Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core i7 or X99 chipset giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
dzy_1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
Processor: i7 7700K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170 UD3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000
Soundcard: Creative Xi-fi Fatal1ty
PSU: 750w Corsair
Default 04-03-2017, 19:25 | posts: 64 | Location: USA

At my wit's end too.

updated the F21 bios for Gigabyte, and the voltages are now great.

However once again I'm hitting 90 degrees C running prime 95. I bought some new thermal paste so hopefully this will help as my AS5 was pretty old. But at my wit's end on this CPU.

Just googled and it seems sometimes the h100i's have an issue with the mounting plate being too lose. It seems to be snug after I screwed on the block but I think I'll go buy some fiber washers just to test and make sure its not the fault of the mounting plate.

Last edited by dzy_1; 04-03-2017 at 19:53.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 04-03-2017, 23:30 | posts: 13,785 | Location: Proxima \/82

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzy_1 View Post
At my wit's end too.

updated the F21 bios for Gigabyte, and the voltages are now great.

However once again I'm hitting 90 degrees C running prime 95. I bought some new thermal paste so hopefully this will help as my AS5 was pretty old. But at my wit's end on this CPU.

Just googled and it seems sometimes the h100i's have an issue with the mounting plate being too lose. It seems to be snug after I screwed on the block but I think I'll go buy some fiber washers just to test and make sure its not the fault of the mounting plate.
Can you post the same Hwinfo64 screenshoot as before with new bios


btw just out of curiosity why do you keep insisting on stress testing it with prime95 with avx2 at stock frequency? Cpu is stable with default volts and normal workload isn't it?


Try this and report what temps you got

http://downloads.guru3d.com/x264-FHD...load-2825.html

&

https://rog.asus.com/articles/news/r...available-now/

This is the hottest you WILL EVER see it, ever.
Just forget prime95, also when you test OC use fixed voltage, then use that stable voltage in adaptive mode.
* But don't stress test it anymore or it will overshoot voltage because of those said avx instructions.



Anyaudio converter
uses avx too, I see my cpu heat up more then normally when it encodes mp3s with this app, but it can do up to 5 on the fly and it also a good "heat" indicator..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
dzy_1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 1070 STRIX
Processor: i7 7700K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170 UD3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 3000
Soundcard: Creative Xi-fi Fatal1ty
PSU: 750w Corsair
Default 04-04-2017, 01:17 | posts: 64 | Location: USA

Okay reseated the cooler with fiber washers...temps maxing at 72 degrees now! The backplate was still moving a bit but I guess the tiny bit of space helped it make better contact hopefully these temps holds.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.