's the cold boot bug? Asking because randomly my system fails first attempt of cold boot.
I'd loosen your RAM timings and/or increase RAM voltage. If a PC wont POST, then marginal RAM timings/voltage could well be the issue.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1277)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980ti gaming 1490/7700
Processor: 1800x 4.05ghz 1.35 volt
Mainboard: Asus CH VI x370
Memory: 16GB 3ghz ddr4
Soundcard: Asus strix pro
PSU: 850W SF platinum
Default 07-21-2017, 10:23 | posts: 6,544 | Location: Finland

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UfNM...ature=youtu.be

Pretty good testing and goes through a bit about the Ryzen + nvidia + dx12 issues.
   
Reply With Quote
C6H New Beta BIOS
Old
  (#1278)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default C6H New Beta BIOS - 07-21-2017, 18:26 | posts: 1,753

Fun times this weekend:

UEFI build 9920 for the C6H:

* Improved DRAM cold boot, results in slightly longer POST time
* Fix for CPU Ratio stuck at 22x on some CPUs when using Vcore override/offset
* SenseMi Skew is now Disabled by default. If you want to return to previous behavior set SenseMi Skew = Enabled and Offset = 272.
* Added DRAM profiles for Samsung B-based DIMMs with tuned subtimings, including The Stilt's settings

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-9920-amp-1403
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1279)
AsiJu
Ancient Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980Ti SC+/Xtreme IV
Processor: Ryzen5 1600
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI
Memory: G.Skill Trid.Z 3000 16 GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + Z906
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default 07-21-2017, 21:32 | posts: 3,518 | Location: Finland

AGESA 1006a based BIOS out for ASRock X370 Killer SLI. Likely other boards as well, would have checked but the ASRock website was very slow atm.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1280)
Bentez
Maha Guru
 
Bentez's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1070 SC ACX | U2711
Processor: AMD R7 1700 3.9GHz H110i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: G.Skill 16GB 3200MHz C14
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 07-21-2017, 22:29 | posts: 1,306 | Location: Southampton, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clouseau View Post
Fun times this weekend:

UEFI build 9920 for the C6H:

* Improved DRAM cold boot, results in slightly longer POST time
* Fix for CPU Ratio stuck at 22x on some CPUs when using Vcore override/offset
* SenseMi Skew is now Disabled by default. If you want to return to previous behavior set SenseMi Skew = Enabled and Offset = 272.
* Added DRAM profiles for Samsung B-based DIMMs with tuned subtimings, including The Stilt's settings

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-9920-amp-1403
I was just about to post this. I'll be trying this bios out soon, the RAM profiles sound interesting.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1281)
mikev190
Master Guru
 
mikev190's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080Ti AMP! Extreme
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700X
Mainboard: Asus ROG Crosshair VI
Memory: 16gb G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Soundcard: Arctis 5
PSU: Super Flower Leadex 850w
Default 07-22-2017, 09:07 | posts: 228 | Location: UK

Which Vcore reading is the most accurate? I've done some reading but no definite answer.

I've been reading SVI2 TFN as it seems to be more accurate and reflect my bios settings. The only thing that concerns me is the vcore reading below the one mentioned above, ikt seems to be a bit higher and above the 1.35v recommended voltage.

SVI2 TFN reports 1.35v max voltage but the vcore reads 1.395v which seems far too much. Just don't know which to believe lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1282)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Talking 07-22-2017, 18:40 | posts: 2,958 | Location: HolyWater Village

CROSSHAIR-VI-HERO-ASUS-9920 Beta

-> http://www.mediafire.com/file/g108ed...-ASUS-9920.zip
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1283)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 07-22-2017, 20:49 | posts: 1,753

before trying out the new 9920 beta bios, wanted to finish what I started with 1403.

Setting CLDO to 975mv, may have slowed post on a cold boot but has made the kit react more stable. Was able to tighten some timings was not able to really change before. It does require a cold boot for the CLDO setting to become effective.

Changing out the heat sink to the Nvme drive restored speeds back to rated specs. Could actually be due to the thermal pad material. Finally changed out to the KryoM.2 (do not have a fan blowing anywhere near the drive) Any idea what their thermal pad material is?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1284)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default Yesterday, 06:00 | posts: 1,753

Finally settled on current settings. Going to enjoy these for a bit before playing with 9920.

 Click to show spoiler



Here is what I set in the CBS section:
 Click to show spoiler



RAM TIMINGS OTHER THAN 15-15-15-15-35:
 Click to show spoiler



The settings in the CBS section set to disabled actually had an affect in Aida64. Still not able to determine if there was any effect at all since Aida64's results are not the same twice. Those set to enable or something other than disabled or auto did have a noticeable effect. Opcache improved the score for branch prediction. The interleaving size had a major positive impact on the PhotoWorxx score but it also lowered the ZLib score.

Read: 52989 MB/s
Write: 52799 MB/s
Copy: 48349 MB/s
Latency: 67.0 ns
Queen: 90539
PhotoWorxx: 25277 MPixel/s
ZLib: 734.4 MB/s
AES: 69663 MB/s
Hash: 23615 MB/s
VP8: 7672
Julia: 40745
Mandel: 21347
SinJulia: 13402
FP32 Ray-Trace: 8113 KRay/s
FP64 Ray-Trace: 4193 KRay/s

Last edited by Clouseau; Yesterday at 07:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1285)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gainward GTX 1080 GLH
Processor: AMD Ryzen R7-1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: 32GB G.Skill DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default Yesterday, 08:42 | posts: 3,610 | Location: Germany

Do you need so much voltage because of the high RAM clocks? At least it seems to be a good IMC
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1286)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default Yesterday, 09:11 | posts: 1,753

The cpu has always needed a lot of voltage. The tighter timings required a bit more as well. Before on 1401 @ 3.9 and 3466 (decent timings) offset was .01875v. Now with 1403 the offset needed was .0250v. With Trfc @ 508 the offset needed was .03125v. Then lowering TrdrdScl and TwrwrScl to 5 an offset of .03750v was needed.

DRAM voltage @ 1.3300 (any higher and throws errors)
VDDSoc @ override 1.13125v (any lower or higher and it all errors out)

Only option left was to increase cpu voltage which fortunately worked. The Noctua NH-D15 keeps the temps respectable.

Ambient currently is 15C and the cpu @ 28C (cpu fan profile is on Turbo and the rpms currently @ 550)

Last edited by Clouseau; Yesterday at 09:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1287)
mikev190
Master Guru
 
mikev190's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080Ti AMP! Extreme
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700X
Mainboard: Asus ROG Crosshair VI
Memory: 16gb G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Soundcard: Arctis 5
PSU: Super Flower Leadex 850w
Default Yesterday, 09:20 | posts: 228 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clouseau View Post
The cpu has always needed a lot of voltage. The tighter timings required a bit more as well. Before on 1401 @ 3.9 and 3466 (decent timings) offset was .01875v. Now with 1403 the offset needed was .0250v. With Trfc @ 508 the offset needed was .03125v. Then lowering TrdrdScl and TwrwrScl to 5 an offset of .03750v was needed.

DRAM voltage @ 1.3300 (any higher and throws errors)
VDDSoc @ override 1.13125v (any lower or higher and it all errors out)

Only option left was to increase cpu voltage which fortunately worked. The Noctua NH-D15 keeps the temps respectable.
Are you not concerned about the longevity with those voltages. 1.2v is max recommended on SoC etc. With the amounts of voltage here and there you have to do would suggest your chip is at it's limit before the negatives outweigh the gains.

What voltage etc can you run at 3.8Ghz?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1288)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default Yesterday, 09:29 | posts: 1,753

As you are aware, the default Soc is 1.1v. 1.2 is max for 24/7 operation which is not the case for me.

Will check about 3.8 a little later. it is very early in the morning here; 1:30am.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1289)
Webhiker
Master Guru
 
Webhiker's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 SC Gaming
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
Memory: 32 GB TridentZ DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC1220
PSU: Zahlman ZM-1000HP
Default Yesterday, 13:15 | posts: 245 | Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikev190 View Post
Are you not concerned about the longevity with those voltages. 1.2v is max recommended on SoC etc. With the amounts of voltage here and there you have to do would suggest your chip is at it's limit before the negatives outweigh the gains.

What voltage etc can you run at 3.8Ghz?
1.425v is max safe voltage WITHOUT risking the long term life of the CPU. So running the CPU with 1.395v is no problem at all.

I have the Asus Prime X370-PRO motherboard. When running with default values in the BIOS and vcore on auto. The voltage sometimes spikes as high as 1.5 Volts, measured in windows. However, running with TPUII (default auto O/C) the voltage sits around 1.319v for 3.9 GHz since TPUII doesn't employ LLC (It may go higher, but I don't monitor Vcore 24/7). I usually run with multiplier at 40.25 +LLC 1 and 1.4v VCore. I could most likely go lower on the vcore, but I really don't care since temps are very low and stability is 100%. The only problem I have is with RAM speed. I'm currently able to run my 2 x 16 GB DS Samsung B-die ram at 2933 MHz with 14-14-14-14-34 timings, but not any higher no matter what I do. But running 16 GB DS modules is a bit more difficult than Single sided 8 GB modules so I'm just waiting for the next AGESA to get my RAM up to speed.

Last edited by Webhiker; Yesterday at 13:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1290)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: F4-3600C16D-16GTZ @ 3466
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default Yesterday, 23:41 | posts: 1,753

@mikev190
Thank you for getting me to look closer at voltage. Settings on the ram were causing the need for unneeded extra voltage. Changed the front end timings. Now the front end is at 15-14-14-14-32-49. System is more responsive and was able to back the offset down one click to .03125.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1291)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default Today, 09:24 | posts: 6,424 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webhiker View Post
1.425v is max safe voltage WITHOUT risking the long term life of the CPU. So running the CPU with 1.395v is no problem at all.
He was referring to the SOC voltage, 1.425 V on the SOC is a tad too much. I wouldn't even say 1.425 V is safe for 24/7 on the CPU, because long term use of these new processors using a new process is still an unknown. Furthermore, what defines 24/7 use, an idle computer, or one that is running with an average 90 percent CPU load? I dare say if you are doing heavy computer use 24/7 that 1.425 V CPU and 1.20 V SOC are too high. Once you hit the point of diminishing returns you should stop there. If you need an extra 0.1 V to get that extra 0.1 GHz, it's already an indication that it probably isn't good for 24/7 use.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1292)
Webhiker
Master Guru
 
Webhiker's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 SC Gaming
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
Memory: 32 GB TridentZ DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC1220
PSU: Zahlman ZM-1000HP
Default Today, 12:50 | posts: 245 | Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
He was referring to the SOC voltage, 1.425 V on the SOC is a tad too much. I wouldn't even say 1.425 V is safe for 24/7 on the CPU, because long term use of these new processors using a new process is still an unknown. Furthermore, what defines 24/7 use, an idle computer, or one that is running with an average 90 percent CPU load? I dare say if you are doing heavy computer use 24/7 that 1.425 V CPU and 1.20 V SOC are too high. Once you hit the point of diminishing returns you should stop there. If you need an extra 0.1 V to get that extra 0.1 GHz, it's already an indication that it probably isn't good for 24/7 use.
How do you know 1.425v is to high ?
Since it being a new process who is to say it can't use 1.5v 24/7 ?
Pushing to the limit is what this is all about, else we would all be running at default clocks.

1.425v was stated by AMD's Robert Hallock during the MSI event. So I guess it's as official as it can get.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
am4, amd, memory, overclocking, ryzen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.